We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Induruwa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Induruwa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Induruwa Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaikawala, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is situated on the beach with small swiming pool. Rooms have sea view, they are of good size but not to clean. We were there for 3 nights. In the vicinity there are 3 places to eat but i would not recomend them. At the time of our stay the hotel was full of Russian guests with very bad habit to stack food on the plates and the capacity of kitchen can not follow the demand, the result is no food for other gusts. They served us half raw chicken.
Most of the time it is not possible to connect to wifi, staff is not reacting to complaints abot the problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    80
    42
    20
    35
See reviews for
44
105
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We - a group of 30 tourists - arrived at the hotel around 7 p.m. Almost all rooms are beach-facing which is great. The swimming pool and the beach right across are the main attractions - very nice place to lounge around the pool or go for a walk on the beach. The dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet next morning were also quite okay - good variety. Rooms and beds were quite good too. But there was trouble with water. In our room, there was no water coming in the toilet tap, no hot water in the basin tap. In some other rooms - my uncle's and some other group members, the shower had only hot water. Service regarding this problem was also very bad. One elderly couple from our group nearly missed dinner trying to sort out this problem. Somehow I was getting the feeling that water was being controlled badly - because (in our room) there was no water coming in the toilet tap till around 9:30 p.m. when we needed it, but started coming later. Then again in the morning it was on till around 6 a.m., then it suddenly stopped. After dinner and breakfast in the dining area too, there wasn't proper basin to wash our hands. We were directed to wash hands in the sink where they had put cups and glasses to wash.
The basis necessity being bad marred the hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Though the place had a good view, the resort disappointed us in many ways.
Here's why i'm giving this a low rating:

1)Poor service: When asked for simple things like towels and glasses, they refused saying there was no staff available
2)Inhospitable Attitude: When asked why the WIFI was not working, the staff got angry and had an heated exchange of words with us. They even said "There are so many tourists here without WIFI, why you have problem". "They even challenged us to complain to whoever we wanted"
3)Horrible food: We paid a huge chunk for the gala dinner, and it turned to be crap. All food was sweet. And not much choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Induruwa is a little beyond Bentota. Nice stay, hotel staff ready to help and friendly. It is a nice clean resort with comfortably furnished double rooms. Almost all the rooms face the beach. No shops around the hotel, recommended for people having car with with them. blue swimming bool and the sea and the beach beyond, which is barely a hundred meter away. It was little while since I visited the place but was a nice and quiet stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

It is quite sad to see the stunning view of the pool and beach that greet you upon arrival, being marred by the atrociousness of the people in this place. Through the course of my trip, I never came across people as inhospitable as the ones found here (they were a rare breed!).

We had a great deal of expectations from Induruwa mainly because we'd planned our new years here and boy, did they disappoint (and how)! A special shout-out goes to Mr. Yohan who treated us to his special "violently-charge-at-your-guests" routine, all at the request of wifi which was absent for the duration of our 2-day stay.

Still, not to take away too much, the rooms are good, pool and beach are stunning, beach boys not so much (keep your distance from the guys) and there's an ample spread on the breakfast menu; but everything remotely good stops there. Everything bad would take up too much time and effort, wasted on this place. Despite what is featured on their website, Induruwa are largely unworthy of their star label. Anyone going here need to up their tolerance levels before checking-in. Good luck!

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking pool/beach - stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The approach to Induruwa Beach Resort is through an unimpressive small road. It has no open grounds in the front. But, once a person steps into the lobby, he is struck by the sight of the blue swimming bool and the sea and the beach beyond, which is barely a hundred meter away. It is a nice clean resort with comfortably furnished double rooms. Almost all the rooms face the beach, and there need be no particular preference for the rooms. The beach is clean, though it is not a private beach. Fishermen are seen going out into the sea early in the morning. Their catches are a sight to see, the way they they haul their load of fishes is something which tourists gather to see. The restaurant in the Resort provides good breakfast, both veg and non-veg. But, lunch and dinner are not equally good. For Indians accustomed to rice or Rotis, they seem half-cooked. I had no occasion to use the room service and comment on it. The staff was somewhat slow in resolving the problem of a senior citizen who had locked herself out of her room. Barring this, there is no other grievance. Checkin and checkout were quick and smooth. From here Galle is barely fifty kilometers away.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach which is barely 100 meters away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

One of the worst places! The staff's over there do not really know how to treat their guests! We literally had a fight with the front desk staff. We had a terrible beginning to our new year because of them! There is no food , drinks, even housekeeping after 9.00 P.M . And they call themselves 4
star hotel! There is no wifi ! Horrible service! Horrible food! Please avoid this horrible place even though the travel agent suggest this is a good place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Induruwa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Induruwa Beach Resort

Address: Kaikawala, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Induruwa Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Induruwa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Induruwa Beach Hotel Induruwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Induruwa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.