We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs urgent upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bentota Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bentota Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Bentota Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Hotel needs urgent upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here in July 2011, was pretty disappointed with the quality of the hotel grounds and rooms. The lobby looks great and so does the restaurant but that's all. We stayed in a delux room, and it was pretty basic room. The room is not very inviting, its old and the furniture is old too. The bathroom was the worst (looks more like a 3 star bathroom). IT was dirty, had mold/grime between the tiles and the metal bin was rusty.
One other major bad point is the swimming pool area. The grounds around the pool are un-kept. Weeds are long grass growing near pool and mud everywhere on the ground. Swimming pool area needs URGENT renovation. Please make it look nice and inviting, instead of weeds, uncut grass and mud everywhere.

On the plus side, there are a lot of activities to do at the hotel, such as water sports, great access to beach, spa and other things. The staff was very friendly as well. We asked for a DVD player to be brought up to our room and it was provided very quickly.

If the rooms in the hotel, swimming pool and grounds were renovated to be modern it would be pretty good place.

We stayed in heritence ahungalle the night before and it was so much better and cheaper too! We will go back to heritence ahungalle over bentota beach hotel any day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our resort. The points that you have highlighted about the bathrooms, and swimming pool area have been noted and we will take urgent action with this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    330
    141
    60
    31
See reviews for
256
338
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Location is just fine (at the beginning of Bentota). After a shuttle from the airport to Katunayake bus stand, then a bus (#187) from there to Pettah bus stand in Colombo (also close to Fort railway station) and then another bus (# 2) from there to Bentota - we finally got off right opposite the hotel. This took us about 3 hrs early in the morning. Enjoyed the morning sights on the road.

Hotel is lovely, got an early check-in, rooms are pretty - ours had a partial view of the river, beds are comfy, pool is gorgeous and warm with sunbeds around. Beach is a 3 min walk from the pool - albeit rough while we were there - apparently great during season (nov - apr). We opted for B & B - breakfast was always delicious with the standard international fare and local dishes like string hoppers, aapam, puttu with yummy chicken/fish/potato curries etc. Service is super - staff are very friendly and ever helpful. We were pleasantly surprised when the hotel decorated our room and made us a special cake for our anniversary - was a nice gesture. Speed of room service could definitely use improvement. Talk to Chatura at information for advice during your trip. Be wary of sandflies in the evening near the pool and beach area - carry mosquito repellent just in case.

Don't get hassled by the vendors outside the hotel - chances are you may find one you like to use. Negotiate well. Ajit (usually outside the hotel) took us on the Bentota river cruise which was beautiful. The highlight of our trip was when we rented a scooter from Nuwan (can get his details from the shop right opp the hotel on the main road) and rode down south (60 km one way) to see the rest of the attractions up until Galle & Unawatuna. We loved the gorgeous beach at Unawatuna and would recommend checking it out for swimming and good food at various restaurants there. We also stopped at Akurala beach on route - frequented by locals for some swimming (reef breaks the waves here). Roads are fantastic, directions easily navigable by tourists and we had a safe experience riding back at night as well.

There are liquor shops, supermarkets, money exchanges if you go over the bridge to Aluthgama - about 7 min walk. The Bentota railway station is 5 mins walking distance from the hotel as well. We tried restaurants outside the hotel - our best experience was at the beautiful Diya Sisila (Can call Nandana, tell him what you like and he'll pick you up and drop you back after a personalized meal - can carry your own alcohol as well) and Malli's seafood restaurant (3 mins away). Most restaurants are definitely not cheap. Picked up a local number from Dialog (1000 lkr incl talktime) at the airport which worked cheap. Tuk-tuks on the main road will negotiate better. When you're out and about - negotiate & keep a close eye on your belongings. We found that souvenirs were cheaper in some places here than in Colombo. We picked up some nice fridge magnets from the Charles's shop (below Malli's - look for a castrol sticker).

Feel free to write to us if you have questions or need further details.

Cheers
Jabb

Room Tip: 1. We booked through agoda.com & got a better rate. 2. Ask for river/sea view on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
It is evident that you had a great holiday in Bentota and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and our famed morning breakfast buffet. Your comments on the room service timing has been noted,thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you come back during the season to experience the calmer seas and the golden coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st petersburg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

very nice hotel with very friendly staff and good cuisine, loved the national dishes, very tasty and good variety
garden with sunbeds large enough to find a silent space for yourself. beach just some footstep away and guarded entrance to compound, ocean was nice, good trips throughout sri lanka available.
we liked it a lot,
only drawback the sandfleas at the beach , better to use some lotion

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Bentota Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 weeks in Jun 2011
Wow Wow Wow,
Views were spectacular,
Rooms were great even with mosquito repellent plug ins just in case,
Food was great and im a fussy eater,
Staff helpful and friendly,
Pool clean and hot ie 32 c at 8am, not bad
Gardens huge and beautiful
Boat trips nicely priced, so much so we went 4 times ,
Overall amazing, so much so we are going back next year to get married.
To be honest we thought we were living in a zoo, what with squirrels(chipmunks),chameleons monitors, gehko and crocodiles 2 minutes away by boat.
There is plenty of shade if you need to get out of the sun under the palm trees in the huge gardens
Thankyou Bentota Beach for a memorable stay.
Andy & Andrea Norfolk UK

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and we look forward to hosting your wedding at Bentota Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is a lovely hotel. Food is excellent and accomodation clean and comfortable. You will only get wine in the restaraunt on All Inclusive, not the bars. This is the only down side and the reason I have marked with a four rating rather than a five.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Public Relations Executive at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I found the staff so nice and kind when we just arrived a waitress came and served us juice and we where very kindly showed to our room we have two kids and they kindly put another bed in for us so it was a triple king sized bed the pool was extremely clean the pool attendant was super kind on the day before we left bentota the pool attendant tought my daughter how to swim and we had dinner with the manger and my daughter loves roti So they kindly ordered it for her breakfast and they got my family some present but it was such a lovely exprience my daughters loved it we will definitely go back 

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at various hotels during our 1 month holiday in Sri Lanka and found this to be the cleanest hotel with friendly, courteous and very helpful staff.( 3 days in June 2011). Only wish we could have stayed longer. You only had to request something and it was brought to you (within reason of course) almost immediately.
Reception staff very knowledgeable and friendly and took us up to our rooms on the 2nd Floor and explained in details the room layout etc.
Even the Management Team took the time to introduce themselves and had a general chat with us also giving us ideas as to sightseeing in the area and also enquiring as to our comfort at the hotel. We had no problems whatsoever.
Rooms spacious and very clean and well equipped.
Restaurant very well set out and the food just "Out of this World". We will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Book Early and I preferred 2nd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Public Relations Executive at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you for your response, we are awaiting your visit in 2013. Next time you visit, you could also explore the ancient ruins dating back 2500 years, from Habarana and the misty hills and rich culture of Kandy by visiting our sister hotels. Visit [--] should you require more information about tourist attractions and other accommodation options in Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentota Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach Hotel

Address: Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#9 Family Hotel in Bentota
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach Hotel is the perfect get-away from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, banana boat riding and diving. The hotel also hosts other recreational activities such as a tennis court, squash court and archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bentota Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentota Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.