We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly what one would expect from a Taj Property!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Save Saved
You added Vivanta by Taj - Bentota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Bentota
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Not exactly what one would expect from a Taj Property!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Quite a run down property it was. Guess the renovation was long overdue! The room was spacious but the quality of flooring was certainly not what one expects from a Taj property. The service was average but the poolside buffet was really nice. It's right on the beach and the room had a nice view too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Since you last visit the property has undergone major changes both in the product offerings and services.

You will be happy to note that we the renovation is nearing completion. We now have a lobby with a new look, a tastefully done up All Day Diner and a new swimming pool. All the 160 rooms are being renovated and we have got great reviews about our product and services.

We are always striving to ensure that our guests are offered the very best and I am sure this beautifully located resort will continue to be the most sought after destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    279
    102
    51
    23
See reviews for
241
385
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visiting during high season is exorbitant. To add insult to injury, an extra charge is paid for internet access. The hotel has a 70/80s style marble and dark wood hotel. The pool is large but strangely entirely shallow...breakfast buffet is ok but unnecessarily hectic with too many different attendants ..attending to you. The rooms are kept at an arctic temperature so that when the AC is reduced, humidity forms and the room becomes a wet hammam. What to say, the hotel would be fine if it were positioned as a nice four star hotel and priced appropriately..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for for feedback about our hotel. As you are aware, the hotel is undergoing major renovations and it is in the final stages of completion. We have received excellent reviews on our finished ares.

The swimming pool depth is 1.2 meters ( 4 ft). As per international safety norms all hotel pools are advised to maintain this depth for the safety of its guests. The safety and security of our guests are of prime importance to us. Our rooms are installed with thermostats so that the temperatures can be controlled as per individual requirements. We are sorry that you found it too cold. The rooms tend to get wet if the doors or windows are accidentally kept open when the air-conditioner is on. We will ensure that all future guests are advised about the same.

Once again thank you for sending us your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

My team joins me in wishing you a very happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk , UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have just returned from Vivanta by Taj Bentota Sri Lanka , and despite all the construction work being carried out , dont let that put you off! We had a fantastic time , the staff and management , made us most welcome , they were all professional and sensitive to our needs .The food and level of service was excellent .
We did not get disturbed in any way by the construction , and cant wait until we return .
The hotel is looking great and should be a shinning example to the area when completed.
Well done Taj & Thank you.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room preferably on one of the top floors when they are finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Compliments of the Season!

My Team is delighted to note that you had a delightful stay with us. We strive to ensure that the hotel is a"Home away from home" for patrons like you who stay for us for more than a week. Our chefs are trained to ensure that they customize the cuisine to preferences of our guests. I will definitely pass on the compliments that you have so generously bestowed on our team who are always striving for service excellence.

You will be happy to note that the brand new swimming pool is now open and the All Day Diner over-looking the pool and the Indian Ocean will be open very shortly

We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights after travelling round Sri lank it was great hotel. We really liked the hotel is one of best properties of the Taj group. Our experience in the hotel is memorable right from the check in to the check out process.the hotel is getting constructed by theway
Bookings :
Booked a 5 day Srilanka package from Srilankatravelhouse.com .They , as known, give decent hospitality & offer good tours to Srilanka.Ours ws nt a costly package nevertheless very good.Bookings shud be done as early as possible for low flight tickets
Location wise:
The hotel is at 3 hours distance from the airport. It is located on one of the finest beaches of Indian Ocean. The beach is very nice place for relaxing during the day and the sunset view will make up for most of what is missing.
Room wise:
We stayed in Deluxe delight which is spacious and comfortable room offering uninterrupted views of Indian Ocean. The room is accompanied by a private balcony which accommodates a tea table. All three days we enjoyed our morning tea in the balcony viewing the fresh new waves coming towards the hotel. The room was very well furnished; no extra furniture was placed in the room. So the room doesn’t look clumsy.
Food wise:
Breakfast was complimentary in our room charges. For breakfast there was buffet and food spread was good. But we were little disappointed after having lunch in the hotel restaurant. It was too costly and the taste was not of that level. So we had all other meals outside the hotel.
Enjoyment wise:
The hotel offers various facilities for your enjoyment. They have well maintained gym with the instructor so you can go and work during your free time. There is swimming pool with sun beds all along the length and a pool bar is also there. The hotel also offers sightseeing tours on the elephant, adventure water sports, boat ride through splendid mangroves and many more. We tried some of them and fully enjoyed.
Hence the place is recommendable for the stay. We really enjoyed these three days in this hotel truly a place for fun lovers with very good staff and remarkable hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us. We are delighted to note that you were happy with the products and services. As you rightly mentioned, the renovation of the hotel is in the final stages. The hotel will soon boast of a new swimming pool, All day Diner, Bar and 160 fully renovated rooms.
We have noted your comments regarding the the lunch offerings and assure you that we always strive to keep the best interest of our guests as our top priority.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

My team joins me in wishing you the compliments of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Its simply the best place to stay in Bentota. The staff is very co-operative, pleasant and friendly. The managers take special note of your requirements. The rooms are lovely and spacious. and the facilities they provide are simply amazing. The Spa is one of the best! if there, you must try their lovely herbal tea!!
the beach is just next to the hotel and the sea view from the room is simply breath taking!
in whole a great experience and a wonderful place. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your compliments about our newly renovated rooms and the the Jiva SPA. We are delighted to note that you were happy with your stay here.

You are happy to inform you that we will soon be offering a brand new swimming pool and a beautiful and renovated All Day Diner which overlooks the pool and the picturesque ocean.

We look forward to your next visit.

My team at Vivanta by Taj Bentota joins me in wishing you the compliments of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went while there were ongoing works to modernise the building
Overall it was pleasant stay with minimal noise from the construction.

Positives
The staff were very helpful
Food were reasonable but slighty limited
Nice sea view rooms
Good spa and gym
Rooms prices were excellent value (Likely to off season and construction works)

Negative
Paid WIFI can only be used by one person at a time
Due to ongoing works only one restaurant was open
Rooms were in need of modernisation

I would recommend this hotel once the modernisation are complete

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us and for your candid observations. I team is always proactive in providing the best of service at all times.

You will be happy to note that the hotel renovations will be over shortly and the resort will now be please to offers a new swimming pool, bar , all day dining with all rooms renovated tastefully.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Vivanta by Taj Bentota would also like to wish you and your family the compliments of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

all d rooms are sea facing and it has a fascinating pool and pool bar from where u can enjoy d scenic beauty. the breakfast is awesome and it has its own private beach. they also do have a pool for kids too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us. We are delighted to note that you are happy with the Resort and its services.

We look forward to your next visit.

Here's also wishing you and your family compliments of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.