We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall view after two weeks stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentota Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bentota Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentota Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Bentota
peterlee co durham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overall view after two weeks stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

I loved the surroundings and the choice of nearby venues for outings, eatings and the readiness of staff to guide and help. If i ever go back, i would stay there again without reservation!

  • Liked — cleaned to a tee every day
  • Disliked — cant say really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    271
    105
    48
    24
See reviews for
200
275
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

I use this site a lot so I thought it was time to give as well as take.

My wife and I just got back from Sri Lanka where we were booked into the Bentota Beach Hotel for 8 days R&R. We stayed there 2 nights and then moved on.

This is obviously a place for families with kids or octagenarians on an all-inclusive. If you're on a couples' trip hoping to experience some of the magic of Sri Lankan hospitality and culture then run a mile. It has all the charm of a motorway service station, a fact that really comes to light (literally) during the evening.

The main dining area is a brightly lit refectory-style room with all the charm of Alan Sugar with a grudge. If that's not bad enough the hovering waiters whip your plates away as the last mouthful leaves the table meaning dinner is over in about 30 minutes. Amazingly, the two nights we lasted had a Bar-B-Q and then, wait for it, Tex Mex food theme! We were wondering if we'd flown to the wrong continent?

You then had little alternative but to face the hotel's "evening'entertainment". If your idea of holiday heaven is a mixture of darts, bingo and pin the tail on the elephant all to the accompaniment of Maria Carey piped through an electronic organ then look no further.

The rooms are OK and the pool is a magnet for the kids but the problem with the hotel is that you feel you could be anywhere in the world where the sun shines in March. There's very little to remind you that you're in one of the most intoxicating countries on the planet and, to be honest, most people there didn't seem to care.

Having checked out we headed down to Galle to stay at the colonnial-style Galle Fort Hotel and then returned to Bentota for 2 nights at The Saman Villas. The Galle Fort Hotel in particular is stunning. Just ask for Carl and he'll take care of everything for you.

Lots of people at the Bentota Beach Hotel seemed to enjoy themselves, a fact supported by the comments on this site. However, as a regular user of the site I felt it was important to give some context to the feedback as the 5 star rating is, in my opinion, needs to be qualified. For me, it's like someone has transported Leicester Forest East to the sub-continent. Make your own judgement as to whether that's a good or a bad thing.

  • Liked — Pool loungers
  • Disliked — Total lack of atmosphere after dark
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

This hotel is fabulous.
The food is brilliant with excellent choices and fresh. Children love it as well.
The entertainment could be a little more but what they had was wonderful.
The rooms are stylish and clean and the added touches of the cleaners is lovely.
Although the weather was poor we enjoyed our time there.

We staff are the best I have ever experienced. They are polite, friendly and go out of their way to help you.

Super shiney star for the Bentota! xxxxxx

  • Liked — the exceptional staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

After approx 20 hours of travelling (3 hours of them were to get to the hotel from the airport which is only 60km away) due to the roads been very busy and hectic. It was an experience, beeping horns, flashing lights, 5 abreast in a one way street with no road markings etc. It was mad, a white knuckle ride!

The hotel was very nice and our room especially was very large in size and had a lovely view of the river and lagoon area which we were getting married at. Our room however was a superior room so I would def book one of these (after talking to a few others in standard rooms on the ground floor, these were cold and damp but this was because they fell victim to the Tsunami which is not the hotels fault.

Our wedding day was perfect. Everything was arranged and all we had to do was turn up. The photos are lovely and very professional. The DVD of the ceremony was put together really good and the elephant ride was brill! The hotel even paid for me and my husband to have a massage on the onsite spa. They also decorated on our room with balloons etc which was a surprise. There is a salon at the hotel also so no worries lady, you can still get your hair and make up professionally done. For our evening reception, we choose to go on the boat and have a bbq meal. This was organised brilliantly and there was enough food to feed 90 people, there were only 9 of us!! The choice and quality were lovely also. I would recommend doing that.

The choice of watersports is excellent and cheap. The hotel and its grounds are brilliant. Pool is excellent and not salt water. Elephant lives on the grounds and he loves bananas! A ride on it will cost you about £5 but well worth it.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful and spoke good english. With regards to tipping, we left our tipping until our departure which we would recommend. They only earn £35 per month and are over the moon when you tip them a £1!!

  • Liked — The garden areas to sunbathe
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

We were on honeymoon and were told we would be up graded on arrival, instead we were placed on the wing with the all inclusive guests in pretty standard accomodation "single beds" not really what you want on honeymoon! We had an immediate room change to one with a double bed! next day the loo would not flush and we were moved again to a twin room. the same night after playing merry hell with the under manager we were put in the honeymoon suite, altogether a different standard . Alas 2 days later they had a wedding party and we were moved again!!! 6 days and still we hadn't unpacked. On the plus side the staff were brilliant and friendly, the food was excellent and the hotel grounds superb. Outside of the hotel the locals were friendly but became a bit of a nuisance following us around and generally making us feel uncomfortable. Sri Lanka is a beautiful island but the infrastructre is a mess and getting anywhere by car is a terrifying experience. Thank god we visited Dubai for 4 days on the way home, altogether a more satisfying visit.

  • Liked — Food and staff
  • Disliked — Room standards
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bentota Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach Hotel

Address: Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach Hotel is the perfect get-away from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, banana boat riding and diving. The hotel also hosts other recreational activities such as a tennis court, squash court and archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bentota Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentota Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.