We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliance at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Save Saved
You added Paradise Road The Villa Bentota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 hotels in Bentota
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliance at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Villa Bentota is exactly what its claims to be. We were there 4 days and it was Bliss. The property is beautiful, done up very tastefully, the rooms are very classy and the staff such lovely and well mannered people. Love the train tracks that could be seen from our balcony, all you have to do is hop over from the property across the tracks and there's the beach. I will go back there any day :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    36
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
130
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding a few weeks ago, sadly the event was marred by rampant stealing from our rooms, yes rooms plural. Overall our group 'donated' over $3000USD worth of possessions to the staff including a passport which as you can imagine was an absolute joy to replace.... The only explanation we got from the staff was "it's not in lost and found". Not good enough considering the price and reputation of this place. Stay away, there are WAY better places to stay in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.... Problem solved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Owner at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

We were terribly sorry to hear of your experience in Sri Lanka and that it has resulted in a negative view of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota.

Unfortunately, when you contacted us from Galle 1 week after your departure to complain about a claimed theft by our staff, there was absolutely nothing we could do. We provide safes for all our rooms and advise guests to store all valuables accordingly.
We can however imagine how disheartening it was to learn that your passport was misplaced and can only be disappointed that this inconvenience now relates to our property.

Our only recommendation to all travellers, is to store valuables in the safe provided and if not, with you and should you notice anything missing to report it immediately so that something can be done about it.

We hope to welcome you one day back to our property and reverse your poor opinion of us!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Villa, Bentota was exceptional - that is in short.

I could lyric endlessly about the premises, the rooms, the staff and the food. It is small (14 rooks) yet well spread out over west facing grounds with a view out towards the ocean.

The railway track and passing trains adds a quaint touch as you cross to head to a soft sand, uncluttered and very empty beach. The architecture is excellent - typical Geoffrey Bawa - black and white and minimalistic, but meandering and spread out.

Our rooms (Suite 3 & 4) were exceptional - 4 had a great view over the sea - but we were shown to an awful AWFUL suite when we arrived - dark, dingy, airless and as Tarini termed it - a show box. Ensure you don't have that.

The staff are exceptional and that makes all the difference. The restaurant puts out food of the same standard (or better) as the Gallery Cafe in Colombo, though the desserts could be worked on.

We missed out on the "complementary" afternoon tea and munchies that one of the other guests spoke about, but what the hell.


A must for my next trip !!

Room Tip: As we had my in-laws with us and our young adult daughter, we had 2 suites, and I would have to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everywhere you look there is something beautiful at The Villa. This is a boutique and classy property of 15 rooms, stylishly presented. The staff are really lovely, gentle people who are ready to chat and smile and help. Food is excellent. The train is a delightful diversion every now and then. The beach is deserted and all yours. If you walk a short way along the beach to the left of The Villa you come to Wunderbar hotel where they will happily show you their turtle conservation project. You do not need to pay but a contribution to their project is appreciated. The morning we were there over 70 turtle eggs had just hatched. Fabulous!
You really are on Paradise Road here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights there. The Villa is indeed beautiful and the food great. Although you need to know that the railway passes through the hotel land and yes, you can hear it. For a five star hotel, no WiFi in the room, sheets smelled funny, no computers. No facilities either. Basically I don't think you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

6 of us stayed at the Villa for 2 nights and it was a lovely experience. The property and the rooms are beautifully laid out and luxurious. There are quite a few places to relax around the property and the staff were super attentive and helpful.

The food and drinks were amazing and available throughout the day. My only disappointment is that it's not right on the beach and you need to cross the railway track to get to the beach which is a little worrying especially since we had a little child with us.

