We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Bentota.. classic yet modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off for long stays
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Bentota
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Bentota.. classic yet modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Designed & built in the 1970s by the late Geoffery Bawa, one of Sri Lanka's most famous architects, the AVANI Bentota is modeled after a Dutch seaside village. The architecture & layout of the resort is classic & beautiful, with orange-tiled roofs & white walls, yet very modern since it has been newly renovated last year and rebranded as AVANI.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. We had to leave 5:30am to catch our flight and they packed breakfast bags for us.
The in-room entertainment system is pretty cool, with free movies on demand, although there was some problem with the programming at first.
The food is good too. Must try the egg hoppers at breakfast.
The resort has a schedule of activities every day, we were there during the Sinhalese new year and they had a cultural dance & drumming show.
However do be warned that the decking around the swimming pool becomes very hot like a grill during the day, some of us burned their feet by walking on it!
The resort is also quite near the railway tracks, so a train rumbles by a few times a day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    117
    41
    11
    11
See reviews for
73
141
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nicely done hotel, ur room on the same level w pool just open the dour of the balcony and jump in the pool. Food was disgusting, gym is nice and male therapist in spa is really good.

Room Tip: Pool level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Must say that staff here are extremely friendly with a warm smile and happy to assist at all times. The Check in got delayed by about one hour as the rooms were not vacant, but the they happily upgraded me to a deluxe room to make up for the delay. The room was nice, comfy, very spacious - with a large sitting area and clean with a private veranda facing the beach - ideal place to relax with a glass of wine. The minibar was well stocked with a good selection and had a nice big LCD in the room. The bathroom was clean with lots of amenities. One could see the bath tub from the room by raising the window blind next to the tub, adding a sense of romance. The closet area was huge and bath robes were a standard amenity.

The hotel is nicely landscaped and has two large pools. The beach in front is absolutely stunning and is safe for bathing and an ideal place to feast your eyes on a gorgeous sunset.

Would recommend this hotel to any couple or family.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

AWANI Bentota was our second hotel during our beach stay in Sri Lanka. We had a lovely but sadistic stay at AWANI because we never known that Bentota Beach Fest will be a constant headache for us. This hotel was recommended by Different Discovery, our agent in Sri Lanka but they did not mentioned about the loud sound testing for the DJ night and musical show right next to AAWANI.

We had the two deluxe rooms which were just huge. The room had a nice balcony facing the pool area and the sea with some palms at the front to make it feel private. The rooms are well done, tasteful and absolutely huge. The bed was very comfortable but the air-condition so loud it ruined sleep. The bathrooms are great with all toiletries provided. There are two pools so even if the hotel is full it does not feel too crowded. The pool setting is lovely and the beach just next to it.

Staff and service was remarkable. They tried to change our rooms after our complaint on loud sound testing but we understood the situation cannot be changed by just changing the rooms. Different Discovery offered us Bentota Beach for the last night but we said no. My sons were happy to see the musical show and only problem was with me and husband. As compensation Different Discovery offered us a free dinner at Cinnamon Grand.

