We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place to spend New Year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside Bentota

The Waterside Bentota
Yathramulla, Bentota, Sri Lanka
94 34 2270080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Bentota
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a place to spend New Year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews, but having seen a rather unkind, unfair and lukewarm review, I thought I should.

The food is limited but it's limited to some old favourites and excellent local cuisine. I was in a party of 6, all seasoned travellers and all more than happy with the food served. The curry's were excellent, lots of fish, coconut and even a pineapple chicken curry!

The service was attentive without being overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble.

It was worth the journey from Colombo which is the only downside of visiting the Waterside.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nevis, West Indies
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What would you like us to cook?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

What would you like us to cook?
Very helpful, but at the beginning of our stay we were not sure what we should ask for! We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights, and some evening meals outside were a disaster, so we had dinner in-house most of the time. Discuss your likes and dislikes with the staff in the morning and you will enjoy a good meal in the evening. For non-residents, the short menu ensures that food is freshly prepared in the large modern and spotless kitchen.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way to eat here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Well cooked, flavorful food, good prices, imaginative menu... None of the ways I would describe the disappointing food here.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The fish was bland and poorly cooked. It seemed to have been servers straight after a boil. Pasta was alright. Tomato Soup was terrible. A lot more could be done with the place, and it is a waste of a lovely property IMHO.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Sri Lankan cuisine served in a tranquil setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Waterside and ate at the restaurant each day for breakfast and dinner. We stuck to the local Sri Lankan menu and the fish curry and string hoppers served at breakfast was the best we have ever had in Sri Lanka, in the evening we sampled the fresh seafood which was caught that day and the Sri Lankan curry which included 6 or 8 separate vegetable, pickle and curry dishes which changed each day depending on the vegetables and fruit they had. The food was first class and I have left Sri Lanka craving the curry's the chefs prepared. It is worth noting that the Waterside can be hired for weddings and functions, their kitchen which rivals any restaurant in London for its equipment, is clean and well run and from other places we have visited this was reassuring. The staff are very attentive, and took their time with guests to explain dishes and make sure that their dietary requirements were met. We would go back to Sri Lanka just for dinner at the Waterside!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterside Bentota also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to The Waterside Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.