I think the property is more suited for couples looking for a quiet getaway for some R&R.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Professional, kind & helpful staff. We had a lot of privacy. Waiters were a delight to talk to. Indika & crew, thank you for everything! Guys at the reception were quick-witted and very accommodating. I broke my Iphone USB cable and Mr. Manager directed me to a mobile accessories shop in Aluthgama and voila! I got a replacement :)

Ravi, the unofficial resident tuk-tuk driver of the Villa. Steadfast & jovial, he has a great knowledge of all the attractions in Bentota. He lives in a house just next to the Villa and is thus very punctual whenever we needed transport out of the hotel premises. Should you need a driver to take you to the airport or further destinations, Ravi's brother operates a taxi service. How convenient!

High quality, delicious food. My favorite orders were the grilled tuna stacks and homemade coconut ice-cream. My buddy loved the Sri Lankan curry. Breakfast was very tasty & portions were generous. Everything we had was to-die-for, enough said! Off topic, but I have to point this out: their counterpart, the Paradise Road Gallery Cafe in Colombo is a complete embarrassment compared to the Villa Cafe. Extremely rude waiters & shoddy service. We were aghast by the stark difference in food & service quality!

Luxurious rooms & lounge areas. We totally lucked out and stayed in Room Five, which has a patio overlooking the smaller pool, frangipani tree, lawn, & the best lounge area which we spent most of our time at. We had a peek at other rooms and I thought they paled in comparison to ours. Although the idea of a bathroom with outdoor shower sounds romantic, I would highly recommend a room on the second floor with an indoor bathroom and patio as showering with creepy crawlies isn't at all fun. And my goodness, the lounge with the chandelier! We practically parked ourselves there and called it OUR lounge as there were not many guests in the hotel throughout the duration of our stay ;) It was unadulterated luxury.

Warm, clean pool. Plush loungers. Water would be served without asking!

Tasteful art and design throughout the Bawa-designed property. Beautifully manicured lawns. Vast spaces. We felt very at home.

Complimentary afternoon tea service. Cheese toast, cake, ginger biscuits on rotation. Yum!

Daily evening turn-down service. Bottles of water and fresh towels sent to room at dusk. Coffee & tea sachets are replenished. Mozzie net is put down.

The Villa Shop. I loved the stuff in there. Hotel guests get a 10% discount off all purchases.

Top-notch ayurvedic toiletries by Spa Ceylon. The Spa Ceylon range can be purchased at Paradise Road shops in Colombo.

Being able to walk around the hotel grounds in pyjamas or swimwear. So liberating. Ah, the perks of traveling during the off-peak season. The brief early morning showers did not dampen our mood one bit and in fact, was a welcome relief to the scorching afternoon heat.

I liked the railway track next to the property. It was a quaint and interesting feature. It was fun waving to passengers in the trains whenever they whizzed by several times a day. Nope, we did not feel like our space was impinged on. Totally relished that experienced. The beach was rustic & untouched. Not suitable for sunbathing nor swimming, but late afternoon walks were a real treat. Better visit soon before it gets usurped by developers.

Having seen most of the other hotels on the Bentota beach strip, I personally thought the Villa Bentota was the best looking property in the area. Even though there were huge five-star establishments in the vicinity, they lacked intimacy and personal touches. Ostentatious with little regard for atmosphere and design. The Villa is truly a class of its own.


Cons? None that I can think of. But if I could nit-pick: Food and beverage were exceptional & of excellent quality, but pricey for Sri Lankan standards. But it wasn't really an issue as the few dining options outside of the hotel were beyond horrendous. The fare offered in the other hotels and eating places down the beach did not compare at all. So if you do stay here, the only other decent restaurant would be at the next door Club Villa.

All in all, I highly recommend Paradise Road The Villa Bentota. Remember to visit Lunuganga & Brief Garden! Magical & out of this world.

A shout-out to the Villa Bentota team, a big thank you for the great hospitality. We will send you the photos in a bit! See you soon, we will be back ;)

Love,
Stephanie & Freddie

Room Tip: Room Five, without a doubt. It's a standard room but its location is unparalleled, compared to t...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#5 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.