Overall, AWANI is a lovely property to stay but it needs more fine tuning to be a FIVE STAR hotel. Most amazing thing is service oriented staff and smiley faces. I recommend this staff to any 7 star hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Always ask for a DELUXE with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed at the Avani Bentota for 7 nights the final week of March 2012.
Hotel is pleasant, room was of average size but nothing special for a ****star beach front Hotel. Nice large rain shower though. Bed fairly comfortable but a tad too hard (but that seems to be the case everywhere in Sri Lanka)
The Hotel has apparently been refurbished in late 2011 but in my opinion, very poorly. Nothing major, just shabby paintwork, plaster missing here and there and looked unfinished.
Food in the buffet restaurant was average at best. All the meat we ate was tough. Fish over-cooked. Salads were fine and varied. Unable to comment on the local curry, as I don't like it.
The Al a Carte' restaurant was much better. Good value, food nicely cooked and in an ambient setting but don't expect to be bloated after eating.
The pools are nice, although a little shallow. The Hotel is on the beach and is fab. The sea inviting and warm.
Staff were on the whole friendly enough but one or two could be off hand at times for no apparent reason.
Unfortunately whilst we were there the annual 'Bentota Beach Party' took place. Now we don't mind a bit of music but blasting out of a bank of 20 or so mega speakers until 5am two days and nights running is a bit much! (please note, not the Hotel's doing but on the agreement of the Government/Local Council)
Would we stay here again given the choice? No. There are much better resorts to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Hotel was one of the best, but 100%sure its better than the other hotels in the sides like Bentota beach or Taj as we did Visit them but we heard SAMAN Villa also is nice, but no chance for us as they are fully booked for Sri Lanka New Year period ( End of march, beginning of April ).
We as 7 adults pluse 18 months baby boy had 4rooms, 2 in second floor (#200 and #202) as #202 was really big with nice view in balcony of ocean,beach and as well pool, but balcony compare to room was small.
and 2 in first floor #119 and #120 while its smaller, but big enough for couples even with 1baby.
Beach was just 2min walk from hotel, pools only 1 min :D , we enjoy a lot as 8:30 to 9:30AM Break fast, then 10:30 to 14:00 Relax in POOL and Beach, then lunch, then rest, 16;30 to 17:30 GYM, then Shower then ready for night... all we did... just relaxing and relaxing.
Fortunately Internet Service was very poor and very slow :D and hard to touch my Ipad and Macbook.

The buffet Breakfast was great with big range of many choose, but No Cheese, we bought in super market and carry out:D

Not every day they did buffet lunch which you need to ask , but it was great to have this buffet as both restaurant while they do menu, it was take for ever to serving you food and its for most of Sri Lanka Restaurant which we went.

it was very new building and they just open on Dec,2011.
Staffs were very friendly and try to help you as much as they can, ... but remember , TIME to go Receive any Service IN SRI LANKA = FOREVER :D

2.5 to 3 Hours from Colombo Airport to Avani Bentota, Hotel did manage this pick up service by120USD for VAN for 9 Adults and we paid by our own USD 100 on the way back as we got better New Brand Toyota Van, you can also find many of then which every day they do parking in front of the AVANI Hotel.

Room Tip: room in 1floor have great balcony with pool view and access to the pool, you have benefit of relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

As soon as we arrived we were met by very friendly and helpful members of staff,which was great after a long flight. The grounds were very well kept,and pool attendants seemed to know when towels were needed for the beds--the only thing we needed to do was move our beds into the shade-basically our only excertion!!! The pools were good,the second one being finished a few days before we came home.This second pool included a childrens pool.There was a small village just outside the complex,and another a short walk away.These were very interesting,but you needed to be quite strong and polite,otherwise you would be stopping at every street trader,and be prepared to haggle over prices.The vendors who walked along the beach(outside the Hotel's perimeter),would call across showing their wares,but if ignored or a polite"No thank you" was given they would move on.If you go to one of the vendors don't accept the first price they ask,it is surprising how much they come down in price!

The food and service was very good,and there were a choice of three places to eat--2 Restaurants and a bar that served drinks and LARGE snacks.The members of staff had very good memories as to your preferences,and were always polite. There was something for everyone.

The Hotel had a very open and relaxing feel about it,and what could be more relaxing than a visit to the Spa,There was also a well equipped Gym, which we did not visit,but the staff were well trained to give advice as to what would be the best training for each individual.

The weather was very hot,so if a walk was wanted,the best time was early morning or late afternoon.My husband and I had several walks along the beach,which was beautiful,the Hotel was in the middle of a very large sandy bay.

Our rooms were very well furnished and comfortable and the beds were excellent,including the pillows which was a bonus.The room and bathroom contained everything you would need on holiday.

we took advantage of a2 day trip(1night away) to see more of the Island.Reception are able to arrange these for you,and was well worth it.

We would seriously think about returning to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.