We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Bentota to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Malaga
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

From the moment you walk into the Hotel until the moment you leave you feel very special!
The rooms are spacious and have wonderful views every detail has been well thought out.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and that you for your compliments and recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    320
    111
    53
    24
See reviews for
280
446
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as the last leg of our 'beach' holiday. We'd previously stayed in a cheaper hotel for 3 nights so we could end up at this one and we weren't disappointed!
Driving up to the hotel you think 'hooray we chose a good one' and then seeing the big atrium reception area and being given a frangipani flower necklace just tops it off. We had a garden view room which I thought meant we would be on one side of the hotel with the sea view on the other side, what it actually meant is we were jut a bit lower down, i.e. the top floors had the sea view - however this was no problem whatsoever and we could still see the sea. The room itself was lovely, very spacious and airy and air conditioning control which mean that you programme a temperature you want and the air con just goes on and off whenever it needs to maintain that temperature - brilliant!
The pool is on the third floor and is fantastic as it gives amazing views of the beach down below with palm trees fringing the view. There are plenty of sun loungers and free fruit kebabs in the morning. There's a table tennis area - with the best view ever overlooking the beach, not bad for a quick game of ping pong!
The Palms restaurant where breakfast is served is also lovely, great range of foods during the buffet at all times of day - lots of Sri Lankan curries but plenty of 'continental' food too - and decent stuff - not a chip/fry in site!
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed this little bit of luxury at the end of our stay. There were plenty of staff who were all extremely friendly and activities such as magic show, fish feeding, volleyball, etc arranged throughout the day to keep you entertained. We would definitely visit again and would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We booked with booking.com and just got the cheapest room - the deluxe garden view. I honestly would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at our resort.

We are delighted to note that you and your family had a memorable stay with us and we thank you for your compliments and recommendations.

Taj Group of hotels continues to increase its presence internationally because of the support and encouragement that we receive from patrons like you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The whole family agreed that we would come again.
We stayed six nights at Vivanta by Taj Bentota and it was really a good experience.
Initially we were given the wrong room, but it was corrected so we got the right room overlooking the Indian Ocean and with private jacuzzi on the balcony.
The service at this hotel is excellent, and the food in the main buffet restaurant is a delight for both children and adults.
We enjoyed our holiday at this hotel, which we plan to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note you and your family had a great vacation and we are thrilled to note that you would be coming back again. This hotel is quite unique in many ways and it is blessed by patrons like you who keep back year after year. We always look forward to such guests.

We are also happy to note that you have liked our newly renovated rooms and the All day Dining Restaurant - The Palms. The Chefs are delighted to note that the whole family enjoyed the meal experience. We thank you for your compliments.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Vivanta by Taj Bentota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

If you're Planningto visit Sri Lanka then this hotel could be one of your choices.
The hotel is spacious with a beautiful lobby & great friendly staff that were happy to assist us wherever we go.
Rooms are very chic but be carefully not to choose any room on the lower levels because the humidity in the lower levels could make you suffocate !!!
I spent 1 night on a room on the lower levels & to tell you the truth I wasn't even able to breath nor sleep & the first thing I did in the next morning is to ask for a different room.
Food is beautiful, you'll enjoy a wide selection of international cuisine.
The hotel could be a bit boring at night because there's no much activities to be done.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about Vivanta by Taj Bentota during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for your compliments and recommendations. Taj Group of hotels continues to grow internationally because of the support and encouragement that we receive from patrons like you.

We have noted your observations regarding the ground floor rooms. Presently we enjoy very high occupancies when all our rooms gets occupied and we do not normally get such observations. I have asked my Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper to look into the matter. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Our Chefs are delighted by your compliments and we will definitely look at ways to make the evening livelier!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Spent the last three nights here at the end of the island tour. On arrival it really looks like a 5 star property, upgraded to a larger room, clean and a good position, think I would say the room was more on the lower 4 star range. Pool area was really great. Half board again so had a good breakfast and dinner, dining room was very nice. Think it was rude that they charged for internet as all the smaller hotels on this trip did not. Nice visit over all, not too much to see in town so a nice place just to stay on the property.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank your for your comments regarding the hotel and its services.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, during our round trip. The hotel is very big, but nicely located overlooking the sea. The rooms, if you get a renovated one you are lucky, are nice with a balcony. As we heard, they are rooms, which are not renovated, and they seem to be quite old and not very comfortable. The main Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner is not very cosy. The buffet for breakfast is ok, but not outstanding. If the Restaurant is full, it is very nosy and not very comfortable. We had dinner at the chinese restaurant, which was very good!

Room Tip: Try to thet a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about the hotel and it services.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. All our rooms are either renovated or refurbished. The refurbished rooms have a charm of their own more so because they also have excellent view from the rooms.We are glad you like the Deluxe Delight rooms.

We have noted with concern about your comments regarding the food and beverage and assure you that our Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage Manager have already working on your concerns. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel with its location on a fantastic beach in Bentota overlooking the Indian Ocean was a great place for few days to unwind after a busy tour of Sri Lanka. Restaurants were a particular feature and although we were on half board, we were able to use the Oriental Restaurant and Sea View Restaurant as well as the excellent buffet restaurant which overlooks the pool. The staff were very helpful, especially sorting out an alternative when the airport transfer booked by our tour company for 4am didn't turn up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

Thank you also for selecting Vivanta by Taj Bentota as the last destination during your trip to Sri Lanka. We are delighted to note you have enjoyed your stay with us. Because we have four food and beverage restaurants we offer the option of "Dine -around" so that our guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines without having to travel around. Our Chefs were delighted by your compliments and we thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.