We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in bentota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Cafe

The Villa Cafe
Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18-22 Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
(94) 342275311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 38 Restaurants in Bentota
Description: The Villa Cafe is located at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota located conveniently only 1.5 hrs from Colombo or half way to Galle on a guest's journey from Colombo further down South. Opened in Dec 2009, The Villa Cafe has already been awarded as being 'One of Sri Lanka's leading restaurants' by the Miele Guide 2010 as well as the cuisine being praised in numerous international prestigious magazine reviews, such as Conde Nast UK, Conde Nast US, DestinAsian, Harpers Bazaar UK, etc. The restaurant features a wide range of cuisine, ranging from wood-fired pizzas, Sri Lankan dishes, Sri Lankan-inspired dishes, homemade ice creams, seafood, extensive desserts, examples of favourites, as follows,- Lemongrass and Ginger Chicken with Spinach Mash- Black Pork Curry- Sri Lankan Crab Curry Soup - Passion Fruit Meringue Pie- Jaggery Creme Bruleeamongst many others.The Bar and Lounge is also open to non residents and the beverage menu includes cocktails such as Tamarind Chilli Martini, Passion Fruit Margarita, homemade Ginger Beer and a wine list, champage, beer, spirits and liqueur.With a high chair and childrens' menu, families are welcome. Reservations recommended.
Restaurant details
Description: The Villa Cafe is located at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota located conveniently only 1.5 hrs from Colombo or half way to Galle on a guest's journey from Colombo further down South. Opened in Dec 2009, The Villa Cafe has already been awarded as being 'One of Sri Lanka's leading restaurants' by the Miele Guide 2010 as well as the cuisine being praised in numerous international prestigious magazine reviews, such as Conde Nast UK, Conde Nast US, DestinAsian, Harpers Bazaar UK, etc. The restaurant features a wide range of cuisine, ranging from wood-fired pizzas, Sri Lankan dishes, Sri Lankan-inspired dishes, homemade ice creams, seafood, extensive desserts, examples of favourites, as follows,- Lemongrass and Ginger Chicken with Spinach Mash- Black Pork Curry- Sri Lankan Crab Curry Soup - Passion Fruit Meringue Pie- Jaggery Creme Bruleeamongst many others.The Bar and Lounge is also open to non residents and the beverage menu includes cocktails such as Tamarind Chilli Martini, Passion Fruit Margarita, homemade Ginger Beer and a wine list, champage, beer, spirits and liqueur.With a high chair and childrens' menu, families are welcome. Reservations recommended.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best food in bentota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here (twice) at the villa cafe. The ambience is lovely, set in a quiet courtyard and the staff are attentive. Food is extremely high quality and the portions are large! The lemongrass chicken is certainly worth a try and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a lovely meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

very nice lounge music slowly playing in the background, the sounds of the sea creeping in somewhere from the sides and the dim lighting in the restaurant sums up this place. was alone, yet this place was perfect. the food was excellent. they made some chicken dish as per the chefs recommendation.

the sea food from the reactions i gathered was awsome. the dessert here is something that should not be missed. the rooms are also very nice and classy. good place to stay if you like your holiday to be quiet, peaceful yet extravagent. this is definetly if u wanna read or need quiet time.

very well done up rooms and restaurant. regret not staying here. and thumbs up for the food

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over priced and pretentious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A truly impressive building with superb decor and the sort of retsaurant where you would expect to pay a premium price but.............
I was served a chicken muligatawny soup with plenty of chicken but no flavour - it would easily have passed as chicken soup. A roast pork that had been cooked to death and then a bill that was roughly double what I had been paying at other restaurants locally - for far better food. The service was, at best, casual.
The drinks in the bar are very expensive - even though they serve alledgedly imported spirits and the final straw was the staff turning out the lights and bringing us a bill at 9.30pm as an indication that they wanted to go home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I ( we have dined their 3 times before) invited 3 friends to join us, the setting is very nice and the bar service was attentive, I ordered 2 Smirnoff vodkas and tonics and 3 gins, the vodka was not Smirnoff! I complained but they would not change the drinks , so I had a beer instead. The food was OK except for my wife's pork curry which was without any spice, the portion sizes were rather disappointing considering the prices. As we were the only people in the restaurant, I feel that they are over pricing themselves. To finish the evening off we had coffee and sat just outside of the restaurant, however the staff started switching off all the lights around us, then brought our bill without asking us if we required anything else to drink, so we took the hint, paid our bill and left never to return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great food, reasonable prices and a good place to go for lunch/ dinner if you are not staying there. The gift ship (Paradise Road) is also fantastic without a lot of the tat that you see in the markets and for reasonable prices.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villa Cafe also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to The Villa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.