We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To nourish the spirit ! A wonderful place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Lancashire Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sri Lancashire Guest House
Save
You added Sri Lancashire Guest House to your Saves list
No 85A , Circular Road | Obadawatta, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off all room rates
Ranked #1 of 47 Bentota B&B and Inns
Belfast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“To nourish the spirit ! A wonderful place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a Warm & genuine guesthouse & the team,  (Wasantha, Nishanthi  & Chaminda) go over and above the call of duty to make your stay a wonderful one!  

Greeted with warm Welcoming smiles, fresh flowers and a cool  refreshing drink, this accommodation is superb, walking distance to the local town & beach.  

The accommodation is finished with style and attention to detail .   Our room overlooked the lake & we had a flowers, a fridge, kettle & tea/coffee facilities in a stylish room. 

Wasantha, Nishanthi and Chaminda work as a great team, so very dedicated - this was without doubt the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka (after staying in 6 different guesthouses  across Sri Lanka).  Our three days passed so very quickly ... we wished we had stayed longer there.

Wasantha will kindly offer transport to help you explore & Chaminda makes your breakfast time a lovely start to the day.   Nishanthi's cooking is honestly, just amazing, (be sure to soak up some Sri Lankan cooking tips while there and you won't go wrong!)

There are lovely temples to visit which add an optional spiritual dimension, if you are interested in acquiring more knowledge about this, Wasantha  &  Nishanthi informally
provide this and it enriched our experience further.     

At the end of your stay, like us, you probably will be leaving having met wonderful genuine people!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just LOVED our stay at Sri Lancashire Guesthouse. If you're looking for a holiday to de-stress and relax, this is the place. Located right on the Bentota river, with magnificant views of the local fishermen and monitor lizards. Like a location right off a film set. Ideal for couples of all ages. Peaceful, idyllic and a real home-from-home. Delicious, authentic, local cuisine, cooked to perfection with all the local fresh produce and ingredients. Service always with a smile. Everything presented with care and courtesy. Rooms impeccably decorated, clean and comfortable. Your hosts Washanta, Nishanti and Chaminda are always there to provide you with tip-top service, catering to personal preferences and requests. If you want to go anywhere, see anything and do anything, just ask. We went home refreshed and rejuvenated. We well recommend it.

Room Tip: Pick the Lotus Room for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Reasonable rates very good location. everything is perfect there.
Nice view and its good place for kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

What a truly delightful place, with a welcome that immediately made us feel at home! The rooms were comfortable and clean with a stunning view out over the river estuary at Bentota. The guest house isn't on the beach, but that is not something that you will miss at all.

Wasantha, Nashanti and Jaminder treated us to wonderful home cooked food, and nothing was ever too much trouble. You need to order your evening meal in advance, as proper Sri Lankan food takes time to prepare. It's attention to detail and the small touches (fresh flowers in the room each day etc.) that make all the difference.

We plan to come back to Sri Lanka and we plan to stay here again.

One small point, is that the airport pick-up is very convenient, but it is expensive (€50). The airport taxi service quoted us 5000 Rs (£25) after a bit of haggling. Better still, there is a great bus service in Sri Lanka and people are very helpful. A short bus journey to Colombo and change for the bus to Galle/Matera will cost a few hundred rupees instead - and you get to immerse yourself into some local flavour along the way.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms with a lake view, and one without. We recommend a lake view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Truly idealitic location on the lake all rooms are a room with a view I just sat in the hammock reading my book listening to the water lapping and the birds singing doesn't get more peaceful than this.
The small five room guest house run by the most hospitable of Sri Lankan families is situated on the estuary lake minutes from the centre of town, if you just want to escape and relax and be by yourself or you would like an Authentic Curry dinner under the stars, or a sight seeing trip this hostel is for you, the staff are so flexible you ask and they will make your dreams come true.

Room Tip: 4 rooms look out onto the lake which is 20 metres from the house truly rooms with a view , all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

From the minute we arrived, our welcome was over whelming. We had airport pickup arranged and both our Tour guide, Wasantha and his wife, Nashanti were there waiting with garlands of flowers to greet us. We were escorted through Sri Lanka to Bentota only to arrive at Sri Lancashire House in the heart of a village. This for me was the most spectacular part of our accommodation. It is situated close to the beach but you feel as if you're in the middle of the "heart" of Sri Lanka as it's real life and amazing to see how the Sri Lankans live. The wildlife is facinating to see and watch. The view from our balcony window was breathtaking as it over looks the jungle and I just loved seeing the natural beauty Sri Lanka has to offer. The accommodation was superb. The beds are VERY comfortable, the rooms are spotless and get cleaned by Chaminda everyday as part of the service. The bathrooms have both baths and shower facilities and everything was spick and span - we wanted for nothing! The finishing touches are charming too :) We were given guidance re where to go for shopping / restuarants etc, what places are a must to see, and general information regarding Sri Lanka - very informative for us. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay, I feel this made our experience more memorable because even though the "House" is luxurious, you get a real feel for what Sri Lanka has to offer . The Sri Lankans in the village are so friendly and welcomed us with open arms. The food is stunning and I left putting on 2 kilograms if that is any indication. The produce is SO fresh and everything is bought, prepared and cooked daily - it certainly has opened our eyes to new cuisines and culinery delights. I would HIGHLY recommend Sri Lancashire to anyone looking for "an experience of a lifetime".......we have taken back so many fond memories from there and can't wait to go back again soon - it can't be soon enough. Thank you Sri Lancashire for giving us a holiday of a lifetime!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

In the heart of the bentota jungle this place is truly unbelievable, watch wildlife in abundance right from your balcony window! The attention to detail in making your holiday unforgettable is astonishing, for a low cost guesthouse it is truly 5 star, rooms beautiful, food stunning and a welcome like you've arrived at home, a big thanks to Wasantha, nashanti and chamindra who made us feel like a king and queen by taking care of our every need and desire, what more can I say, I can't wait to get back to my home from home, see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sri Lancashire Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Lancashire Guest House

Address: No 85A , Circular Road | Obadawatta, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sri Lancashire Guest House is the perfect retreat set on the stunningly beautiful landscape of the Bentota River, Sri Lanka. Situated just 15 minutes walking distance from the expansive golden sandy beach, this stylish quaint boutique offers the highest standards of comfort, cleanliness and delicious authentic home cooked cuisine in a most tranquil atmosphere at an unbeatable low price along with an incredible experience. We offer all our guests local trips in our Tuk Tuk to and from both train and bus stations, to the beach and back or to the village market areas, all free of charge! Come and relax at the Sri Lancashire Guest House and leave with a memorable experience that will have you returning again and again. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Lancashire Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.