We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort Experience!!! Hats off to the whole team . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka to your Saves list
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aluthgama, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Half Board
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Makkah Province, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Resort Experience!!! Hats off to the whole team . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were a group of families who stayed at this resort during end November. All the staff including the leadership team was so humbling and eager to ensure great guest experience. Thanks to Sisira (GM) for leading this great team. Executive Chef, Chaminda (FO Executive), Asst. F&B Manager were all was of great help who went out of the way and helped us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is expecting wonderful resort experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    33
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
51
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful location, fantastic staff, everything you could need for a great holiday. Access was by boat over the lagoon, but can be reached by road. All contact with staff was professional and efficient and so hard working, room was spacious and spotless, view over the pool to the ocean was spectacular.The food at the restaurant provided great variety, although not as many 'local' dishes as I personally would have liked. Lots of water sports available, location was great, out of the Colombo, but still easily accessible, plenty of options for day tours to cultural, historic and wildlife attractions. The day spa is amazing, so serene and again with very talented professionals who manage to make you feel like you are in heaven. Free Wi-Fi was a bonus I was travelling with my 19 year old daughter, but there were couples, families and singles all enjoying the spacious facilities and I would recommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1- over all experience: I found the hotel so relaxing, romantic and fun, perfect for couples and also kids friendly
2- check in: we arrived really early in the morning at 6:00 and our room was occupied so they provided another room for us as an early checkin until we can move to our deluxe room. at 2 pm our room was still occupied and so they upgraded us to a junior suite- check in was easy and the staff were very nice and helpful
3- our room was just AMAZING its spacious, clean, comfy, quiet and had all what we need, in addition to the beautiful view of the indian ocean. the bathroom is clean and spacious it had a window to the room which I found so cool
4- Food: we were on half board and the breakfast and dinner buffets had great variety and the food was really tasty and yah the desert buffet was great
5- Spa: ohh one of the best spas I've been to, I recommend you try the 90 min.s hot stone massage it was awesome and so relaxing
6- water sports center: well this was the best part of our stay, we had so much fun with the jet skis and the water games and don't ever miss the mangrove boat tour it was beautiful. the guys working there were so much fun and took us good photos
7- don't miss taking your drink in the pool bar, I loved it

It is also worth to mention that I was concerned of this things before I decide my trip
1- Smell of food and city-- I found no bad smell in srilanka at allll
2- Food -- I'm so picky with my food but really the buffet is good and had great variety
3-Weather- the weather was just awesome it didn't rain except once at the last day when we were heading to the airport :)

Room Tip: ocean view higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisira S, General Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ayahossam

Thank you for your excellent review of your experience at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa.

I am pleased to know that Centara Ceysands, Spa Cenvaree has earned the title of best Spa you have experienced, hotel was so relaxing, romantic and fun, further recommending for couple and families.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, amazing spacious rooms, food and water sports center with nice and friendly staff / service. It is so important for us that we build long term relationships with our guests and ultimately become your number 1 choice whenever you decided to visit Sri Lanka.

Thank you for the great tips provided to our TripAdvisor customers

I look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although Centara is the best hotel you can stay in Bentota do not expect 5 start luxury service as other Centara properties.

We arrived late to the property due to flight delay at around 2am and our check in was very quick however not efficient as most important information on the property was missed. The corridor in which our room was (3013) smelled like damp/humidity and it wasn't pleasant. Little to our surprise the room and bathroom had exactly the same smell. This was pointed out on various occasions to the staff but nothing was done.

Breakfast has some essentials however as a western you will probably just eat fruit and eggs as the rest is Sri Lankan dishes or cheese, sausages etc of a bad quality and taste.
Lunch buffet does not get much better..

We tried the seafood restaurant 360, the food is good however not worth the price! we paid 18'000SLR for two people.

For meals you are better off going to Mallis Restaurant which is 5min away by Tuk Tuk. Amazing fresh seafood and the average check is 8'000SLR, the waiters are super nice!

The pool area is very nice and has gorgeous views to the beach area. The beach although not private to the hotel is gorgeous and you do feel safe. The sunsets are breathtaking and picture perfect!

Staff is nice but some times you feel like you are intruding and a burden, especially in the reception.

Room Tip: Top rooms have best views.. Stay away from the corridor of room 3013
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisira S, General Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear FilipaCdeSousa

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. we value your comments and firmly believe we can only improve if we truly listen and act on what you, our guest, are saying about us.

We were very concerned to read about your experience in-regards to certain aspects of the meals and service which surely taken up with concern areas.

Due to high humid and adverse weather conditions we do have the issues of dampness in the corridors which is now addressed with dehumidifiers.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with the perfect stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a quick boat ride across the lagoon and quick check in we were treated to complimentary drinks, nibbles and shoulder and neck massage, along with the other new arrivals in the beautiful spa area. In fact everything about this resort was professional and tasteful least of all the magnificent breakfast and dinner buffets. Our eyes maybe a little too big for our tummies! The staff were exceptional as was the huge swimming pool alongside a lovely palm strewn beach safe for swimming. Tuk tuks rides for the more adventurous from the cool guys on the beach. A wonderful and relaxing end to a go go holiday.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisira S, General Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Markmargo

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, Thank you for choosing Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa and taking the time to write about your experience.

