We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be excellent once construction are complete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Bentota to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will be excellent once construction are complete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went while there were ongoing works to modernise the building
Overall it was pleasant stay with minimal noise from the construction.

Positives
The staff were very helpful
Food were reasonable but slighty limited
Nice sea view rooms
Good spa and gym
Rooms prices were excellent value (Likely to off season and construction works)

Negative
Paid WIFI can only be used by one person at a time
Due to ongoing works only one restaurant was open
Rooms were in need of modernisation

I would recommend this hotel once the modernisation are complete

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us and for your candid observations. I team is always proactive in providing the best of service at all times.

You will be happy to note that the hotel renovations will be over shortly and the resort will now be please to offers a new swimming pool, bar , all day dining with all rooms renovated tastefully.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Vivanta by Taj Bentota would also like to wish you and your family the compliments of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    359
    121
    55
    26
See reviews for
318
527
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

all d rooms are sea facing and it has a fascinating pool and pool bar from where u can enjoy d scenic beauty. the breakfast is awesome and it has its own private beach. they also do have a pool for kids too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us. We are delighted to note that you are happy with the Resort and its services.

We look forward to your next visit.

Here's also wishing you and your family compliments of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is my second time in one year at Taj Bentota; the first was in April 2012 and the second is on 21 till 24 November. During my first trip, the construction was on but really unnoticed with almost all recreation activities available. This time, construction was on full swing and really the hotel was not what I hoped it will be. The staff are the jewels of this hotel as they were so helpful the minute we entered till the minute we left the hotel. The food quality and presentation was superb and the room we got was one of those renovated ones and was quite nice. However, the construction work never stopped day and night and if we did not keep the AC fan on maximum, probably we would not have. Had a sleep as the banging never stopped. Swimming pool was under construction and the garden that lead to beach was really not welcoming with so much construction activities going on. It is a potty that the hotel had an excellent area to set up sun beds near the gate next to the conference area as no construction was happening there but they chose not to do so. We ended up using the pool and other facilities of near by hotels at extra cost, but we had no choice, otherwise our short break would have been ruined.
On their defense, the staff were excellent, the pool once finished will be beautiful (I saw its shape and setting as I think in one or two months it will be done), the spa is really good although the female therapist was not available at that time and my wife had to use only limited therapy with them. I think they should have just shutdown the facility fully as it is not exactly practical to stay with them now and that would have helped them to finish the construction work faster and would have allowed them to maintain their clients.
Final verdict, avoid them now but in few months, I am sure it will be the real Taj I know of and I hope the staff will continue to be as welcoming, professional, and pleasant as they were with us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of giving your candid feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused due to the ongoing renovation work. We are happy to inform you the the renovation work will be over very soon and the hotel will be offering a new All Day Diner, new Bar, new swimming pool and 160 renovated rooms. We thank you for your patience and understanding.

We are delighted to note that you were happy with the services of my team. I am very proud of our self-motivated professionals who are always striving for service excellence.

We look for welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Our stay is a memorable one. A hotel just on the beach but still calm, far away from the madness of our city. I enjoyed lonely walk on beach. A friend of mine who visited Bentota couple of years back recommended us Taj as we are vegetarians and it is hard to get vegetarian food in Bentota. We had wonderful food all days at the hotel. Friendly staff made our stay fantastic and memorable. Though it rained on all days when we were there, we made sure we visited surrounding places.

Hope the renovation gets over soon so other facilities would also be ready.

Room Tip: Ideally sea facing rooms on first and above floors. But even the ground floor also has good sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your gracious comments. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our Chefs who offer cuisines from all over the world. No request is small for us and we take great pride in providing a great experience.

We will be completing the renovations shortly and we look forward to welcoming you back to a great fully renovated hotel with many dining options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Did a two week tour of Sri Lanka early October, a bit late in writing this review, due to other travels, however stayed two of those 2 weeks at Taj Bentota, and have to say overall it was a fantastic experience. The staff were welcoming and very service oriented however not too intruding at the same time. Any request was taken care of almost immediately, and nothing to too much trouble. The reception staff had an issue with the booking, but were very apologetic, and took care of it instantly. The restaurants are okay, and the so is the almost private like beach. However, a single life guard there needs to get in line with the friendliness of the rest of the staff. The renovation was a bit of a hassle, however we were warned of this before the booking, and the staff, made sure that we got a room as far away from that wing as possible at that time. At first thought of construction going on thought that it might be a bit of a privacy issue in a destination hotel like this, but they were hardly visible. Overall a great experience, and will definitely return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble and writing about your experiences at our hotel. We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota. You will be happy to note that we are in the final phase of renovations and we will be able to offer a great contemporary luxurious resort very soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very friendly hotel. Lovely staff. Excellent room service. Lovely holiday.
Room upgrade amd cake for our anniversary. Good choice of food on buffet including several differemt curries. A la carte restaurant very good although we could only use it once every week.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in sending your feedback about our hotel. We are delighted to note that you are happy with the and its service. Our chefs have been trained to cater to the international clientele. You would be happy to note that after our renovations, this hotel will have more dining options for our guests and will offer contemporary rooms with a beautiful view of the oceans and the long inviting beaches.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just done a 10 day tour of Sri Lanka with Thomas Cook and ended up at the Vivanta at Bentota for 2 nights. As it was our 30th anniversary we prebooked to stay an additional 3 days. We were made aware of the renovation work by Thomas Cook but were informed that it would just about be over by the end of October, just minor workings- painting etc. to the drilling noises as it lasts till well into the evening. We were told they stopped drilling at 6pm, The workmen will then be welding until 10pm! It will be a beautiful hotel when the renovations have been completed, but why allow guests to frequent the hotel when they risk getting hit by rubble.

Room Tip: Ask for one not near the train line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us. We share your concern about the agent not informing you about the scope of renovation while making the reservation. The hotel constantly sends detailed updates on the renovation works to all the agents and to individuals who write directly to us. We will also take the matter up with the concerned agent.
You have my assurance that all safety and security standards are maintained during renovations and there are frequents audits to ensure compliance.
We give top priority to safety and security at work place so that our guest have no cause for concern.
Once the renovations are over, we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.