We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce affordable boutique hotel right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Surf Hotel to your Saves list
The Surf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“NIce affordable boutique hotel right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is great in most ways except dinner options and poor coffee quality. Until we insisted on brewed coffee we kept being served instant To make up for this they offered lovely black current juice at the breakfast buffet. The rooms are lovely, well appointed, comfy beds etc. The balcony is outstanding with great quality loungers. The dinner menu is very limited but overall I would gladly return. Rates are very attractive during this off season. Wifi difficult to access in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Miss,
Thank you very much for your comment about our property. We really do appreciate you mentioning about the challenges you had during your stay with us. I’ll make sure to provide your feedback to our Chef regarding the selection on the dinner menu and look at the ways on how to improve it.

Due to some severe weather conditions, we did experience some problems with our internet provider during July. As a result, we were facing some difficulties with the WiFi connections.

However, we have been able to correct these problems and the connection is much better now. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may experience and hope you won’t come across these problems during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    85
    33
    19
    16
See reviews for
82
118
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent one night here . Hotel is nothing but excellent. Unbeatable location, friendly and competent staff. The pool and garden were absolutely lovely . Nice, clean room.. had a beautiful view of the beach....Special thanks to Mr...Asela (A.G.M) ..couldn't have been more kind and helpful. he has done a great job in making our stay pleasant @ the surf. Lovely hotel with a lovely view. Fantastic Stay , Highly Recommended !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Salika,

We are very happy to see that you had a great stay while you were at The Surf Bentota. It was our pleasure to serve you and I’ll make sure to pass the message to all our staff about the great compliment you have given. When you decide to come back for a longer stay, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

"The Surf" is an amazing place for a get away during the weekend, a place where you can just relax and spend time with your loved one.
We stayed there for one night, and wished if we could have stayed longer.
When we reached the hotel, we were welcomed with warm smiles, cold cloth and a cooling drink. The food was very elegant and the main restaurant was very classy. The experience of walking in the pristine shores is similar to walking in clean white snow.
Our stay was a good experience overall with minimum hiccups.
The staff was very friendly (from the security guard at the gate to the head chef at the restaurant) and they were always prompt in their shared concern about our well-being.

There are two things to improve on, 1 - We made four requests for the cushions outside to be replaced as it was soaked with rain water however this was not done.
2 - We checked in at 7pm and asked our bath-towels to be replaced in the morning however this was not done either.

We hope to return and see these improvements.
As are overall experience was VERY POSITIVE ! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sean,

Thank you so much for taking the time to make a comment about your visit. I'm so happy to hear that your overall stay was a very positive one. However, I wished we could have made it a perfect stay by attending to the two issues you mentioned above. I will definitely check with appropriate departments about these problems and make sure to improve our service.

Apart from that, it's great to hear that our staff was helpful and courteous to you. We sure enjoyed your company while you were here and I'm so glad I got the opportunity to talk to you couple of times during your stay. Please make sure to visit us sometime in the future and we will make sure to deliver a better experience. If you need any assistance with a future reservation or any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed one night and we regretted not staying longer. It is the perfect place to stay next to the beach. The swimming pools are great and well cleaned.There were a nice and cooperative staff. Very friendly people and professional... We had a beautiful view of the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ms. Wijesiri,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are really happy to hear that you and your husband had a great stay while you were here. As you mentioned, all our rooms are overlooking the beach to give every guest the possible view while they are with us.
I'll make sure to inform our staff about your encouraging words about their service and we would love to see you back here again (maybe we can expect three people instead of two next time).
Thank you so much again Aloka, and hope you had safe flight going back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night and hospitality offered from all the staff was really wonderful. I was with my family on holiday @ Surf. Food was fantastic and room conditions were brilliant .


My car had a problem with its ignition in the morning just before our check out.
I would like to give my special gratitude to Asela (GM) and the staff those who went out of the way and help to sort our car imidiately . Many thanks once again to Asela and the staff for taking time for this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Chaminda,
First of all, I apologize about the delayed response. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in our newly renovated rooms and even the food selection was to your liking. Even when things weren’t perfect (with your vehicle) I’m glad to hear our staff including our GM was able to assist you.
Again, thank you so much for taking the time to adding these comments on Tripadvisor, and we would love to see you again here at The Surf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

me and my family had a pleasent stay,the staff of this hotel is the best we had experienced out of all our hotel stays,hats off to the management,no shortcomings in any departments let it be the front office,restuarant,house keeping or even the pool attendents.all are full of smiles.will definitely recommend for a peacefull stay.finally the food is awesome at the surf.....keep it up

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We checked in yeasterday (5 adults) and our baby son..The welcome drink was refreshing and a new idea for me... the staff welcome us with clean towels and carried our luggage with out any delay to the clean rooms..
The balcony was facing the sea with a nice view of the beach and can hear the sound of the waves... the soothing sea breez relaxes your mind...
The hotel even gave complimentary head or foot massage to all 5 of us.. where I choose the head massage.. which was very well done by a nice lady.. the "Nirogi"spa is spaciouse,clean and well equiped too..
There are 2 clean pools with a nice beach view with different size... best is there are 2 baby pools too with different depths.. one is 2 ft. other 4 ft... My 2 yrs old baby son enjoyed the dip in the 2ft baby pool...
Al carte menue was short but very deliciouse.. we ordered club sandwitch and vegi fried rice.. The club sandwich was verynicely presented and very filling with all the ingrdiants..excellent cooking...
Breakfast buffet was nicely arranged..clean and providing variety of food combinations..western and traditional...Bread corner to fruits to juice to chocolate milk..cornflakes, bacon,sausages, baked beans, freach toast, pancakes.. even porridge..all western breakfast..then there was traditional rice and curry too..for guest who like to taste the Sri Lakan touch...
the pool and surrounding was very clean..tehn even hadfish food to feed the BIG Gold fish in the ponds.. Staff were very friendly and fulfilled all my request with regard to the small baby..
One otf the great vacations I had in Sandy beaches in Southern coast of Sri Lanka..

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor beach side to get the best veiw... But if U need some pvt. space relaxing wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.