We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer bliss!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Escapes

Save Saved
You added Mangrove Escapes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mangrove Escapes
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yakhahagodawatta - Horrawala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Bentota
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sheer bliss!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have fallen in love all over again!! Mangrove Escapes is my new found love! It offers everything I want - gorgeous surroundings of lush greenery for as far as you can see, peace and quiet, great food, and tons of outdoor space for yoga, long walks by the river, swimming in one of the 3 pools (and I mean you can do some sincere lap swimming), and even hard core kayaking down the river! Mangrove Escapes is great for a family vacation - the birds, monitor lizards, and monkeys make for added attractions, a romantic trip - so much space all over the property allows for privacy, and even for those looking for a little healing of the mind, body, and soul with the fantastic Ayurveda treatments. There is something for everyone! I will certainly be back for it all! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a short break but felt we had been away for a long time. The place is small enough to feel like you are staying in someone's home but everyone is respectful of your privacy so able to fully relax and enjoy the experience - the perfect combination. The staff were genuine and happy to help - and the chocolate pudding was too good. When we first arrived the quiet was unnerving (we have a 3year old so quiet is something we've forgotten)but by day two we were converted and the only interruptions were bird song, a gentle tinkle of the bell of a small cow who wandered around the grounds and the laughter of our daughter. With 3 pools almost all to herself, she was spoilt for choice, but the firm favourite was the roof top infinity pool. Sri Lanka has amazing beaches but it is definitely worth turning inland to experience the calm oasis of Mangrove Escapes.

Room Tip: all amazing - some with rocks protruding into the room - all ensuite, with a balcony and with beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On an impulse I traveled to Mangrove Escapes for a much needed break ! When I reached the property I was blown away by the sheer magnificence of the rooms nestled in the backdrop of the forest! They were lovely rooms and the one I stayed in still had part of a rock formation that was part of the terrain.
The hospitality and love shown to me by the wonderful staff made me feel really welcome and at home. Adding to this were the amazing 4 course gourmet meals that were being served to me while I sat and looked out at the glorious view along with the infinity pools.
The only downer about being in this environment are the mosquitoes and insects but the establishment were very supportive with the repellents and all.
A highlight for me was the fairly short drive to the Bentota beach where I would go and watch the sunsets over a cuppa.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Truly an oasis. A definite return trip is on the cards. The river cruises, search for the Salties (Crocs) and Food & Beverage Experience here has been one of the finest that I have in this wonderful Island.

Room Tip: The superior bungalows with a private sit-out are perfect for those looking at a few days of RNR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mangrove Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Escapes

Address: Yakhahagodawatta - Horrawala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mangrove Escapes 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangrove Escapes is for the discerning traveller. Horrawala, where we are located, is part of a reserved bio-sphere (Mangroves) on the Bentota River. An oasis bustling with life, a region that takes you back a few generations, a pace that makes life more meaningful and action that promises to take your breath away. Be prepared to convert to a Twitcher, a Crocodile Dundee, a Lepidopterist, a Tropical Forest Conservator, an Angler, an Astronomer or a Srilankan Masterchef! Mangrove promises to change you, a little bit atleast, forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mangrove Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Escapes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.