We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AIDA Ala carte Restauarant

AIDA Ala carte Restauarant
Mangala Mawatha, Bentota, Sri Lanka
+94 34 2 275398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 38 Restaurants in Bentota
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A very friendly restaurant that is situated on the banks of the river that can be clearly viewed whilst dining. We serve good seafood and tasty meals from curries to sandwiches and steaks.
scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Arrived for lunch, food was OK but nothing special, service was good and attentive. Nice views over the water.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wide selection of food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

We decided to have lunch at the restaurant. The view overlooking the lake is really pretty. The menu has lots of choices ranging from chicken dishes to seafood to Chinese and pasta, there are also sandwichs. We picked spaghetti bolognese and a steak sandwich which didn't disappoint. We recieved a free small salad each and with hindsight just the spaghetti would have been enough to share! With 2 soft drinks the bill came to 2000 rupees. I would eat here again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

A good Sri Lankan restuarant with very good food and service.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Only thing good was the view.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Arrived at this restaurant for an early dinner and a large appetite for some local food (it was our first dinner in Sri Lanka). The first disappointment was that the curries took 45 minutes to cook. Even though we were very anxious to try the local food, we were already hungry and didn't want to wait almost an hour more. I ended up ordering a shrimp dish and my friend ordered the chicken with lemongrass curry. While waiting for our food, the waiter was nice enough to bring us a small salad since we expressed how hungry we were. The bugs did get annoying, especially since they kept crawling up my leg and a few appeared on the table. The total cost was around 3000 Rupees and when the waiter brought us the bill, he awkwardly stood there waiting for us to pay it, which made me very uncomfortable. I do have to say though that the view was great.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
“Fantastic atmosphere, great food and value for the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We could not have enjoyed our stay more! The food and the service was excellent at AIDA Ala carte Restauarant as we relaxed to a geogeus sunset .Friendly people, great atmosphere, a truly enjoyable experience.We are greatly looking forward to our next trip in July of next year..

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AIDA Ala carte Restauarant also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to AIDA Ala carte Restauarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AIDA Ala carte Restauarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.