We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Road The Villa Bentota to your Saves list
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel in Bentota to finish off our trip to Sri Lanka. The food was superb and service was attentive. Gutted to miss out on the hoppers for breakfast because you have to order the night before. The rooms are well appointed and tastefully designed. Definitely going to recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road group at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota after your recent stay!

Sorry that you have had to miss out on Sri Lankan food. We require notice as most dishes require quite a bit of preparation and for Hoppers, the batter needs to rest for over an hour.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Villa Bentota and we will make a note that Hoppers will be served for your breakfast before you even arrive!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    43
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
146
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We have always been fans of smaller, friendlier, intimate hotels and the Bentota Villas fits the bill perfectly. The rooms are spread out throughout the hotel so you never feel like the place is crowded. We were particularly impressed by the food which is consistently impressive throughout the Paradise Road group of hotels/restaurants, the friendly staff and the interior design. Breakfast is extensive and you can choose to have it either in the restaurant, by the pool or on the terrace overlooking the sea.
We loved our room (Suite Four) with views over the palm trees and the sea. Unfortunately the air con isn’t integrated into the ceiling like it is in the Tintagel but this is only a design rather than comfort observation. A few of the walls could do with being repainted but this is, after all, a colonial building. The interior design is incredibly beautiful and we particularly liked the paintings throughout the property. Staff are incredibly helpful, helping with any bookings or travel arrangements. Whilst the beach is not as beautiful as those found on the south coast, it is still very attractive and benefits from superb sun downs. In any case, the hotel pool is massive and one has a number of sunny or shaded relaxation options. Free Wi-Fi is also available- a must in any hotel these days.

We have recommended this hotel to other friends of ours and will certainly go back on our next visit to Sri Lanka.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for Suite Four
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road group at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota and the positive feedback you have shared!

We are currently working on updating our menu at The Villa Bentota so when you do return, we hope you will enjoy this even more !

Tintagel Colombo is centrally airconditioned with all public areas and suites with air vents in false ceilings. This was not something which worked for The Villa Bentota concept, which is unfortunately why we have separate split units in all our rooms.

We will be continuing to paint most walls, but patina is honestly something which features heavily in most our properties and we work hard and patiently to achieve it in many outdoor areas.

The Bentota beach is at its best usually from Nov - April. Unfortunately with the world patterns so unpredictable, including Sri Lanka's, it is less swimmable as it was even last year at the same time. We do hope the patterns reverse and allow it to be it's beautiful self again...

Thank you and we look forward to the honour of welcoming you back to The Villa Bentota!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

After travelling eight 8 hrs from Tea Trails I arrived at Villa Bentota exhausted, so it was nice to be greeted by efficient all male staff with welcoming drink, smiles and friendly service. I was upgraded the next day to a beautiful room overlooking the pool.
A masterpiece of architecture, Bawa designed Boutique Hotel, 3 classic colonical style buildings arranged around beautiful manicured colourful gardens and slate line elongated lap pool peeking at the ocean through groves of magnificent slender palms that flow in the breeze. The rooms are stylish chic - in the hotels signature colour schemes of black, white, stone, ivory, ebony and silver with crisp white egyptian cotton linen, mosquito netting and rain showers. Careful thought has gone into considering guests needs from insense burners, mosquito coils, tea and coffee, magazines and adaptor plugs and beautiful spa bathroom produicts. The white pristine stucco buildings with black shutters and natural materials, gracious balconies and terraces are filled with elegant antique furniture, statues and beautiful works of art. All meals were delicious, generous proportions, and beautifulluy presented. On one occasion I was speaking to the chef at Reception and mentioned baked fish and he told me to come to dinner within half an hour and in the meantime went out and purchased a whole fish and baked it for me, which was so fresh and so so delicious.
The train that passed the hotel was charming and added to the adventure. There is a beautiful beach accross the trainline where I walked mornings for miles.
My experience was most enjoyable and memorable and my dream is to return but for a longer stay and spend more time relaxing and unwinding around the pool and sun beds. I highly recommend Villa Bentota. You will not be disappointed. Villa Bentota was a luxurious and gracious experience. One you should all experience.

Thank you to all the wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: You can visit Ayurvedic spas nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road group at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your recent review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

We are so pleased you have appreciated the property and the time and love that has gone into creating it.
Your praise of the staff and service will also be shared with all and will motivate them no doubt to be consistent in this with all guests.

