We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good friendly hotel for Seogwipo/Jeju travels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daekuk Isleinn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daekuk Isleinn Hotel to your Saves list
Daekuk Isleinn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322-6 Seogwi-dong, Seogwipo, Jeju-do 697-844, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Seogwipo
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good friendly hotel for Seogwipo/Jeju travels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Staff was very friendly despite language barriers...there's free internet in the lobby. Room was adequate and clean, nothing fancy, would recommend a higher floor for better view. The hotel was only minutes walk from the Jungmun rotary and also different 'food' streets where you can sample all sorts of Korean cuisine from seafood to grilled black pork. Also close to a Seven Eleven which was convenient. walking distance from the Airport limosine bus and to one of the Olle trails.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We joined a tour package in Jeju-do and this hotel was part of the package. The tour included return air fares, 2 nights of accommodation (breakfast included), English-speaking guide, transportation during the tour on Jeju (minivan), 2 lunches and all admission fees and local taxes. A selection of hotels available but you have to top up amount for better quality hotels.

Assigned a family room which was spacious with 3 double beds and 2 attached bathrooms. The interior was Korean style with low wooden tables, decor was basic and the wooden floor warmed up in the cold weather. We absolutely have no ideal how to control the floor temperature. It just warmed up one cold night and the next night, it wasn't warm.

Having difficulties operating the remote panel mounted on the wall (in korean), we checked with the staff which wasn't really useful as their English and our korean were really pathetic. In the end, we figured out it was the air-con which wasn't really working as it was blowing out weak air. We opened up the windows and the room was kept reasonably cool.

Location wise, we didn't explore much but there was a convenience store nearby. The first night, we had dinner in E-mart food court, 20 min from the hotel by cab. 2nd night, we had delicious ginseng chicken soup near the hotel. Note that the taxi drivers are limited in their English and it would be good to show the drive them the map or destination in Korean the places you want to go. Despite that, the taxi driver still drove us to the wrong attraction..

Fortunately, our was a package tour which already took care of the programmes or else we would be a bit lost by the communication barrier and the lack of convenient transport (car rental).

Breakfast was either a choice of Korean or Western. The staff despite the communication barrier were still friendly and eager to help. Wifi was available in the room and that provided a tiny bit of entertainment for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

our tour guide booked this hotel for 4 nights.

we took the airport bus to the hotel. isleinn is the last stop of the loop approximately 1 hour (or more?). the hotel is near a street designated for restaurants as well as within walking distance of an open air market. our favorite area near the hotel was the cultural street.

the hotel room itself was very clean and the breakfast was yummy -- options of korean or western style.

the hotel seemed popular with hikers! there are many trails and the hotel itself is near an olle trail (designated by the orange and blue ribbons tied around the trees of the trail).

overall, a very good hotel for exploring jeju!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was a nice hotel that we booked through hotelwide.com for a reasonable price. We booked the hotel thinking that we would end up with a rental car once on the island. Due to a mishap that didn't happen, but this hotel was luckily in the center of Seogwipo. It is just down the street from the bus terminal, and the central rotary which can be considered the downtown strip.

The hotel is within walking distance to Cheonjiyeon Waterfall and the airport limosine stop. It is easy to take bus or taxi to Jungmun beach / area, it cost around 12,000 won one way If you can take the airport limosine on it's way to Seogwipo it will cost around 3,000. There are some decent BBQ restaurants down the back alleys, but if you don't read Korean, just follow your nose and ask what other people are eating. Just a caution - depending on your stomach,the Jeju black pigs are famous for consisting on a diet of human feces. Just a heads up incase you wanted to look for a fish or chicken place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daekuk Isleinn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daekuk Isleinn Hotel

Address: 322-6 Seogwi-dong, Seogwipo, Jeju-do 697-844, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju-do > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daekuk Isleinn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Daekuk Isleinn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daekuk Isleinn Hotel Seogwipo, Jeju-Do

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daekuk Isleinn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.