We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended to all my friends who are visiting Jeju, Korea.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte Hotel Jeju

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lotte Hotel Jeju to your Saves list
Lotte Hotel Jeju
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, Jungmungwangwang-ro 72beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju-do 697-808, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Seogwipo
4.5 of 5 stars 303 Reviews
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended to all my friends who are visiting Jeju, Korea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

(1) Great value for money.

(2) Private beach that overlooks the beautiful pacific ocean.
Exclusive beach lounge that caters to the beach-enthusiasts. Although the opening hours are short, it only opens from 11 am.

(3) Excellent service staff.
The demure and gentle Korean attributes, coupled with the professionalism in the hotel staff, makes the weekend stay an absolutely pleasant one.
First-class service from this renowned hotel group. Highly recommended to all my friends!

(4) If you are a fan of Korean dramas, you may chance upon a Korean drama filming set, just like we did, to much delight!
Korean dramas are one of the biggest national exports and the Lotte Hotel Jeju is one of the most popular filming locations.

Lastly, the only downside I can really think of, is the lack of proximity from the Jeju Airport. It is located on the southern tip of the island, while the airport is located on the far north. It takes about 40 min by car or bus, but I say, it is well worth it. :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are located near the elevators. The corridor to the rooms works out like a zig-z...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    107
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
88
59
10
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is by far one of the largest properties I have seen under one roof. My spacious room was a 10 minute walk from the lobby. The room was well appointed but clearly intended for holidays as opposed to business travel - not enough power outlets and no wi-fi. Breakfast was average for a western guy but my Korean colleagues seemed to like it. We ate off the property every night and played golf at Pinx GC (highly recommended) and Teddy Valley (nice). Seemed like wherever we went we were 45 minutes away. Don't know that I would stay again for business but will certainly return with my family in the summer. Seems like a great place for young children.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 2 nights at Lotte Jeju. First with the positives - the location is ideal overlooking a beach (need to walk down steep set of stairs to access) and close to many attractions and restaurants. We found it convenient for day trips on either east or west side of the island. The staff is friendly and do their best to accommodate international visitors. There are some deficiencies.... Maybe due to age of the building and hardness of water, bathroom really needs some renovation. Cracked grouts, stained carpets and walls, and soap scum marks on shower door did not impress. We loved that they offer a variety of cuisines, especially for breakfast. However, if they steer you to a ballroom for buffet breakfast, I would decline. Since the main restaurant was full, they requested us to have our buffet breakfast in the ballroom. The problem was that all foods- hot and cold - were at same temperature. Eggs and potatoes were cold while juice and fruit were lukewarm. For the price you are paying for the buffet, you'd do better outside of the hotel.
All in all, Lotte Jeju was a great place for short stay in Jeju.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Jeju island (south Korea) is considered as one of the most beautiful places in the world. I think it is correct even if it is a little bit boring.
Lotte Hotel is placed in a beautiful location (but without anything nearby). The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and the personnel and the service are excellent. The SPA (you miust pay for use it) is excellent. The restaurants offer good dining experiences even if very expensive. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

First... I have to admit that I was staying at the Lotte Hotel while taking part in a conference, and the cost of my stay was covered. However, this was clearly the sort of expensive hotel where you get what you pay for. My room was spacious and the 'mini bar' in one corner was almost like a little shop. I had all my breakfasts in the hotel, but only one evening meal. The breakfasts were buffet-style, with an amazingly wide choice of Western and Korean foodstuffs. I was surprised how busy the hotel was, and it was really quite large. My room overlooked what I thought was a swimming pool and an artificial waterfall, but at 8.30pm every evening, this was transformed into an epic battle-ground between scary spirits of water and volcanoes, with a fire-breathing dragon rising from the water. I don't know how many kids had nightmares after watching this, but I found it quite entertaining from my balcony. I always found the staff pleasant and helpful, and most of the ones I dealt with spoke English. The sheer size of the hotel means that there is a LOT of walking to be done from one place to another, but the surroundings are spacious and ornate, and the grounds are interesting to explore, linking with the Jeju Olle Trail. Buses stop inside the covered lobby, offering quick and easy links with the airport and the town of Segowipo. Generally, I'd consider this sort of hotel outside my price range, but I'm sure it offers value for money if you have the money to spare in the first place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

It's a resort and all the good and bad things that go with a resort, go with it. Good- nice rooms, fancy pool, restaurants, concierge, extremely polite employees. Bad- overpriced mini-bar in room, overpriced restaurants, charges for extras like internet. But all the bad is expected at a resort so it's not a shock, and as a result, not that big of a deal. It's on the beach, which to get to, you must walk down lots of steps. The beach is nice with some wave action, hard-core lifeguards (do not go outside the ropes), and soft sand that looks like seasoning for poultry. Don't pay rack rate for this hotel but you can find some decent deals. I didn't travel with kids but it looks like a great place for families with the volcano show, kid friendly buffets, the big windmills and the pool. But if you're a couple looking for something a bit more elegant, you might want to try another nearby resort. Another good thing about this place, it's easy to catch a cab, and the bus stop is nearby. It's a good location to start from to see other parts of the island during the day. The employees are also a good source of information on getting to places and where to eat certain types of food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

In my opinion, it is a near prefect hotel for families. As i was travelling with a group tour which doesnt include breakfast at Lotte, i couldnt comment on the spread or quality of the food.

The rooms are very tastefully designed with a superb comfy mattress. Each room has a balcony which allows you to have a great view of the surroundings. If you wake up early, you can enjoy a gorgeous view of the sea behind the hotel. A must place to go within the hotel is the platform viewing which leads to the beach.
Only drawback of the hotel is the maze-like design of the whole hotel. You need to pasds through numerous corners just to get to your room and the lifts doesnt serve all floors.
Overall, a terrific hotel.
First choice in Jeju.
I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotte Hotel Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Hotel Jeju

Address: 35, Jungmungwangwang-ro 72beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju-do 697-808, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Jeju-do > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Hotel Jeju 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte Hotel Jeju: Lotte Hotel Jeju opened on April 25th, 2000, and celebrates its 12th anniversary in 2012. It is a resort hotel featuring 500 guest rooms, 8 restaurants and bars, 6 banquet rooms accommodating diverse functions from major international events to seminars, outdoor swimming pool surrounded by palm trees, fitness club, business center, duty-free shop, casino, camping zone, private beach lounge and other additional facilities. Kids World, a multi-functional playground for families with children, opened in July 2009.The romantic and exotic retreat Lotte Hotel Jeju brings you a world of pink!In collaboration with Japan ’s Sanrio, Lotte Hotel Jeju newly opens Hello Kitty Character Rooms on the fourth floor of the Main Building for the first time in the world. The room, bed, sofa, bathroom, and even corridors are decorated in the theme of Hello Kitty, a character much loved by children all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lotte Hotel Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotte Hotel Jeju City
Lotte Jeju City
Lotte Hotel Jeju Seogwipo, Jeju-Do

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte Hotel Jeju, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.