We are currently working on our new menu and will be expanding our spa services and we look forward to the honour of welcoming you back to Bentota !

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

After having such a pleasant stay at their sister hotel in Colombo (Tintagel), we decided to stay at this hotel. it was decorated in its signature style: old colonal british. the look is quite charming. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite which was quite large with a large bath and shower and double sink as well. There was a desk area and balcony space. Wifi was provided but you can only get it in the public spaces/sitting areas which I thought was strange and quite inconvienient. The pool area was excellent and had plenty of sun lounges and a hut, also tables and chairs on the lawn if you felt like dining outside. It is also a short walk to the beach and a few other hotels if you feel like eating something different from their menu (I recommened Wunderbar for their fresh seafood -jumbo prawns are amazing).

Overall i would give this hotel a 3.5 due do the serveral inconsistancies i faced with it's service and food, otherwise it would have been a 4. Example of the food was french toast was ordered for breakfast and it was delicous with four pieces of thick bread styled as a sandwich, the next day we ordered it again and it was only 2 bits of bread open grill style, smaller and not as nice. Also when we ordered the srilankan breakfast we were offered the choice of fish/chicken/beef, - when i advised i wanted the fish and my partner the chicken we were told we could only choose one, i asked for the reasoning behind this and was offered none then advised they could do both. The staff here are friendly except when you have a question, there is a lack of information they are prepared to provide. Another issue in terms of service was with a jeweller from the Moonstone mines and the jeweller came to visit me at the hotel which was not an issue on the first visit, however when he returned the next day to provide me my fixed jewellery I was informed by staff that he was not allowed on the premises even though i had confirmed him as my guest, i found this act quite rude and felt terrible for the jeweller for being so poorly treated.

However we also experienced excellent service in for form of a welcome drinks on arrival, free late check out and bottles of water for our journey back to the airport. Most of the dishes on their menu were excellent, i recommened the baked crab, banana fritters and pumpkin/ham pizza. But i was somewhat dissapointed with The Villa after knowing what they are capable of at Tintagel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road group at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota and share your feedback.

I truly apologise for your poor experience in terms of inconsistency which is not acceptable.

In terms of the Sri Lankan breakfast, as it is outlined on the menu text, we offer one choice per day, purely because of the preparation which goes into each. We usually also request 24 hrs notice for preparation. They would have made a special arrangement to make you the additional curry, but it is not something usually on offer.

Usually outside vendors are not allowed into the premises. This is purely from a security point of view and also because we have a policy of not allowing vendors who cater to tourists on the property. This is not to inconvenience you, but to prevent future issues once you leave the property, which is commonly experienced esp. with such businessmen especially from the area . The staff were not aware that he was meeting you on these grounds initially. However, they should have explained this to you to avoid the inconvenience and disappointment you felt as a result.

Thank you for sharing your review and the positive aspects of your stay!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West,England
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We booked suite 4, with the big balcony. I was unimpressed on arrival & for the price expected a lot more, the bed cover was dirty, the mosquito net was filthy. everything else ok, the balcony was big, but nothing special., no bathrobes no slippers. Maybe having come from Galle Face Regency & paying a lot more money here I expected a lot more for my money, no fruit basket on arrival, no wine, in fact everything was basic. Breakfast was ok nothing special and staff a bit aloof. Best thing was it was near the sea for lovely long walks on this fabulous beach , you can walk for miles & miles it is fantastic

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road group at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota after your stay in January. We take our guests' comments seriously and accept constructive feedback to help us to continue improving our service and facilities.

Suite 4 is indeed our best suite with the best views of the sea and along with Suites 2 and 3, are the largest.
All our soft furnishings are laundered and dry cleaned regularly and it may be possible that you were mislead by the mottled custom batik bedspreads with black white and brown patterning.
All our guests, in all rooms and suites are offered room slippers and sarongs. We do not offer bathrobes at our resort property as we feel a sarong is better suited with the style and use for our guests. They are custom woven in different colourways for both men and women.

