We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saman Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saman Villas to your Saves list
Saman Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding anniversary luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Saman Villas more than lived up to our expectations - it was a discrete haven of luxury tucked away down an inconspicuous drive but located in a wonderful position overlooking the beach. We were definitely spoilt during our 7 night stay - the food was high quality and served with style. We had planned to eat out most of the time during our stay, but having experienced a couple of indifferent meals at other local (recommended) restaurants, we came to the rapid conclusion that the restaurant at Saman Villas was a cut above anything else and priced competitively. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    63
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
354
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madinah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel deserves to be called the most gorgeous, the beginning of the reception and quickly ending the proceedings, the calm that prevails place (only the sound of the waves crash).
Staff at the very kindness.
I had a problem with eating (I am a Muslim, and do not want to put wine in food during cooking) were very helpful, where I meet the chef (Emir) and view the problem, where the implementation of what I want and also offered to cook chicken (halal) per day next.
Thank you for the happiness you have spent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radlett
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Saman Villas, then took an inland trip to a Tea Trails hotel in Norwood for 3 nights (see seperate review) and came back to Saman for a further 7 nights. Our whole experience in Sri Lanka was wonderful, especially at Saman; we've travelled extensively throughout the Far East over 30 years and ALL the staff at Saman were amongst the very best we've met. From the moment we arrived till when we left they were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. I would like to mention Nirosha (front desk), Indika (pool), Krishanta and all the restaurant teams, and finally Cyril, with whom I had a few interesting conversations.
The food both at breakfast and dinner was first class and surprisingly good value for money (for a hotel of this class) and the villas were always spotlessly clean, with nice touches like daily fresh fruit and endless supply of bottled water.
To help celebrate our 25th Wedding anniversary, the staff laid on a lovely complimentary dinner at the infinity pool gazebo and we also had a few special spa treatments.
We will definately return to Sri Lanka and Saman Villas soon. One very small gripe which may be outside the management's control; the beaches either side of the hotel would be even more pristine if they were free from all the litter and rubbish that gets washed up (or left behind by tourists). Im sure the local government (or all the other hotels and restaurants in this area) could be 'persuaded' to do something.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

An unassuming sign, a small drive way, a snug car park.... but from that point it is a truly unique experience. Both times we stayed we got ground floor rooms which had an enclosed plunge pool. I would recommend it to any on their honeymoon. hardly saw other guest. There is a no children policy and I totally agree with it. it is truly a way to get a way from it ALL. They don't have their own beach strip but there are long beaches on either side...

The pvt pools are heated and we were able truly enjoy it when it began to rain late one evening when we were in the main pool and made a run for our room only to find the plunge pool nice and warm....

If you are looking for fun, excitement and recreational activities Saman Villas is NOT the place.
Good place to enjoy with your partner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Where to start....this hotel is one, if not the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. We booked a room with a pool and it was stunning. The view from our room overlooking the beach and rocks was breathtaking and our own private infinity pool to cool off in was pretty special.

The rooms are spacious, airy and spotless. The open air bathroom with huge freestanding bath and rain shower are pure luxury.

Then there is the food! We both tried some of the curries off the menu which were Devine. I had read other reviews on here which mentioned the coconut icecream
so ordered it for dessert, trust the reviews on this it is delicious! As for breakfast..literally 4 courses, fruit platter, cereal, pancakes or waffles and then egg, bacon etc.

Despite the high room tarrif the food and drinks were very reasonable with a main course around 1,300 rupees.

Regrettably we only stayed here 2 nights and I wish we had stayed longer it is pure luxury, quiet, refined and the location and views are stunning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I checked in to the Saman Villas Bentota on June 24, 2013 for 5 nights. We chose the property based on the description on the website and a good review in Lonely Planet. While it was the low season, we expected the tariff of almost US$ 300 per suite per night to be justified by great facilities and service. We looked forward to being pampered and taken care of by warm and caring hosts at the resort.

