We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel but with nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Bentota to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OK hotel but with nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is a lovely hotel with well maintained grounds and facilities. The rooms are not quite as expected, whilst clean, the bathrooms are dated and the rooms are not as large or modern as anticipated. The service is excellent with happy and attentive staff. The views are spectacular and there are plenty of sunbeds. Food is good quality but not cheap. The hotel is rather isolated with only a few restaurants nearby. Our daughter was happy but only as she made a friend, otherwise I would say it really is a couples hotel. The hotel is close to a railway and you can hear the train, but not excessively and I guess it depends on your room as to how loud the noise is, we were on the 6th floor and it didn't worry us at all. Lovely spa but again not cheap.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    358
    121
    55
    26
See reviews for
316
527
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Taj great and friendly, as always. Rooms a bit worn, but still pleasant, spacious, great balcony w seaview. Absolute magnificent beach, but high waves, dangerous sea. Negative on guestside: breakfast buffet excellent, but attitudes like at kids camp. Some guests stuffing food for take-away, returning with full plates three times to their room! Sunbeds around pool "booked" with towels, books, hats, sandals, already before breakfast. Although forbidden by management, nothing was undertaken to stop this nasty habit. One woman occupied two beds at different ends of the pool, "commuting" between both. A real pain in the neck where all the drivers and vendors as soon as you stepped out of the hotel compound, not letting loose even if politely asked to. Taxis a great cheat, starting at airport. One Tuktuk-driver, after wanting to charge us Rs 96 per km, said "jump into the sea" when we did not want him for the day. Fruitvendor on beach off Taj offered "young girls" to my husband if he passed by there on his own. One of our best moments was a visit to the Brief Garden by arch. Bawa. But generally on the island we felt a more resentful than welcoming attitude.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Santo André, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms are great.
Nice poll, but the most amazing is the sea, hot water, small waves at 10mt from de hotel.
Beautiful country, lots of excursions.
Great seafood!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed at the Taj in March for 2 weeks and had a wonderful trip, the hotel was in a lovely position on a very quiet beach. Breakfast was fantastic, Cecil usually served us and was a wonderfully helpful and happy personality. We only ate once in the evening in the hotel that was at the shack which was great. We like to get out and about when travelling so tried most of the local resturants. Mali's resturant which is just outside the main gates over the railway track was fantastic, run by a Swiss-Sri Lankan couple who could not have been friendlier it does great seafood and a fantastic chicken curry. They also put us in touch with a fantastic guide Kumara who took to to Yala national park, the trip was a 2 days and 1 night in which we got to see Elephants, Crocodiles, Monkeys, Peacocks and even the elusive Leopards, it was an amazing experience if a long few days.

We plan to go back to Sri Lanka but would probably stay in a few different places as there is so much to see in this wonderful country although if we ever visit the west coast again we'd definately spend some more time in the Taj.

Anthony and Tania.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael1944
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The Hotel is not 5* as some travel companies would have you believe. Having previously lived in India I would say that it is the equivalent of "Indian 4*" which in Europe would be no more than 3*.

The package offered included breakfast but unfortunately we chose to add dinner to the package at a cost of £19-00 per person per day. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that as we were on a half-board package, dinner should always be taken in the Buffet Restaurant, We could use the other 3 A La Carte Restaurants but the credit towards the meal would only be £6-00 per person. A credit of £12 to £15 would have been acceptable to us but at £6 we felt cheated.

We were not informed of this when booking this package with Kuoni. I know the tour company wants to make a profit, but the price of dinner in the buffet restaurant was only £16.

The holiday was quiet and relaxing apart from 4 days when a crowd of Iranians decended on the place to celebrate their New Year and ruined the tranquility by being noisy and drunk around the pool. The majority of the Europeans moved away from the pool area during this time, but despite complaints by many people the Taj Management did nothing about it.

I would recommend to friends but warn them about the above.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Excellent location. The best beach ever. Golden sand and perfect texture. Walk into 500 feet into sea to hip level water. Awesome
Food is excellent.
Water sports safe and reasonably priced. Snorkel equipment very old otherwise good.

Best place to stay with kids

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed in the Taj Exotica March 2010 had a great time room and hotel comfortable but bathroom in need of TLC as some other parts of the hotel, but the staff are lovely. Especially the housekeeping and activies guy. Beware its quite expensive in the hotel to eat/drink wine v.expensive beer around £2.60. We had b/b and went out of the hotel found a great local lad just outside the hotel where the tuk tuk drivers are ask for SAMPATH - [-]-e-mail - he took us to kandy.elephant sanctuary ,tea factory & galle.ect. and looked after us through our stay. very honest and genuine lad also you must visist his uncle's resturant Diya Sisila for a true authentic Sri Lankan meal. his name is Nandana . You have to book in advance and there is no alcohol license but you can take your own. he is also very honest and lovely man.Other places to eat Susanthans, Amal's & Malli's. Cheapest drinks we found was Susanthans you can walk from hotel and cross over the rail tracks on the right about half way down.
We gave our money to the locals has they are still trying to recover from the Tsunami and came back making real friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.