We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Bentota to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have recently returned from 7 nights at the Taj.
The food was excellent, we eat most nights in the Palms which served buffet style food, there was a wide and different choice each night.
The pool and the beach were beautiful and my son played in them all day.
My only complaint is the chargeable WiFi I find it difficult to understand how a hotel of this standard could possibly still charge, none of the other hotels in Sri Lanka which we stayed in did and I struggle to remember the last hotel I stayed in anywhere did!
Jon and Sian R

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanking you for sharing your feedback during your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. The hotel is stunningly located and it has one of the best beaches in the region.

We have noted your observations regarding the WIFI and assure you that this issue is being resolved soon.

We thank you once gain for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    320
    111
    53
    24
See reviews for
280
448
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went along with another family and stayed for 2 nights. The stay was great. Food was very nice and the Chef INFACT made many dishes of our liking.
The location is simply fantastic. The staff are very, very co-operative.
All in all it was the best part of our stay in Srilanka.

Any one who has stayed at Taj Bentota, I guess would see no exaggeration in what I have stated.

I don't know If I will go again to SRILANKA, but if I go, would like to stay at this place.

Prahlad

Room Tip: Any room closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you and your friends had a memorable stay with us. Our Chefs that you for your compliments. They are always ready to ensure that each and every guest has a great meal experience. This hotel is one of the few hotels in the region which offers four dining options for our guests.

We thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

As part of a 2 week March Sri Lankan holiday, we spent the second week at the Vivanta. Having previously stayed at this well appointed & located hotel soon after the Tsunami, my partner was keen to return as part of a special birthday celebration. We were definitely not disappointed. Our sea facing room was excellent: spacious, modern and very well furnished with a particularly well appointed bathroom. Without exception, all the management and staff we met were efficient, friendly and keen to offer the very highest service levels possible. Even wonderful birthday surprises - flower bouquet, cake, special bed decorations!. A la carte restaurant dining was superb for choice, quality & service. We really enjoyed our return stay and would most highly recommend the Vivanta to anyone wanting 5* quality & service in a great Sri Lankan beach location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are glad you have liked the renovated hotel especially the renovated rooms. We are getting excellent reviews from most of our guests who have stayed in these rooms.

Our Associates, Chefs and Managers are our greatest asset and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times. They are encouraged by your observations and thank you for your compliments.

We thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this property. From the first impression I got upset. Lack of service from the bell desk itself. Rude staff, No smiles and greetings at all, its like we are staying free for them. Lack of attention in the dinning area, need to beg for a fill up. The only thing that I like is the turn-down service. Horrible service for a good property like this.

Room Tip: @nd floor rooms are good, less noisy, see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We returned in February from 2 weeks in Sri Lanka for our belated honeymoon. My Grandfather was born in Colombo in 1894 however no one from the family had been to this beautiful Island. I am not going to have enough words to describe what a wonderful time we had, we did tell Trailfinders it was our 'honeymoon' although slightly embarrassed as we are an older couple and second time around, it was worth it. We were treated like royalty everywhere we went, we stayed in 5 hotels and each and every one was lovely and got better and better culminating in Vivanta for our last 4 nights....pure luxury! We had towel art on our bed everyday, fresh fruit, fresh flowers, cake and candles all left in our room each and every time we went out. The room was fresh, clean and beautiful overlooking the garden on the 4th floor. The bed was huge and very comfortable we slept exceptionally well. The grounds are gorgeous, the hotel is beautifully decorated, reception is outstanding. The Palm Restaurant was delicious and staff very kind and attentive. We only ate once in the Chinese restaurant it was pleasant but too quiet. The swimming pool was the nicest I have experienced. I even joined in the water aerobics and got a proper work out! The only slight suggestion is more sun loungers around the pool, the pool attendants are very helpful but there is not enough at peak times, my husband wanted to go in the shade and they suggested under a tree but this was not acceptable to a very rude german woman who protested very loudly that we were too close and embarrassed herself. It was quiet and pleasant round the pool more adults few children which suited us very well. The beach was nice but beggars on the beach sit in the trees watching you then come out with a bag of goods. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for a honeymoon, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are honored and privileged that you chose Vivanta by Taj Bentota for your celebrations and we are delighted to note that you had a memorable experience.

This hotel is stunningly located and we have received excellent reviews after the hotel renovations were completed. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed the hotel and its services.

Thank you for your observations regarding the sun loungers by the poolside and a need for more privacy for the couples. We are looking into the possibilities of resolving the same. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We thank you once again for your generous compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at the Vivanta with a group of friends.
We had a wonderful room (109), although, not all my friends had that chance.

The bed was so comfy and the room very well decorated.

Funny that at night: we couldnt watch all the TV channels!

The swimming pool was nice. The breakfast was really good. We also had lunch and dinner at the hotel and we had a great time.

The staff is very nice.

Room Tip: Room 109 was really great: nice furniture and well decorated! At the opposit, room 414 was not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your impressions about Vivanta by Taj Bentota during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to note that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and that you liked our services and facilities.

The hotel has four different categories of rooms and occasionally during high season some of the guests do get upgraded because of non-availability of a certain category. Our apologies for the inconvenience that you faced regarding TV transmission on one of the nights.

Thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

It was an enjoyable stay. The location is accessible to nearby places. Although the hotel is located on a beautiful beach, but cannot swim in the sea because of the high waves, however it has a beautiful sandy beach.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.