We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saman Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saman Villas to your Saves list
Saman Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived here after 2 weeks touring Sri Lanka with the intention of relaxing before our return to Aus and it is an ideal place to do just that.Perched on the point with views both ways along the coast it provides a haven from bustling Sri Lanka .We enjoyed the welcome bottle of champagne and fresh fruit from our balcony.We had a room near the restaurant and as you sat inside it almost had the feeling of being on a boat as you look out the window and only could see ocean.The bathroom is open air and spacious.Some rooms have a pool but as they have rooms above them,hence limiting privacy and the the main pool was only ever used by 2-3 couples at a time I don't think the rooms with a pool are worth the extra expense .The infinity pool is one of best I had seen as you are siting your lounge the ocean hits the rocks below and provides the ellusion of a continuation of the pool.The open air restaurant has meals of very high quality and although dearer than anywhere else we stayed were still good value.We ventured to Hikkaduwa for a look and a drink and also when to a nearby seafood restaurant called Wundarbar,both in a tuk tuk and enjoyed both.My only complaint is there was no tea or coffee provided in the rooms ,but you could order one per day via room service.The staff were always helpfully and friendly.Its a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    71
    21
    5
    9
See reviews for
45
405
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Saman Villas and it was my favourite part of my trip to Sri Lanka. So quiet and peaceful, located on the edge of the hill overlooking the ocean. It was not near other restaurants so if you wanted to go out you would need a taxi or Tuk Tuk, but I didn't see that as a bad thing, it was nice to have a private sanctuary, everything you need is on site. Some villas had private pools but the infinity pool overlooking the ocean is huge and lovely to swim in. We stayed in a superior villa and it was spacious, and the bathroom was open air ... just stunning.

Complimentary champagne and fruit platter was lovely. Food was sensational, although pricier than other parts of Sri Lanka, but the quality is great. American breakfast is enough for two people to share -there was really too much food for one person - fruit juice, fruit platter, muesli and yoghurt, pastries and toast, pancakes or waffles AND eggs cooked to your liking.

I had a 2 hr 15 min treatment at the spa and it was professional and good value for money. The setting of the day spa is lovely.

My favourite parts of Saman Villas were the beautiful bathrooms and the stunning infinity pool. The stay was very relaxing and the staff were great.

I only have one small suggestion for improvement - more TV channels and/or a DVD library. It was a bit disappointing that the villas on the north side overlooked a polluted beach (not much that can be done about that - there is a canal that empties into the sea)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.
We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

Polluted Beach
The beach, on both sides up to a distance of 100 meters is cleaned twice daily by hotel staff. During the reviewers stay an atmospheric depreciation caused strong winds and rough seas for several days resulting in a narrower beach and debris to settle on the beach. In spite of cleaning it was not possible to maintain a debris free beach.

Outflow from the Canal
Outflow from the canal to the north beach needs clarification. The flood level of a large inland lake is controlled by discharging water via a canal into the sea on the north side of the hotel. An aerial photograph of this can be seen in our Library. This water is colored due to humus. In fact, in our guest information we do recommend swimming in the south side sea because, 1. The canal water is colored and 2. There are many rocks on the north side near the hotel and a swimmer can get injured. Though the water is colored it is not polluted.

DVD Library
We do have a CD library with a wide selection of music. However we do not provide DVD’s of films that may disturb guests in adjoining rooms. Our experience with DVDs is that to get maximum benefit of the surround sound system guests tend to increase the volume.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Saman Villas in September 2012, and it was a simply fabulous experience. This was not my first visit to Saman Villas, and I have never been disappointed with the hospitality they have on offer. Being in the hotel trade myself I know how difficult it is to keep up a constant standard, and I believe the staff and Management at Saman Villas have achieved just that.

From the service and hospitality of the staff who are very friendly and helpful, to the food, to the rooms, there was nothing that I could point my finger at and say something negative about. A perfect place to relax and unwind after a hectic work week. In addition the setting and beautiful view alone is worth to stay at Saman Villas, which I am yet to find another place to match, after being in Sri Lanka for 7 years!

All I can say is, keep up the good work, and I will definitely see you again soon.

Room Tip: Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We thank the reviewer for his stay at Saman Villas and sharing his holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We are pleased that you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our vacations went just perfect, Saman Villa with its exclusive wooden décor and traditional Sri Lankan style hospitality made it actually right location for our romantic holidays. We selected the deluxe with private pool room, from where we captured the natural drizzling and beautiful beach view outlined by lush green coast line. The Stylish in-room amenities were impressive, I like the natural day light open shower with Vanilla flowers (Budha Flowers) falling on us, the automatic door blinds just rightly design for early morning sun rise view. The spa facility was must to visit, we tried milk bath and loved it after our body message.

