We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, but No Air Conditioning in April” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte Hotel Jeju

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lotte Hotel Jeju to your Saves list
Lotte Hotel Jeju
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, Jungmungwangwang-ro 72beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju-do 697-808, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Seogwipo
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, but No Air Conditioning in April”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel. We stayed on the 11th floor overlooking the outdoor swimming pool. The view could not have been better. From our balcony, we could watch the volcano show, which is interesting. It is a 10 minute show with lasers and few pyrotechnics followed by a couple of dragons that pop out of the water. As part of the show, they offer a buffet for ~$85 a person. The buffet is very good with both Korean and some international foods.

The staff is very courteous and the amentias are great. In the bathroom, they had extra toothbrushes, comb, razor, and other travel essentials.

The grounds of the hotel are meticulous kept. Someone was always cleaning some part of the hotel. The hotel has three restaurants, a small deli and a bar; unfortunately, we only had a chance to eat at one of the restaurants, the Italian. It was very good.

The only issue we had was that they had not turned on the air conditioning for the season; therefore, being on the 11th floor, our room stayed around 25 to 28C, making sleeping difficult. We ended up sleeping with the sliding door open, which helped. We talked to the front desk several times about the issue when we first arrived; however, I do not believe they understood the issue. We finally talked to someone in maintenance, and they told us about the problem. They were supposed to bring a fan, but it was never delivered.

In summary, if I had the chance I would differently stay here again.

Room Tip: Again, the higher floors offer a great view, but they tend to be hotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Lotte hotel Jeju and making a detailed review.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the faulty air conditioner during your stay.
There was an air conditioner inspection during your stay due to the changing of season
So we said the fan will be offered to you, but we made mistake that"s why the fan couldn't deliver it to you.
We apologise once again for the inconvenience.
We hope to see you again soon, then we will serve you with our best service.
Thank you.

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    109
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
97
62
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a short 2 night stay with my husband here while touring Korea. The hotel itself is grand, public areas and gardens, as well as the rooms, are beautiful and opulent looking. We had a small balcony overlooking the pool area which was nice to sit out on, though weather bit chilly. Staff and service excellent. Costs 10,000 won to use the indoor pool and spa (similar to a Japanese onsen, that is, no clothes). The usual onsen "rules" apply, so you need to shower thoroughly before using the spa. There is also a sauna in the spa area, really enjoyed the spa experience. There is one indoor pool for men and women (so you wear your swimming costume here), and then there are separate male and female spa areas. They even have a small machine to spin dry your cozzie while you are using the spa. The spa attendant did not speak much English but we managed our communication, with some sign language and plenty of smiles. Breakfast great, loved the abalone rice porridge and French toast (not together!). Our only regret is not having alot of time to enjoy the hotel and its immediate surroundings, as our limited time on Jeju Island meant we were out and about most of the time we were there. Oh well, means we have to visit again sometime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your valuable review on Trip advisor.
We are happy to hear that you feel comfortable as staying with us.
Also, we appreciate that your specific review, and we are assured that it would be helpful our future customer.
We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you.

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Considering it is #1 on the Jeju Island my mom and I decided to check in here. The moment we walked in the bellman were very attentive and the hostess was very helpful. Infact she decided to upgrade my mom and I to a higher room with two FREE breakfest buffet passes. The dinner buffet which included a wide variety of food was pricey ($80 CDN) but absoutely amazing. The breakfast buffet was also very delicious. If you have a chance go check out the orange juice its yummy! Another great feature was the ammenities. The hotel connects right to the beach which was beautiful and the scenery out back was interesting! I will definately be coming back as it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Lotte Hotel Jeju and for taking the time to post your feedback with us.
It was a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback as we certainly value your comments, and it is imperative for us to improve.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing experience
and We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
We will try to make your accommodations more delightful and memorable on your next visit.
Thank you so much

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks magnificent from the outside, very opulent. Upon arrival the staff were so friendly and accommodating. It was very impressive. The facilities were excellent. The room was very spacious with lovely views although the decor (I prefer ultra modern) was not to my personal taste. Great quality toiletries. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and your valuable review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you are satisfied with our facility and our service.
Also we are pleased to hear that you had a good time at Lotte Hotel Jeju.
Once again, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Thank you so much

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Check-in and -out smooth.
Western-style breakfast is disappointing, but the Japanese-style is very good.
My room was well laid out and comfortable. However the internet connection was slow.
Did not have a chance to use the facilities, but the outdoor swimming pool could be used was heated, eve and undern though it was winter.
They have an exciting fire/volcano show, but it is not suitable for children 5 - too scary.
all in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for using our hotel and your valuable review.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time in our hotel.
We are fully understand what you disappointed and we definitely promise that we will improve our goods and services such as diverse western menu, more faster internet service and more enjoyable packages
We hope you will visit our hotel again.

