We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I thought it would have been” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Bentota to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as I thought it would have been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Plus: Great location, great beach, very nice pool, very helpful stuff, good food

Minus: Really bad taste decoration and furniture, plastic seats in bathroom, room not so clean as I would expect, atmosphere of an old hotel

Stayed in much better hotels during my Sri Lanka trip at lower or similar price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    322
    111
    53
    24
See reviews for
280
450
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I visited the Taj Exotica which is south of Colombo which is 90km from the airport but my package had the airport transfer so that was not an issue. The guide was really helpful and he talked proper English. The journey from Colombo to Bentota can be a bit tiring as the distance is too much but also depends on the time of the travel in the day.

Bentota is a beach resort and I would suggest for Families with small children to try this as it is very safe. Breakfast is amazing. The front desk people are not at all good looking which was really bad for a hotel of this class.

Ambiance is really nice as it is very far from all the city traffic and the place is really good. I found the beach and the pool as the best here. Overall a good and cheap place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I had stay in this hotel for three days with my family but it satisfied me to the core and made our vacation unforgottable. This beach resorts has all the rooms facing the sea and also has a good swimming pool again facing the sea. The food served is excellent as well as the services were upto the mark.

If you are planning a trip to srilanka dont miss this destination since it has the best sea view location and very convenient to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Man
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

When me and my mother booked this holiday we were very excited to be staying at the Taj as we have once stayed at the Taj in Goa, Delhi and Colombo. We had high expectations as these previous Taj's were unbeleivable they were trully above 5 * standard. We were highly dissapointed to arrive to a unfriendly welcome demanded to sit at what looked like a travel agent row of desks not offered and drinks after our very tiring 4 hour drive.

We were then shown a standard room which overlooked a communial shower a room of which you could bearly walk in and that smelt of damp. We specifically asked for a sea view room it took 3 attampts before we were shown a room with a small view of the sea. We asked why this took so long they said and i quote ' We put all the English people in standard rooms'.

There is a permitter fence around the hotel dividing the beach from the hotel, looks like a prison. They advise you not to go on beach as is dangerous? We expected like Goa sun lounges on the beach with a bar service, instead if you want a drink you have to go into the pool and swim to the pool bar for a bottle of water.

During our stay we heard 5 other couples complain about various things the response from the management wasto give a free buffet ( not very tasty). The customer service is appauling they were not helpful, rude and were not customer focused.

* Hotel is below 2* standard i would recommend to rent a house up to 3 bedrooms for less than £150 right on the beach at hikadoua 1 hour drive in tuk tuk from Bentota. Local produce is very cheap and locals are very friendly they would give the clothes off their back to help you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is a lovely hotel with well maintained grounds and facilities. The rooms are not quite as expected, whilst clean, the bathrooms are dated and the rooms are not as large or modern as anticipated. The service is excellent with happy and attentive staff. The views are spectacular and there are plenty of sunbeds. Food is good quality but not cheap. The hotel is rather isolated with only a few restaurants nearby. Our daughter was happy but only as she made a friend, otherwise I would say it really is a couples hotel. The hotel is close to a railway and you can hear the train, but not excessively and I guess it depends on your room as to how loud the noise is, we were on the 6th floor and it didn't worry us at all. Lovely spa but again not cheap.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Taj great and friendly, as always. Rooms a bit worn, but still pleasant, spacious, great balcony w seaview. Absolute magnificent beach, but high waves, dangerous sea. Negative on guestside: breakfast buffet excellent, but attitudes like at kids camp. Some guests stuffing food for take-away, returning with full plates three times to their room! Sunbeds around pool "booked" with towels, books, hats, sandals, already before breakfast. Although forbidden by management, nothing was undertaken to stop this nasty habit. One woman occupied two beds at different ends of the pool, "commuting" between both. A real pain in the neck where all the drivers and vendors as soon as you stepped out of the hotel compound, not letting loose even if politely asked to. Taxis a great cheat, starting at airport. One Tuktuk-driver, after wanting to charge us Rs 96 per km, said "jump into the sea" when we did not want him for the day. Fruitvendor on beach off Taj offered "young girls" to my husband if he passed by there on his own. One of our best moments was a visit to the Brief Garden by arch. Bawa. But generally on the island we felt a more resentful than welcoming attitude.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Santo André, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms are great.
Nice poll, but the most amazing is the sea, hot water, small waves at 10mt from de hotel.
Beautiful country, lots of excursions.
Great seafood!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.