We are often complimented on our extensive menu at our award winning restaurant. Our inclusive breakfast menu, known as The Tintagel Breakfast, includes fresh mixed juice/king coconut water, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, Sri Lankan Breakfast / Eggs, Fresh Fruit Platter, Curd and Treacle/ Cereal, Bread Basket. In addition, our a la carte includes more choices including special items like varieties of French Toast, homemade muesli, Banana Maple Porridge, Pancakes and our beverage menu lists tropical fresh juices, 9 varieties of tea, italian coffee and fresh fruit smoothies. We are truly sorry that this did not meet with your expectations and would be grateful if you could email us directly with some further suggestions as to how you feel we could improve our offering to future guests.
Food is a very important aspect of Paradise Road properties and we take pride and enjoy offering our guests good food.

All our rooms on arrival are presented with a fruit basket and according to our check list, this was offered to you as well. It is true that the fruit basket is not refreshed daily and offered only on the day of arrival.

In January, we unfortunately were still not in possession of our liquor license, which was both communicated on our website, partnering agent sites, on our direct reservation confirmations and also on Trip Advisor review feedback. In addition, as mentioned in our letter to all guests in-room, we were also able to arrange the purchase of your alcoholic requirements on request very quickly from a nearby bottle shop. Since your stay, we have finally been awarded our license and are pleased to offer our extensive beverage menu including wine, beer, champagne, spirits and cocktails to all our guests.

Your stay in Colombo, as mentioned, was at a large city hotel which we neither do or can compare to our boutique resort property on the beach with. With only 15 rooms and suites, we do aim to offer our guests a more personal service and am truly apologetic that our staff have not extended their expected and more usual warm service to you. This has already been taken up with our manager.

Feedback is very important to us as well as other properties, I would recommend in future should you have complaints, that you directly inform the manager on duty or staff members of your dissatisfaction. In addition, complaints in writing either by email or in the guest book would always be reviewed by us and generally by most other properties as well.

We do look forward to the honour of welcoming you back one day to Bentota, to PR The Villa Bentota in the hope of refreshing your opinion of us!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The building is like a palace. Staff are great. I didnot like vegetarian meal first day ( meat dishes had more vegetables than the vegetarian meal) and by chance spkoe to chef. Rest of stay, at breakfast and dinner got great vegetarian meals. Breakfast is a la carte style and generous in size but at begining missed not being able to get more of the food that i liked. Rooms great . Railway at end of lovely garden and train is really noisy and trains start early morning till late night. Our room nearest railway but it didnot bother us as we were so happy with the hotel. Things a bit pricey but reflected in top quality service/product. Bentota beach is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road group at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota and for sharing your positive feedback with TripAdvisor viewers. We take our guests' comments seriously.

Our vegetarian menu is indeed smaller than our non vegetarian menu and am happy that you spoke with the chef directly for your requirement. Our chef is most happy to create special dishes for guests on request.
The inclusive breakfast is a set menu and we have the additional options on the a la carte menu. I am indeed sorry that you were unable to enjoy more of the food you wished to due to whatever unexpected shortage during your stay.

We are so happy you were able to enjoy the train as a feature of the property as we truly treasure this as the late Archt Geoffrey Bawa did when originally noticing the Mohotti Walauwa and converting it into a boutique hotel.

Thank you also for valuing and appreciating our services and facilities!
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutsk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

For me The Villa Bentota proved to be a very different experience. We used to stay in big and posh places, where you were anonymous in a crowd of people. The Villa though makes you feel a part of a small family with new friends and homely surroundings. The service is impeccable, the staff is smiling and friendly. After three days they all practically know you by name and the Chef in a restaurant knows how you prefer your eggs for breakfast.
This hotel is very interestingly designed, there are corners where you can't but take photoes. I don't even mention the beauty of nature around you, which is blossoming, and the warmth of the ocean, which is striking.
As an academician, I can't accept(or believe) any review, if it lacks some critical remarks. Thus, the only critique I can think of is the train passing in front of your windows every now and then. It may seem annoying when you read these lines, but if you see the world optimistically and think positively, it may serve a tiny entertainment and be a piece of local colour. Just imagine: you lay in the sun drinking your pineapple juice, you are a little bored, and here comes the train, and you can watch people riding it, all hot and tired, and think to yourself how happy you are not being among them :)
Ah! One more thing which was very important for us was a free Internet access!
Valentyna, Lutsk, UKRAINE.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director, Paradise Road group at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your very positive feedback to other TripAdvisor viewers!

We are so happy when we have guests who appreciate and enjoy our premises which have truly been created with a lot of love and care. As a family-run business, we are very hands-on in the running of our business and ensuring our staff provide a personal service.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back home to The Villa Bentota when you are next in Sri Lanka!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management,
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.