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

非常设施完善的酒店,很舒服。very nice place,good service,clean,facility is very good also,camping zone I very like,and the out door swimming pool is warm water and big, is very very nice for the cool weather,got different temperature for the water,u can stay until midnight,got pool bar and plasma tv, kids must be very like it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your valuable review about our Lotte Hotel Jeju
We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with our hotel. The pool you enjoyed is our new facility "He:on"
We will do our best as much as we can to improve our goods and services.
We hope you will visit our hotel again.

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
이 답변은 트립어드바이저 LLC의 의견이 아닌 시설 담당자의
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family stayed at Lotte Hotel Jeju for a few nights in early February 2013. We were all going ' wow.......' when we first approached the hotel. The entrance was spectacular , the surrounding was majestic, and the lobby was spacious. The magic didn't end there... we were next enthralled by the rooms. They were perfect! (The only setback was when making the online reservation because we could not state anywhere that we wanted a king size bed instead of twin beds!). What I loved most about the hotel was the area surrounding the main building! The windmills, the artificial waterfalls, the paths, the camping area and the cliff area where we could view the vast ocean. I was at a disadvantage because I could not Walk much nor take the stairs( due to my back problem) down to the private beach lounge but my children did and they enjoyed every bit of it! It was bitingly cold for us that evening but I was reluctant to leave the mesmerizing scenery of the sunset! I told my children that we should try the camping area in summer when my back is okay again.
The volcano light show was entertaining especially after the extensive buffet dinner! We were blessed that during our stay there was a seafood festival and as Muslims, what more could we
ask for!
The staff were all very courteous and helpful though some could not understand or speak English. My suggestion is for the hotel to place staff who are fluent in English in the lobby area. They will be very much appreciated there.
We only tried the buffet breakfast once. It was again an extensive spread but also on the expensive side. We preferred to have breakfast at Dunkin Donuts which was just located beside the hotel. All our meals were taken outside the hotel during our sightseeing tours but we saw some restaurants not far from the hotel. I guess that would be very convenient to those who do not want to dine at the hotel.
There are quite a number of places to visit around the hotel area, including the highly fascinating Alive Museum. If you do not have a transport of your own, the hotel facilities are more than enough to keep you occupied for a thoroughly relaxing stay!
In conclusion, I dare say we would never hesitate to stay at Jeju Lotte Hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your EXCEPTIONAL review on Trip advisor.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time in our hotel. We appreciate that your specific review, and we are assured that it would be helpful our future customers.
At now, We have training programs with our staff to develop their language skills.
We definitely promise that we will provide better services next time with our staff who are fluent in English.
We hope you will visit our hotel again.

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotte Hotel Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Hotel Jeju

Address: 35, Jungmungwangwang-ro 72beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju-do 697-808, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Jeju-do > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 Spa Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Hotel Jeju 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte Hotel Jeju is a luxury resort of Lotte Hotels & Resorts, opened in 2000 in the heart of Jungmun Tourism Complex. The hotel features a total of 500 guest rooms, 9 restaurants, 6banquet halls, fitness center, foreigner-only casino, duty-free shop, and diverse convenience facilities. Hotel buildings are spread across mostly on a slope of land, granting a majority of the rooms a spectacular view of the charming gardens and the open sea. The world-renowned resort hotel The Palace of the Lost City in South Africa is the model of Lotte Hotel Jeju. The hotel design firm WATG was in charge of the exterior and Wilson & Associates the interior. Their collaboration resulted in an elegant and luxurious hotel emanating Korean hospitality. The magnificence of Lotte Hotel Jeju, a reminiscence of old European castles, can be felt from the facade and has drawn many tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lotte Hotel Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotte Hotel Jeju City
Lotte Jeju City
Lotte Hotel Jeju Seogwipo, Jeju-Do

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte Hotel Jeju, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.