We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Cafe

The Villa Cafe
Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18-22 Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
(94) 342275311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 40 Restaurants in Bentota
Description: The Villa Cafe is located at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota located conveniently only 1.5 hrs from Colombo or half way to Galle on a guest's journey from Colombo further down South. Opened in Dec 2009, The Villa Cafe has already been awarded as being 'One of Sri Lanka's leading restaurants' by the Miele Guide 2010 as well as the cuisine being praised in numerous international prestigious magazine reviews, such as Conde Nast UK, Conde Nast US, DestinAsian, Harpers Bazaar UK, etc. The restaurant features a wide range of cuisine, ranging from wood-fired pizzas, Sri Lankan dishes, Sri Lankan-inspired dishes, homemade ice creams, seafood, extensive desserts, examples of favourites, as follows,- Lemongrass and Ginger Chicken with Spinach Mash- Black Pork Curry- Sri Lankan Crab Curry Soup - Passion Fruit Meringue Pie- Jaggery Creme Bruleeamongst many others.The Bar and Lounge is also open to non residents and the beverage menu includes cocktails such as Tamarind Chilli Martini, Passion Fruit Margarita, homemade Ginger Beer and a wine list, champage, beer, spirits and liqueur.With a high chair and childrens' menu, families are welcome. Reservations recommended.
Restaurant details
Description: The Villa Cafe is located at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota located conveniently only 1.5 hrs from Colombo or half way to Galle on a guest's journey from Colombo further down South. Opened in Dec 2009, The Villa Cafe has already been awarded as being 'One of Sri Lanka's leading restaurants' by the Miele Guide 2010 as well as the cuisine being praised in numerous international prestigious magazine reviews, such as Conde Nast UK, Conde Nast US, DestinAsian, Harpers Bazaar UK, etc. The restaurant features a wide range of cuisine, ranging from wood-fired pizzas, Sri Lankan dishes, Sri Lankan-inspired dishes, homemade ice creams, seafood, extensive desserts, examples of favourites, as follows,- Lemongrass and Ginger Chicken with Spinach Mash- Black Pork Curry- Sri Lankan Crab Curry Soup - Passion Fruit Meringue Pie- Jaggery Creme Bruleeamongst many others.The Bar and Lounge is also open to non residents and the beverage menu includes cocktails such as Tamarind Chilli Martini, Passion Fruit Margarita, homemade Ginger Beer and a wine list, champage, beer, spirits and liqueur.With a high chair and childrens' menu, families are welcome. Reservations recommended.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Excellent Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Amazing food, and very good service. You have to be clear about when you want your items though, as it can take time. Order the Grilled Fish 24 hours before hand to allow the Chef to purchase it fresh that day

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Perfect!!! Tasty, stylish, and reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We are staying at the Villa as I write. Both the breakfast, pizza we had for lunch, and the traditional dinner were perfect, showing great skill of the chef in all aspects. All meals were fresh and tasted great, were great examples of food design, and the prices were very reasonable by the European standards.

Service and atmosphere were also great, with calm and relaxed atmosphere completely undisturbed by very polite and almost "invisible" personnel, who were at your service exactly the moment you need them. If anything could be improved, in my opinion those could be fresh juices, I have used to like those more saturated in their taste.

Overal, a definite MUST TRY if you are around!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Over-priced and over-rated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Architectually, this restaurant and hotel is quite superb and the waiters are plentiful and attentive. It is furnished beautifully and it is worth a visit during the day to admire the decor. We dined here last year (when there was no alcohol licence), however our dining experience overall was a total disappointment this time. While it is standard practice for establishments of this grading to sell-over priced wine and alcoholic beverages, it is not acceptable to be charged over £6 for a glass of undrinkable 'branded' white wine in a dirty glass. I doubt whether any other proprioter in Bentota would have the audacity to serve such a poor quality wine as a 'brand', as it could only be described as a poor quality house wine. As for the beer, it was not served particularly cold and soon went warm. Other restaurants in the area provide coolers or ice buckets in order to keep the beer at a drinkable temperature.
We both ordered the prawn curry, which was diligently served by the waiter, however the portions were rediculously small, accompanied by 'stringy', inedible vegetables, which were unidentifiable! The entire meal resembled more of a starter than a main course and we were left very disappointed, having visited this restaurant last year, when it was without a doubt, a five star experience. Being a chocolate lover, the huge 'skid-mark' in the ladies toilet certainly influenced my decision to avoid the desert, but at least it saved me a few quid!!!
There is better value, quality and quantity in the majority of the other restaurants in this area and it is a shame that The Villa's standards have slipped, while the prices have risen to a rediculous level. Most customers do not mind paying a premium for alcohol in quality hotels, but serving up over-priced 'cooking wine' in a dirty glass leaves a bad taste in ones mouth!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and staff, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is beautifully set out and the waiters are excellent. We ordered the chicken with lemongrass and the mushroom cannelloni type dish. The chicken was very good but the mushroom dish was very rich. Free bread and water is provided. We had chocolate cake dessert which was also good. The menu has a wide range of food from pizzas to Sri Lankan dishes to seafood. I think the food and drink price was far too expensive and we ate just as well in bentota for half the price.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villa Cafe also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to The Villa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.