The service at Saman Villa was exemplary (friendly and non-instrusive). They gave special care to our need & requirements in order to make us feel comfortable, here I would like to mention some of the name “Ms. Nerusha (Receptionist with the cheerful smile, always available for attending customer requirements)”, “Ms. Gayatari (the pretty lady with good management style)”, and “Chief Rizvi (one of the best chief who knows how to tickle the taste buds)”, the confectionary chief was good too. I still remember the heart shape marzipan cake exclusively made for us.

Thanks you guys for making things special for us

I give high recommendation to select Saman Villas for exotic & memorable time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived on the 15th September from the first leg of our honeymoon trip, which was in Dubai. Saman villas gave us the complete contrast which we wanted from our few days in Dubai. From our arrival, when we were met by the very polite and respectful staff, we knew we had chosen the right place.
We want a peaceful, relaxing, secluded and romantic location to spend the final part of our honeymoon and that is exactly what we got. One of the key parts of the hotel is it's seclusion and the beautiful views. The dinning area and the infinity pool area overlook the sea and the views from both are absolutely stunning and to be honest will be the most memorable part of the holiday.
The food, particularly the dinners, were excellent and our compliments to the chef who came out a few times to meet the guests. The staff were always polite and courteous at all times and the villas were kept clean and tidy by the house keeping staff.
Another good aspect of our stay was ambience, due to the limited number of villas at the hotel, it was peaceful and relaxed and we often had the feeling we were the only ones there.
To be honest we got everything we wanted..........and a lot more from our honeymoon stay at the Saman Villas. Thank you very much guys.

The only minor downside was the price of the drinks, but then we are not big drinkers and hence we not really affected.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent the first three nights of our honeymoon at Saman Villas in mid July and it was an absolutely perfect start. The food was amazing, particularly the Sri Lankan breakfasts, and the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. Sure, it's not the cheapest place in Sri Lanka but everything was of such high quality that it was worth every penny in my opinion.

Upon arrival we were presented with a bottle of champagne and fresh fruits, and the next day we given an amazing chocolate cake. It was these little touches that really made the difference.

The pool was a brilliant place to relax and nearly always deserted, and although we only had dinner by the pool on one occasion, it was absolutely delicious.

The spa was great - a real area of tranquility. My wife really enjoyed her 2 hour massage whilst I just took advantage of a complimentary treatment.

The only shame was that the water was so rough that you couldn't go into the sea and that quite a lot of rubbish had been washed up upon the beach. Obviously this was not the fault of the hotel but it was a touch disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Arrivijng down a little track off the Galle road you wonder what you have booked but when you get inside, you enter a different world. Great acommation, restaurant and staff. We had a room to the south side of the complex with sea views. We went for a superior first floor room and it was worth the little extra. Having the complimentary tea or coffe first thing in the morning was a nice touch and we enjoyed the walks on the south beach. Pool and restaurant facilities are very good and food in restaurant was very good. We only ventured out for lunch once and did not find a place better in than the hotel. The south side of the complex is nicer we think as the north beach does suffer from the outflow from a local canal. If you are staying in Bentota this place is well worth a visit and would recommend it to friends. Sri Lankan is great.

Room Tip: Stay on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.
We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

Reference to the outflow from a canal to the north beach needs clarification. The flood level of a large inland lake is controlled by discharging water via a canal into the sea on the north side of the hotel. An aerial photograph of this can be seen in our Library. This water is colored. In fact, in our guest information we do recommend swimming in the south side sea because, 1. The canal water is colored and 2. There are many rocks on the north side near the hotel and a swimmer can get injured.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman Villas

Address: Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#1 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saman Villas is laid out on a magnificent rocky headland dividing two long, surf-swept golden beaches. Close by is a sleepy fishing village but you would not know it, the only sounds are sea gulls' cries and the surf below. The resort is inspired by ancient Sri Lankan architecture. The restaurants, bars and villa suites are all angled to take full advantage of the sea shore vista either side of the headland. A terraced garden draws the eye to a dramatic infinity-edge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Saman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saman Villas Hotel Bentota
Saman Hotel Aturuwella
Saman Resort Aturuwella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saman Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.