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay with us, from the boat ride to the resort, our Spa Cenvaree experience, breakfast and dinner offering and the all-important service factor with an exceptional staff. Your positive comments means the world to us, we have always believed that word of mouth remains the truest and most powerful form of referral.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. I will list down good and bad things to be fair.
What went well:
- Hotel location is perfect, located between the river and the beach
- Hotel staff are always smiling
- The water sports center was great, well equipped and very nice and helpful people (Especially Sumeth, super cool guy )
- Room is okay , our room was clean
- The swimming pool is great
- The hotel is quiet, perfect for relaxing
- It’s a brand new hotel
- The grilled seafood at 360 restaurant is good as compared to other restaurants at the hotel (but of course more expensive)
- They serve shisha at the cafe
- Housekeeping service is good
- The free Wi-Fi connection is great , super-fast and great coverage (rooms, restaurants and pool)
- The Spa is great, we did the couple full body Massage, it was perfect … great value for money.

What went wrong:
- We booked this hotel online and after we checked in the reception staff informed us that our booking is half-board and we can have breakfast and dinner for free at the main restaurant. So we decided to have dinner on the first night, we went to the restaurant and after we finished our dinner the restaurant staff told us that we have to sign the bill. It seems like the hotel was confused about our booking and they insisted that we only have breakfast covered (honestly we didn’t want to make a big deal of this because the dinner food at the main restaurant was really bad anyways).
- You feel that the hotel staff is trying to make as much money as they can in any possible way… I know it’s the same case in all hotels, but Centara staff they make so obvious. I think they lack training.
- I got a bit sick during the stay and I called the reception asking them in a very polite way if they can get us simple medications from any nearby pharmacy but my request was ignored. I called them three times!
- The breakfast and dinner food at the main restaurant is of poor quality. Very limited options, everything was just awful, we had boiled eggs and omelet every single day .. we had no choice. Even fruits and vegetables were very limited and of a very bad quality.
- Very low hygiene standards at the main restaurant, they use the same plate for raw meat and then they serve you cooked meat in the same plate! the funny thing is that they were surprised when we asked them to use a fresh plate!
- The beach is a public beach, the moment you step out of the hotel you find at least 3 people chasing you trying to sell you things
- You feel like all hotel staff lack training, even the guy at the omelet station was struggling to flip the omelet.
- Language was also an issue, we struggled to explain simple things.. but it’s not a big deal 
- We requested the hotel to arrange for a transportation to the airport, the lady at the reception told us it will cost us 100$. We told her that we got a taxi from the airport for 60$ she said this is the hotel price. We asked the lady what kind of car, She said it it’s a Jeep car. We were surprised, we didn’t see any Jeep in Sri Lanka, we though maybe that’s why they charge more. When the car arrived it turned out to be a small Toyota  there was no Jeep , we asked the driver about the Jeep, he said we don’t have Jeep and we never had one. He said the lady Lied … we didn’t have time to argue … we were glad we are leaving ( we missed having normal food )

Room Tip: We had the river side view , very nice view .. m sure the beach side is nice as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisira S, General Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Alaa

I am obviously very disappointed that we were not able to meet or indeed exceed your expectations on your recent stay but nevertheless thankful for your feedback, we know we can only improve if we truly listen to what our customers are saying about us.

We do take lot of efforts to keep our buffets with quality and variety focused on our guests preferences while not forgetting the true Sri Lankan dishes which add the flours and experience of locality. Unfortunately our efforts didn't suite your palate. Wish you did tell us your expectations as we would have been more than happy to go the extra mile.

Regrettably that we couldn't get the medicine from the pharmacy as a hotel policy but surely the hotel offered the Doctors assistance which you didn't opt. to.

I am sorry that we did not get it absolutely perfect for you this time and I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and ultimately restore your faith in Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for three nights at their suite.we reached the resort early at 9am after a tiring journey but sight of the resort was totally refreshing reaching the reception area by boat is definitely the usp of this resort.A special mention of the front desk,they were kind enough to grant us an early checkin without any fuss.Location is amazing as the resort has the beach on one side and the river on the other side.The resort is only five months old so all facilities are in great shape.Resort staff is wonderful and very attentive. Restaurant food is excellent and special mention for restaurant staff Roshini and Mohan for making our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisira S, General Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nishit

Thank you for the kind review of your recent experience here at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa at Bentota, Sri Lanka

Happy to know it was totally refreshing experience from the time you cross the river and that we were able to make your stay even more memorable. Surely we will pass the message to the people who made you stay worthwhile.

It’s always a delight hearing from our guests here, or elsewhere, that everything went well during their stay with us..

We do hope that you will check-in with us again for another staycation - soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka

Address: Aluthgama, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Bentota peninsula Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka enjoys a superb location with the Bentota River on one side and the Indian Ocean on the other, ensuring dreamy views from most areas of the resort, and offering a natural environment along with a wide range of facilities and activities. The resort is accessed by a short boat ride across the lagoon from a departure point a few minutes to Aluthgama station, and river and ocean boat trips are a major attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.