We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to your Saves list
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Room Rate
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We arrived into this hotel over 3 hours early and was greeted with Mr. Thissa who checked us in within 10-15 minutes. We were allowed to go to our rooms early and was very happy as having had to endure a 4 hour car journey from Kandy, we couldn't wait to relax. First impressions of this resort is modern and chic. It has all the qualities of what a resort should have. The main reception area is cool and airy and the view of the lawn, pool and ocean is gorgeous. Our room was a perfect size and had a view of the lawn and ocean with a balcony (1st floor). The Bathroom has a rain shower and a very good size. The king size bed is very comfortable and the room in general was spacious. The downside of the room was the AC which was so loud that you couldn't sleep with it on, and the ceiling fan looked wobbley and about todrop! So the room was uncomfortable late nights when it was hot. The restaurant which served buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was good and had a variety of items to suit everyone. The resort also has a more standard restaurant with a more set menu and also has a separate bar. Only sad thing was there wasn't much with fish on the menu.The beach is faultless! It's clean and clear and beautiful. Only prblem is the hawkers and beach attendant who feel they can always come upto and force a sale on you, but you do learn to grin and politely decline and they do leave you alone after. The staff and friendly and polite and very helpful. Only other problem were the cleaning staff..our room was missed cleaning twice, and was told that they were busy??!! Our room was in the middle of the first floor, so not sure how only ours was missed. Also they never do the room all in one go, and they keep knocking on the door to one more thing. So after a long day on the beach, when you want to retreat back to the room, remember to put the 'do not disturb' sign, otherwise you will be disturbed. Also if you do forget to put the sign and you don't answer the door after 3 knocks, they will come in!!! So this was rather annoying. The hotel setting is lovely and we stayed there for 7 nights and enjoyed everyday. The hotel also help with booking taxi's as we went for a day trip to Galle, which is a must! The hotel souvenir shop is very expensive and I wouldn't buy anything from the shop unless you really need to. Also bring insect repellant as the rooms did have little gaps and the little plugs they provide is not as efficient. The price of the room with breakfast was expensive, but we found it worth the price. Our only downside is we didn't pay full board as we did eat in lunch and dinner at the hotel. We did venture out and didn't see anything worth eating at (though I'm sure there is?) however an eat as much as u want buffet was ok and we had no problems.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    146
    51
    12
    13
See reviews for
96
167
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed at Avani Bentota for one Night in Jan 2012. The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. Check in and room allocation was done within 10 minutes of arriving. You get a nice view of the ocean when you enter the lobby area and the open spaces are great! The pool area was was very nice, with the hotel having two pools for the guests convenience. The rooms were nicely done but i think the most convenient rooms are the ones near the pool in the ground level as the room terrace open up near the pool deck. The rooms at the top most level are a bit smaller than the rest. Nice flat screen TV's in the room and the rooms comes with adapters etc.. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we had a great nights rest!!
Food needs to improve at the hotel a lot!. The buffet Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner did not have much choice compared to hotels such as Bentota Beach, Tranz or Lighthouse. The food was also very bland and tasteless. Usually hotels have some meat action station in those regions for dinner and lunch but Avani did not have such action stations. Salad selection was very poor! Food was a BIG disappointment! When you are on holiday you look forward to eating good food!
Food and drink off the menu was very expensive! Not worth the price at all! This seems to be the new trend the hospitality industry in Sri Lanka is adopting in resorts!
This hotel does not have a Elevator and the dinning area can get a little warm when there is no breeze. Hotel should consider installing some fans to keep the air circulating during hot days.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

I tried to book this hotel by email. It took quit a while but after some time we got a reply and then replies were always within 48 hours. However we never actually booked as on the day we asked for booking confirmation the hotel increased the prices by over 25%. It was not like we took a long time for confirmation (I guess just a few hours after their offer email) .... Then obviously I booked another hotel (even more expensive to be frank, but no hassle on prices and very quick and professional response) as we are very suspicious on the service when booking process is so bad. Then they came back to offer original prices..... What is this ???anyway we will never stay in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We spent a night at the Avani Resort in Bentota and were very impressed with the rooms, pool and beach. We had a tough time finding good vegetarian food, so we just walked over to the Taj Vivanta for dinner. Much better options there! The room at the Avani was very comfortable, and the TV had a good selection of on demand movies for free! A good touch. They have 2 large pools and a private beach - very good place to relax and get away from the noise! There are tuk-tuks available as soon as you step out so that you can visit the nearby turtle hatcheries.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I had the deluxe room which was just huge. The room had a nice balcony facing the pool area and the sea with some plams at the front to make it feel private. The rooms are well done, tasteful and absolutely huge. The bed was very comfortable but the aircon so loud it ruined sleep. The bathrooms are great with all toiletries provided (great quality shampoo). There are two pools so even if the hotel is full it does not feel too crowded. The pool setting is lovely and the beach just next to it. We only only lunch at the hotel, a buffet/barbeque which was very good. However, the service is terrible everywhere but the spa. You are constantly waiting for drinks, asking for everything three times and it just gets tiring. Seems like some work still needs to be done with the public toilets looking like the plastering is half done. It's a five star hotel but needs some fine tuning to be world class. I would stay again but only for couple nights as there is not much in Bentota. I would also note that the hotel guests seemed to mainly middle aged german couples so don't go there looking for a party.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent four nights at Avani Bentota Resort & Spa. It is a lovely hotel. The architecture is of Bawa design. The spa is great with Anantara standards. The two restaurants Breeze (main restaurant), buffet style and Frangipani, fine dining. The food is excellent and of good quality. The staff is very friendly but I believe that with training the service will improve and will be a good four star resort. It is the perfect resort for relaxation with outstanding view on the pool and beach. We recommend Avani Bentota Resort & Spa.

Room Tip: Room with sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

I would not hesitate to recommend the Avani. It is a beautiful very new hotel - so everything is gleaming. Rooms are smart with huge flat screen TVs with good channels. Complimentary water each day and fruit platter on arrival - nice touch. Nice bathroom with big rain shower and nice toiletries. Lovely views of pool and beach. There is a lovely big pool, with views of palm trees and you can hear the sound of the ocean while swimming. Gym is small but very smart - two treadmills and one cross trainer. Beach is amazing - long, clean and beautiful. No loungers on beach. Very good food at restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 Family Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.