We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Villa

Save Saved
You added Sakura Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sakura Villa
Kommala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited Sri Lanka end February/beginning March 2013 and stayed in Sakura Villa at the beginning and end of our trip. We can highly recommend spending your time in Bentota in this accommodation. The villa is located in Bentota village and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing time. Our bedroom and bathroom were large with a balcony which overlooked the gardens. I understand that a pool will be installed shortly and that would be an advantage as you do need a tuk-tuk to get to the beach. Bedside tables would also be useful. Sandhya and Vikram want to make your visit enjoyable and they succeed. Vinodh, Manager, is extremely helpful. He arranged and accompanied us on a 7 day trip around Sri Lanka, together with his friend and our driver, Janaka. What an amazing trip we had with 2 extremely polite and respectful young men. Vinodh will do his best to make your trip memorable and he succeeds.
Sri Lanka is a beautiful island and apart from the question of tipping which is seen as a right and not as a reward for good service, I would recommend that you visit., The beaches are stunning but you need to find a hotel/restaurant which would let you use their loungers/sun umbrellas for the cost of a drink and/or meal. The Amal restaurant is to be recommended for this service.
Altogether, Vinodh, Vikram and his wife helped to make our stay in the Sakura Villa very enjoyable. They made two English Grandmas very happy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This beautiful villa is located in a very quiet area, so the only noise you hear is the one from singing birds. It is the ideal place if you want to relax and would like to stay away from the crowds.
Sandhya and her husband are very nice hosts and make you feel welcome in the villa. Sandhya is an exceptional cook and her breakfasts/dinners are really delicious. The price of the food is good for the quality you get.
If you want to the beach you can take a tuk tuk, which will cost you around 300 rupies each way. Ask the driver to take you to Amal Villa. You can have lunch (very good quality and service) or drinks there and use their beach facilities (sunbeds, sun umbrellas, toilets) for free.
You can also have massages and other treatments in the Ayurveda center located in the villa. I had a body massage and shirodara and it was really good, great masseur.
The villa and the room are very clean. Wireless internet is available, but it is not always working. Rooms with fan or A/C are available as well.
I would suggest some improvements to add value to the villa and enhance the comfort of the guests:
- Put mosquito net over the beds
- Buy better quality towels – the ones available are hardly drying your skin
- Put a little table next to the bed to be able to place objects like mobile phone, alarm clock, etc.
- Provide English lessons to the hosts to ease communication with guests
I would recommend staying at the villa, especially because of the hospitality shown by Sandhya and her husband. However I would not recommend Sri Lanka as a holiday destination, at least not for independent travelers, especially if you are on a limited budget. Sri Lanka is a truly beautiful country, with a lot of potential and amazing things to see, but unfortunately everything is extremely overpriced and you get mostly quite poor quality for the money you pay for. There is no real culture of providing good customer service here, most people just see you as a walking ATM and everyone is expecting tips without really deserving it. It happened to me twice that I was picked up late for a tour/airport transfer, some people were really pushy when it came to getting tips, communication was not always appropriate for customer service. And I wish there was more done in terms of responsible tourism and supporting the local communities. It is sad to see that everything is about business and money. I have been to other Asian countries and can say that you are much better off if you visit places like Vietnam, Cambodia and the Philippines. There you get great value and great service for much lower prices and these countries are also beautiful.
If you decide to go, I would suggest taking enough cash with you. There is a limitation on how much money you can withdraw from the ATM (currently 40,000 rupies per day) and with the prices you find in Sri Lanka this means that you have to go several times to the ATM, which is again adding expenses.

Room Tip: Take one with A/C...you will need it with the high degree of humidity you will find
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I visited there recently, I could have spent wonderful terms. The owener is really heartwarming, I was impressed with local people 's kindness who are owners friends. I drank with them one night, lisitening great music of Kongo instrument, that was also exciting me. The service is also nice, dishes are so delicious, in particular, omlet served by the owner. I wanted to come back. I really recomend you in spite of the location's far. Because it's calm surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I. Was very happy staying. Sakura villa. Treatment food well. Very suitable for those who won't to cleanse the body. Such a reds noble room rate an big toilet an big veranda. And excellent breakfast. I got whole body massage and it was fantastic. You can feel as if releasing physical stress from head to toes recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We (myself and my wife) stayed at Ayurveda Sakura Villa Bentota. It was out first visit to Sri Lanka and staying at this hotel made our time joyful and fantastic. Everybody was kind and respectful. Great rooms – Nice Balcony with beautiful nature background, huge comfortable bed under a mosquito net etc etc... Breakfast are always delicious (special thanks to the Lady Sandya from my wife for the Make Sri Lankan style Foods). Breakfast are served outdoors in the garden by the Garden Table.

This hotel is quite far from the seaside. You would need a transport (available in the hotel –Tuk Tuk Driver- Sampath) or it'll take you 30 mins on foot to get to the ocean.
We did nice boat safari with Vinodh and he is very friendly person. He is orgernized every things inside arrangement and Tours and airport transport of Ayurveda Sakura Villa.

Ayurveda Sakura Villa is more a family villa than a hotel. We would love to stay here once again some time in Next Year :).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sakura Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Villa

Address: Kommala, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty lodging in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its Locate from 60Km away from Colombo International Airport. This place Located very Attractive and quite environment in Bentota City. Bentota is very famous for Tourist place and huge shopping center of Handycraft, Bathiks, Wood Carvings, and Hand making Jewelley. And main attraction of Ancient temples and Nature Life . 3.5KM away from Bentota Beach and 1KM away from most Attractive and Beautiful Bentota Rever. The Sakura Villa have 5 double rooms with Modern Kitchen and nice nature garden. The Villa build in Modern Architec Design and join to the nature life. its make calm and peaceful for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sakura Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.