We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and food! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Robolgoda, Bentota 168/10, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014


After incorrectly booking this hotel for June instead of July we only realised when emailed asking if we enjoyed our trip! This was very concerning! - however the Wunderbar hotel happily rebooked our trip for the correct dates for no extra cost!
And it was definantly worth it - the hotel was beautiful! Set in the quiet town of Bentota a
short tuk tuk from the train station (200rupee) it was spacious, clean and nicely furnished. We were put in the newly refurbished side of the hotel in a double deluxe room with a four poster bed, walk in shower and large balcony! There is a medium sized very well kept swimming pool inside the hotel but the beach is less than 100m from the hotels door step - Just a short walk down the hotel garden! The beach is quiet and clean other facilities include seeing the hotels turtle hatching centre, a large group played beach cricket every night and were very encouraging for guests from the hotel to watch and join in and the hotel has one of the best restaurants in Bentota, we absolutely loves the Sri Lankan coconut bread with garlic dip you receive complementary as a starter each night! Overall a great stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    72
    21
    17
    15
See reviews for
59
110
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our first place and we liked it. Comfortable rooms, nice pool. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. The trains goes right through the hotel which is irritating at first, but you don't mind later. The beach is beautiful. The place is right at the beach. Quiet place too. The price is quite high for sri lankan standards, but I heard that Bentota over all is quite pricy. Would go there again. Next to it there is a nice sea food place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

When stayed at the Wunderbar last week. It was our first time in Sri Lanka and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel room was very clean and spacious. There was a kettle in the room but don't use their water as it is double the price. The staff are very friendly and helpful especially our tuk tuk driver his name is Cece mama he was so helpful and nothing was no trouble for him , he even advised us where to eat and go.Thankyou Cece mama you made our stay zn enjoyable one.The food was ok there, but there isn't a lot of variety only eggs bacon and tinned sausage for breakfast everyday.
Overall the Wunderbar is good value and I would come again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Family friendly, especially for those with kids. A little overpriced and not 4 star as its sign states.
Helpful staff, however the tuk tuk staff not so helpful, but in general a positive experience.

The rooms are large. The bottled water in the rooms was not free, which seemed unusual. Furniture was a little old. There was no cover on the bathroom door, so other people in the room could see inside.

Breakfast was excellent. Dinner was not so good and service was extremely slow.

Lovely location- next to train line and beach, (Beach is a little dirty with litter).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I absolutely loved it here! The pool was just amazing and refreshing, the food was so fresh and nice especially the fruit and the seafood,the suite we stayed at was spacious, comfortable and didn't have a horrible stench that some hotels do. It is in an amazing area with a beach and lots of peace and quiet. The only bad thing about the location is it's very far from the main airport about a 3 hour drive! There is a beautiful little sanctuary for the turtles they rescued from previous tsunamis and large waves which is really cool because you can hold the baby ones and stroke the larger sea turtles. Be sure to check the monsoon season because we went during monsoon season and we couldn't swim in the sea and there were non stop thunder storms!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I come to this hotel with my sister and her husband! I like this hotel! Wery comfortable rooms, frendly staff! The restaurant food is very tasty, everything fresh. Wonderful turtle farm. Hotel's Boss friendly and always interested how his guests living. Most time of my holiday I spend in beach. Beach was wery clean all time. Here working very friendly man Sumudu. He working hard from morning till night, but all time he smiling to people. I think he too smart for this work. I will definitely come back many more times in this hotel. I want to come back again and again to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wunderbar Hotel really does get mixed reviews from us. My friend and I (both female) have just returned back from one week staying at Wunderbar and we've come away with a few positive and negative points.

The location is decent enough - close to the beach if you don't mind walking over train tracks, and although we were told the last train was around 9pm, they definitely went on into the night and started again very early morning (around 6am). Very close to town, but there are no small shops or stalls nearby if you want to walk around and buy some water or snacks, so be warned. We bought bottles of water a couple of times in the hotel, but after we discovered they were charging around 1USD per small bottle, we quickly changed and stocked up whenever we left the hotel.

