We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Best Place to Stay in Bentota”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Lancashire Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sri Lancashire Guest House
Save
You added Sri Lancashire Guest House to your Saves list
No 85A , Circular Road | Obadawatta, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Bentota B&B and Inns
new delhi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
““Best Place to Stay in Bentota””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Friendly staff, good food, large air-conditioned room with a balcony, clean towels and basic toiletries provided, reasonably priced, plenty of relaxing space around the property.Amazing location. Felt right at home!The beauty of the place is out of this world. The house is meticulously planned and done up. Me & my sons loved the space, basking chairs, hammocks that were there all over the place. Wasantha,Nishanti & Chaminda were so welcoming and accessible that it seemed a grave error that we had a planned a stay for only 3 days there.We loved the house with its tasteful decoration, spacious rooms and bathrooms and very modern amenities. Not to forget the food.Lots of variety & great taste.We hope to come back again very soon . We're certainly recommending this to our friends.

Room Tip: Lake facing Any day !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

There are no words for this place, and probably the best guest house we have stayed in! In summary (because this review is quite rightly extensive!); cleanest, helpful, AMAZING SRI LANKAN CURRY, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful scenery, very peaceful surroundings and the most welcoming owners you could wish for.

It's down a road on the right off the main road if you're coming by bus from Galle, but signage could a bit better as if you miss it, you keep heading into town (we did almost give up on finding it at one stage). Once you're on that road you keep following it round, the locals may tell you that they don't know it, or that there's another guest house closer, but keep following the road around to the right, over a bridge, past a school and a souvenir warehouse and then it's on the left.

The rooms are so clean, lovely soft, thick towels and the breakfast is perfect. The whole place is extremely restful, yet only a short tuk tuk journey to the beautiful, tranquil beach. This was the perfect end to our trip, so accommodating and helpful. Great times, great conversation and great people. Thank you! Just sorry it took a while to post this review!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dondee2000, Owner at Sri Lancashire Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We all at Sri Lancashire Guest House thank you Sam and Victoria for your sentiments....It means so much to all of us. As you know, once you walk through our gates..we just want you to feel relaxed and we take the best possible care of you.... Thank you loves ...xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erembodegem, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

After almost 3 weeks of travel around Sri Lanka we needed a place to stay close to Colombo in order to get a quick transport to the airport on our departure date....
And what an enormous luck we had to end up in the Sri Lancashire Guest House to spend our two last days (7 and 8 may 201 3)of our holiday ! No words can describe how Wasantha and Nishanti took care of us during that short stay !! The welcome, complete with coconut drinks and flower garlands was heartwarming, rooms and sitting areas were extremely tidy, the bathroom spic and span, the food we had for dinner was outstanding and of pretty high cooking standards !

The Guest House lies in a quiet neighbourhood, we slept like roses, read our books on our terrace without being disturbed. The view from the garden over the lake is soothing and gives you a relaxed feeling while watching the monitor lizard and birds swim by...

Wasantha also recommended us a boat safari on a neigbouring lake where we enjoyed the lovely nature and took pictures of numerous bird species, squirrels, monkeys and lizards, afterwards he took us to a seeturtle hatchery, where we could see how people here try to preserve the existing wildlife.

We were served like kings at this place, the outstanding hospitality and the help we got was indescribable. Thank you for a lovely stay and Donna...never ever lose your crew, they are true treasures !!

Regards,
Dries & Marion

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastleigh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were backpacking in Sri Lanka April with 2 children (aged 9 and 6). We spent our first 2 nights in the Hotel Sri Lancashire. It was a perfect restful start. We were collected at the airport by the a/c van and welcomed on our arrival with fresh juice in coconuts and fresh flower garlands for us all.

Our family room was beautiful - completed by the scattering of fresh petals all around - and the folded towels shaped into turtles and swans. Our breakfast and dinners were fantastic. And we were ferried around in the hotel tuk tuk - and taken after our stay down to Tangalle in the a/c van seeing some sights on the way including the Turtle sanctuary & moonstone quarry. The garden is so relaxing and a real haven. We were also really impressed by the beautiful and deserted Bentota beaches. I really cannot speak highly enough of our stay and the hospitality we and the children received from all the Sri Lancashire staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the back with its own entrance. Nice for privacy and convenient access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I visited twice in Feb and March. I only planned to visit once but liked it so much I returned later. I was fortunate that the owners were present when I was there. They were totally committed to their guests to the extent that I felt like a friend rather than a guest. Then it got better! The staff were wonderful, very friendly and they were a mine of useful and invaluable information about the area and SL generally. And the food was excellent, no need to eat anywhere else. The riverside rooms are good value and well worth the extra. It is situated in a wonderful riverside location and only short walk from the beach with a wide range of beaches to chose from. I will return

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I definitely recommend staying here. A few friends and I stayed here for 3 Nights this April. The location on the river is beautiful and the rooms have such nice little touches, especially recommend a river view room. Just a 15 minute walk from the beach. But I think the best thing about my trip to Bentota, were the people we met at Sri Lankashire Guest house! They do everything to make your stay comfortable and fun! We had the pleasure of meeting Donna and Alan the owners, we had dinner every night together it was like meeting family, and they make you feel so welcome! Wasantha , Nisanthi and everyone there were lovely they dropped us everywhere by Tuk Tuk and took care of us so well! And the food there is AMAZING!! The Sri Lankan Food, the BBQ (with the amazing secret sauce) and the Yum-Yum Breakfast!! The best food we had at Bentota! Thanks again for the wonderful stay, the lovely dinner & wine you treated us to and the cute little goodbye gift!

Room Tip: River View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Best welcome to any guest house we have ever had, picked up from the train station and on arrival fresh flower necklaces, juice and then a room with gorgeous fresh flowers and towels in the shape of a turtle. So close to the beach, we walked there for the day. The afternoon was spent on the loungers back at the guest house, watching the sun set on the lake and having a beer. They have great service and the lake and garden are fantastic.

One of the best meals we ate in Sri Lanka, prawns, chicken, vegetables, home made breads, incredible and unlimited amounts! We shared some drinks with the other guests and our lovely hosts even let us retire to their lounge. My boyfriend was treated to an Arak at the end of the night. They dropped us back at the train station the next day, and it was one of my favourite stays in Sri Lanka! Thanks so much, Karlene and Amiel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sri Lancashire Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Lancashire Guest House

Address: No 85A , Circular Road | Obadawatta, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sri Lancashire Guest House is the perfect retreat set on the stunningly beautiful landscape of the Bentota River, Sri Lanka. Situated just 15 minutes walking distance from the expansive golden sandy beach, this stylish quaint boutique offers the highest standards of comfort, cleanliness and delicious authentic home cooked cuisine in a most tranquil atmosphere at an unbeatable low price along with an incredible experience. We offer all our guests local trips in our Tuk Tuk to and from both train and bus stations, to the beach and back or to the village market areas, all free of charge! Come and relax at the Sri Lancashire Guest House and leave with a memorable experience that will have you returning again and again. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Lancashire Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.