First of all, the good bits - the resort has a fabulous location with picturesque views, the swimming pool is very nice as well and the suites are very well maintained and tastefully decorated. While we had a bit of an issue finding the property initially (the sign board was being repaired), our check-in was pleasant and we were shown our suite immediately. The billing process itself was not very smooth - but the staff member involved was courteous enough to apologize later. The servers and cleaners were polite and well-behaved. We tried the spa - it was very clean and well maintained; the massage itself was very average.

As for the negatives, we were not happy with the breakfast - both in terms of options and quantities. We like making a cup of tea for ourselves while we are on holiday to avoid interacting with room service staff all the time - that was not an option here. We had booked a sedan for a day trip to Galle, we were provided with a van after a 45 minute delay (the delay was denied later by senior management). The overall feeling I have from my interaction with the resort manager and the senior management is an overwhelming lack of warmth coupled with arrogance stemming from the overwhelmingly positive reviews.

Let the traveler beware!

Room Tip: While the deluxe suites with swimming pools seem awesome, there is not much privacy as the superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, General Manager - Marketing & Operations at Saman Villas, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We thank the reviewer for their recent stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

Thank you for commending the hotels location, views, swimming pool and our suites.

With regard to the reviewers comment about breakfast, we would like to mention that we offer a selection of 4 types; Sri Lankan, Slim & Trim, American and Continental. The reviewer was entitled to choose their preferred choice daily. The items offered at breakfast are plentiful and guests have the option of ordering extra portions of your daily breakfast choice at no additional cost.

Saman Villas is Sri Lanka’s first boutique hotel and first full service hotel to open as early as 1995. From the very inception we never resorted to offering tea/ coffee making facilities in rooms or buffet type meals. We certainly do not want our guests getting involved in mundane activities such as making tea/coffee on their holiday when we have staff to provide that service. Sri Lanka probably produces the best orthodox tea in the world, originally introduced by the British. Now, for convenience of use a new process (CTC) has been developed, which is usable in tea bags. Orthodox tea has to be brewed and it is the ultimate in quality. We take so much of care in offering a good cup of tea and we simply do not want to offer our guests cheap CTC tea in tea bags. Our coffee comes from selected beans and to give our guests the best we grind daily the day’s requirement, to ensure the coffee is fresh; this again cannot be achieved from coffee sachets.

The reviewer obtained transportation prices from the reception and had requested for a vehicle to be arranged. Our tour and vehicle hire services are outsourced to some of the village transport providers and they operate on turns. Since the reviewer did not specifically request for a car, the hotel had arranged an available vehicle which was on the turn. The vehicle had arrived on 10 minutes prior to the scheduled time and there were was no such 45 minute delay as stated by the reviewer.

All most every guest who has stayed at Saman Villas with the exception of a very few, have recognized and our personal care and warmth of service. We regret to note that the reviewer was dissatisfied with their stay as the hotel was not able to comply with some of their requests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon - it was without a doubt the highlight of our trip. We stayed in one of the upper suites and found the ocean view perfect for enjoying the sunsets each night. The resort is very small with a lot of personal attention from staff who promote a sense of peace and tranquility in this haven. The infinity pool is everything you've read about and we spent many a happy hour swimming about in it. On the wednesday there was a modern Sri Lankan dance evening which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food and staff's english were first rate - totally unrivalled on our 3 week holiday.
We loved borrowing DVDs from their library though a couple were scratched so ended before the film was meant to. However, not a big deal.
The resort was by no means full and is a very couply romantic getaway - the care and attention paid to guests is outstanding. We ventured out for dinner one evening which made us realise it's well worth splashing out a little extra to make the most of this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman Villas

Address: Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#1 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saman Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saman Villas is laid out on a magnificent rocky headland dividing two long, surf-swept golden beaches. Close by is a sleepy fishing village but you would not know it, the only sounds are sea gulls' cries and the surf below. The resort is inspired by ancient Sri Lankan architecture. The restaurants, bars and villa suites are all angled to take full advantage of the sea shore vista either side of the headland. A terraced garden draws the eye to a dramatic infinity-edge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saman Villas Hotel Bentota
Saman Hotel Aturuwella
Saman Resort Aturuwella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saman Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.