We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Bentota to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

i always wanted to go to this place it did not disappoint me at all. nice location just by the beach comfortable rooms only disappointing thing was when i heard we have to pay to use internet even though i always use my mobile to surf net i think it might be a bit of a put off to overseas stayers who want to use skype and stuff to talk home when every little hotel has free internet. breakfast was awesome big variety of food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota and sharing your feedback about your hotel experiences.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and you were happy with the hotel and its services.

We hope to resolve the issue regarding WIFI shortly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    320
    111
    53
    24
See reviews for
280
448
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Taj oh taj wherever they built hotel they perfectly know how to provide its guest a perfect luxurious amenities. Taj is no exception surrounded by lush green rain forest with one side sea and caring staff really a awesome experience, for a perfect calm and luxurious holiday it is best and best

Room Tip: Most of the rooms i think are sea facing try to stay in sea facing room but after seeing the red fla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you sending us your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. My Horticulture and Landscaping team are encouraged by your comments about the hotel premises and thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel looks very nice. The room was big and functional, with quite little balcony. Service very good, and fast. Swimming pool well maintenance, nice choice of food. The hotel is worth recommendation. For the family with kids, are perfect- as a Taj they are very flexible and willing to prepare all the dishes for the baby due your instructions.
The only minus was, that outside hotel there is not much to do, do if you are planning to spend couple of days within the hotel facility only- Bentota is perfect for this purpouse.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for writing to us and sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota

We are delighted to note that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for complimenting the hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week with the whole family and even though i had the courtesy to write in advance they couldnt give us adjacent rooms.

decent rooms and the property is more 4 star than actually 5 star (the rebranding to Vivanta should have been a give away) however the staff more than make up for it.

Chef Sunny (Satyanarayan actually) was very courteous and seemed to be in every corner of the hotel which i guess is what an exec chef should do.

Food in the main coffee shop and the fine dining was very good. At the Shack which serves only freshly caught seafood it was absolutely divine while at the chinese restaurant it was downright awful - more sino-ludhiyana than actual Cantonese

the beach though is not crowded and absolutely lovely....simply unspoilt and worth the cost of rooms anyway.

Another thing that makes this unique is the towel art that the housekeepers make each day without fail..... the pig and the hanging monkey were the best


And finally when, oh lord WHEN will the management read the customer reviews and provide free wifi..... when you charge upwards of 200$ a room it cant be asking for much.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your views about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

First of all my sincere apologies for not being able to provide inter-connecting rooms fo your choice. During high occupancies it is sometimes difficult to accommodate requests however happy to note that you were given adjacent rooms.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed The Palms restaurant and the Shack - our seafood restaurant. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our Chinese Restaurant. We have a Chinese Chef who specializes in Schewan cuisine. I have informed the Chef about your observations.

Chef Satyanarayan is an asset to our organization and he takes great pride in ensuring that all the guests have a memorable stay with us. He is encouraged and delighted by your compliments and thanks you for the same.

We hope to resolve the WIFI issue soon and we thank you for your patience and understanding.

We thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was excellent, and I must congratulate the manager Manoj Mathew.From the moment we stepped inside this modern ,friendly,and clean hotel we were treated extremely well and nothing to was too much trouble for the Manager and his lovely Staff. We loved the location, our room 603, the view, the restaurants, the bar,the spa, the pool, the room service and just about everything else. I have hesitation in recommending this hotel.It was our anniversary and they made the day very special for us. Special mentions must go to Vaishali Chatterjee the housekeeper and Sisil in the palm restaurant. We had a lovely stay thank you.

Room Tip: Our room 603 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and also for sharing your experiences about your recent stay with us. We were glad that we could be part of your Anniversary celebrations.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the services and facilities at the hotel. Ms Vaishali Chatterjee adn Sisil were encouraged and delighted by your compliments and we thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Describing Beauty that too with Class is as difficult as walking on Water . Vevanta by taj is such a God's meeting point, where u get world class hospitality. yummy Indain foods with range of selctions, lightning fast room service. Good clean hotel, with individual balcony all faciing Sea. world class swiming pool. and a well trained, staff , they never let ur mind diveret , in the night the song of sea water keeps ur miind releax. if there is any award it should be given to the Taj Group for these Property. My text dictionry is virtually strugling how to pen down my feelings, if u want to enjoy , releax, once in life time should visit Bentota and Stay at Taj, i would be definatly planning for next year again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: try to stay at second floor. so u are more nerar to beach and swiming pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you also for your generous compliments. My team of Associates, Managers & Chefs take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Vivanta by Taj (used to be called Taj hotel & resort few years ago) is located in very good location at Bentota sealine.

This resort offers all you need and wish to have whenever you decide to spend a vacation on one of the best beaches in the world, it offers a typical Indian theme that makes you feel as if you like in Taj Mahal in India and it gives you the real meaning of its brand name.

hotel facilities are very good and you can find whatever you are looking for, the staff are well experienced and they are very helpful and kind.

one of the remarkable features is the Spa, that is located outside the hotel near the beach (still in side the hotel land). that offers you a unique Indian therapy and message that is managed by well experienced certified physiotherapist that sets with you and explain every single feature and service provided there with a great nice smile.

Room Tip: ask for sea view rooms/suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your views through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our hotel and its services.

Our internationally acclaimed JIVA SPA is enjoyed by most of our guests and we thank you for your compliments.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.