We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family hotel with Great service.....!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Haus Berlin to your Saves list
Haus Berlin
213 Alvis Road | Dope, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 Bentota B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Lovely family hotel with Great service.....!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Me, My husband and our little daughter(16 months) spent our holidays on early January 2014.We were there for 04 nights and we enjoyed every little moment at the hotel.,We were given a warm welcome and our reserved rooms were arranged so nicely..,they are very clean well arranged and so spacious to live...Manager and his team is very very helpful and gave us us super honest service. i would like to say that it was so easy for us to stay with our baby,because of their special service with care.Well completed rooms with Hot water and good A/C .Free unlimited Wifi facility offered by the hotel management was really helpful to me my husband's business and his work.The garden view of the hotel with clean lovely pool with nature's beauty always bring us a relaxed, calm and peace in our mind.., I must say that the food and restaurant service is in excellent manner. Food was so delicious,clean and it was always appealing ..., and it always worth for what u pay..,I would be thankful to Management of Haus Berlin for giving us a lovely holidays with more than we expected and i would like to recommend this little family hotel for ones who wish to have a great holiday in Sri Lanka.. Thank you Haus Berlin..Cheers...!!
- Parneetha and Raj from India -

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you would like to get away from all the busy resorts on the beach and sleep in a spotless little nice guesthouse, then this is the place for you.

The owner is very helpful in arranging activities in the area.

Rooms are big,clean with good A/C.

Room Tip: Best to sleep on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were here for three nights and enjoyed every minute. Very clean and well appointed and with particularly pleasant and helpful staff. Both breakfasts and dinners were excellent and the little pool a delight. The hotel is located near a typical local village which made short strolls more interesting, particularly the temple with its friendly monk. It's a short tuktuk ride to the nearest beach where there's good swimming in the waves and a very nice little restaurant. All in all highly recommended for couples and small families.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We travelled to Bentota in December 2013. We had booked Haus Berlin 2 months in advance i.e. in October 2013. I had spoken to the Manager Mr. Ajith over the phone several times and he had confirmed availability of 3 rooms in Haus Berlin as we were 3 couple traveling together. He had said that since it is peak tourist season, we should send 100 USD advance ASAP so that he could block the rooms for us. I am a person with disability and have to strain myself in climbing steps. So I had specifically requested to block ground floor room for me and my husband. We reached after 19 hours of journey at 5.00 a.m. in the morning only to be told that the since Haus Berlin was overbooked in August 2013, our stay has been arranged at the house opposite Haus Berlin which is Bentota Homes. Bentota Homes is a new property with hardly any facilities/service. We had to go to Haus Berlin for everything. The rooms we got were on 1st and 2nd Floor. At first Mr. Ajith was apologetic and pleaded not to write a negative review on Trip Advisor as his German Bosses would fire him. But then he became audacious. Due to peak season rush, we could not find any alternative place in Bentota for 6 of us and we had to stay in Bentota Homes which was claimed to be a property of Haus Berlin Group. Wish we could have written review of Haus Berlin – which we paid for and not Bentota Homes – which was forced on us. This review is more for the attitude and cheating by Mr. Ajith! The feeling of being cheated continues to remain etched in our memories of Sri Lanka. My advice to fellow travelers is to be aware when booking Haus Berlin and if you are short changed, do file a complaint with the local tourist police.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived at Haus Berlin at 5am in the morning after a 19 hour journey only to be told that the rooms that we had booked 2 months in advance were not available!! This after having paid US$100 in advance and having checked with Ajith multiple times over the phone.We were then offered accommodation in a property across the road from Haus Berlin.Since we were tired and there was nothing else available - this being peak tourist season - we had no option but to take up this offer.

The property that we stayed in was basic and in no way comparable to Haus Berlin.We stayed in a room without an attached toilet and without any dustbin.There was no service in the property that we were put up with and we had to go across to Haus Berlin to have breakfast.

The worst part in this sordid episode was Ajith's attitude - right from outright lies that he told us at the time of booking to telling us that the place that we were staying in was actually better than Hauz Berlin; that Haus Berlin had very small rooms and that he had given us bigger rooms.I could go on and on.

Understandably, this wasn't quite the start to a holiday that we had eagerly anticipated.

My advice to fellow travelers considering this property is to be very very careful while booking this place.

PS - I am giving a one star rating only because Tripadvisor doesn't allow a review without any stars to be submitted

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We started our 18 day tour of Sri Lanka in Bentota at Haus Berlin. The hotel arranged our pick up from Columbo which was fantastic. The clean, quiet and comfortable hotel provided a great start to our trip. The staff were fantastic throughout our stay making sure we always had everything we needed. The owner even went as far as to contribute to our train ticket when we didn't have the right change! Overall definitely recommend this place and would return again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at Haus Berlin when we went recently to Sri Lanka. It was such a pleasant surprise. The rooms were huge and the maintenance was impeccable! We had meant to stay at Bentota for two days and this was a perfect choice. It's worth the price that you pay for it. The staff are friendly and helpful as is the owner, Ajith. They have bicycles that are available for free for guests and a lovely pool to cool off whenever you feel like the sun is a bit much. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to Bentota.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Berlin

Address: 213 Alvis Road | Dope, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Haus Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.