The turtle sanctuary isn't really a sanctuary, but the concept is a good one - there are a few disabled turtles looking very miserable in small tanks, and a lot of small babies as well, but at least they aren't charging tourists to look at them. There is also a very small fish tank with 4 huge fish in the hotel reception, which is very sad to look at, and the hotel advertises and sells shark meat. As an avid conservationist this was upsetting, but seems to be the norm everywhere in Sri Lanka as most hotels and restaurant serve shark.

The only shop in the hotel is a jewelry and gem store, which is extremely expensive and opens at the strangest hours, but there isn't much pressure to buy which is good.

We made the massive mistake of booking an organized trip with one of the tuk-tuk drivers. We gave our request and when we turned up in the morning the driver had taken it upon himself to draw up a completely different itinerary at twice the price. We vetoed this, much to his disappointment, and set off. The waterfall and temple he took us to were disappointing and very crowded, and when we asked him to take us to an area with shops he dogged our every footstep despite repeated requests for him to leave us alone. Every time we went into a shop he brought the tuk-tuk round and then stood outside shouting and waving to us - we got quite p*ssed off in the end and walked away from him. When we paid him at the end of the day without a tip he went very cold and dismissive and practically ignored us every time we saw him after that. We rented a scooter ourselves the next day which was less than a third of the price and much more fun.

Food at Wunderbar - this was really hit and miss! The first night was great because we arrived late and they couldn't do enough to please us. Nothing was too much trouble and the selection of inclusive dishes in the half board option was huge. Breakfast was amazing with sausages (not real ones, more like hot dog sausages), proper bacon, eggs any way, a fruit plate, fresh juice, tea and coffee, but on the last morning they ran out of bacon which was upsetting. Make sure you are very very specific on how you want your eggs etc as they will do it a different way every day. That saw us through until dinner, which was generally pretty terrible. The waiter kept coming up to us on the beach and trying to make us order dinner at 3pm so they could 'prepare it ready for when we arrived' but never asked what time we were coming to dinner, and we always had to wait more than hour. DO NOT ORDER THE STEAK. Possibly the worst thing that has ever gone in my mouth and I had to send the whole thing back. No apologies or offers for an alternative either. The soups were quite good but incredibly salty, and the tomato and cheese pasta were thick overcooked noodles with melted burger cheese and tomato ketchup...not impressed. The best thing we had was the Sri Lankan Curry on the last night but it takes a long time to prepare and didn't taste as authentic as other Sri Lankan food we had during the trip.

Drinks were ridiculously expensive, and when one member of staff offered us some local Arak, drinking with us, we accepted thinking it was on the house but found it on our bill at check out. Insist on seeing and signing the bill every day as we had a few surprises on check out.

The rooms are nice enough but very basic, and not at all what they look like on the photos. We had no hot water for the last few days and after finally getting reception to understand they sent one guy from housekeeping who ran the tap for 10mins before leaving and saying it was fine.

In conclusion - it's quite an expensive hotel for what you get, and there are much nicer places in the area. Be very wary of organized trips, and don't expect a lot to do in the area. If you want to relax on the beach for a couple of days it's perfect, but there are no bars/clubs/shops in the area at all. My friend and I were hit on by members of staff pretty much every day, which was a bit excessive, and there were a lot of mosquitos as well, so bring your repellent and keep all doors shut in the room. We wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Don't choose the ground floor - people always walking back and forth across your balcony and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel

Address: Robolgoda, Bentota 168/10, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 Family Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wunderbar Beach Club serves you with 24 rooms and 1 bungalow. Our rooms are furnished in accordance to the European standards with a Sri Lankan touch of elegance. All rooms are fitted with king sized beds, en suite bathrooms, air conditioner and ceiling fans. The hotel has a swimming pool and direct access to the sea. We take great pleasure when requested in organising birthday parties, moonlight parties and weddings. There are also have regular special BBQ beach parties with live music where everybody is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wunderbar Beach Hotel
Wunderbar Beach Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.