We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy owner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jeju Hiking Inn

Save Saved
You added Jeju Hiking Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jeju Hiking Inn
587-15 Seogwi-Dong, Seogwipo, Jeju-do, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grumpy owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Lousy guesthouse & lousy owner. His not very friendly at all to us. When I asked him if he can increase the temperature of the room because we were cold, he asked why since now is April & May is coming. I told him I am Malaysian and I am not use to cold weather. He simply said other Malaysian has no problem with the room temperature. I told him straight away, I don't drink liquor to heat up my body temperature. So pls increase the room temperature for us.

He mixed up our booking. When we checked in he gave us 02 rooms. I told him that I made and amendment to 01 tpl sharing room. He said no, you booked 02 rooms. We discussed about this for a while and finally I gave in. Took 02 rooms. Several hours later, he come to us and said he make a mistake and asked us to surrender the other extra room next day. Before this during our conversation via email, he mixed up our booking too and I have to correct him several times. Up to the time we chk in, mistake still happen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
8
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tel-aviv
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

On the good side, nice place and nice people. We paid extra for a room with a view, which was ok, and the room itself was one of the nicest we've been in. On the bad, mostly it was the very poor quality of wifi reception at the hostel, even when we took the laptop down to the lobby. they have computers, but also not so good, slow. Not all staff could speak English, and unlike other hostels they didn't provide shampoo or conditioner, only hard soap. They didn't clean the room once during our 4 nights stay, and on the last one, at 11 pm there was no hot water.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Well, nothing much to complaint on this hotel since they offer a budget stay. Plus, they have a friendly and mum feel helper which around 50years old++
Some tips for the travelers to this inn:
1) Free laundry services
2) Avoid heavy luggage. No lift available.You will be dead meat to climb up/down with the staircase if you stay more that 1 floor up.
3) Hot water supply in certain time only. So don't missed out the golden time or else you will be freeze in the dam cool weather period.
4) They offer taxi tour from 9am-6pm which only cost KRW100,000.00. In actual, you may end up some additional cost KRW10,000.00 to the driver.
5) Room is small.
6) Remember to ask the staff to clean your room. In actual, they only clean the room every 3 days or after guest check out.
7) Can be reach by the airport limousine bus 600 which stop at the sun beach hotel. You still need to take 10 min walk to the hotel not 3-minute walk.

Room Tip: Avoid to stay higher floor with heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Its my second stay. Chose here because its cheap and for its location. Its located near seowipo harbour. The facilites are good enough. You should go up to the roof and enjoy the scenery from there. Pls take note that they do provide taxi tour guide. But i doubt that the driver is able to speak in English. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped with utensils..They dont have free wifi. And its quite troublesome to go down to use their computer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The owner of the Jeju Hiking Inn is not friendly and polite at all. The time we asked him to help checking on the Submarine tour availability due to the bad weather, he sounds unhappy/not willing to do that. What a poor service!
The room is not clean. I found some bed bugs the first night I stayed... very disgusting.
Definitely not recommend one to stay here if you have a choice...

Room Tip: Don't stay at this Inn if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

It is cheap and thus you can't expect too much. I saw a double as well as a single room. What you get is:

- good bus location from airport (grab a Jeju map at the informaiton counter, get to bus 600, (costs 5000 Won (i. e. 3,5 euro/5 US$)), stop after 1 hour 15 min. at New Gyeongnam Hotel (will be announced in English) walk in the direction of the bus for 5 min. At the next junction to the right the second house on the left (at the corner is a little store with HIKING INN pronted on the window). Local bus stops are 10-15 min. away
- rooms have enough space for bags, have a fridge, AC, (Asian) TV, bed with good hard mattress. Of course the place needs some fixing but in my room was a new door and so some things get fixed. You get a spacious enough bathroom The Shower was hot. The sheets could be more clean (they are old and washed but not well ironed).
- The rooftop has banks to sit and have a nice view over the small harbor.
- One waterfall is jsut 300 m away (downhill, steep, to the harbor)
- as the location is near a road you will hear a bit of traffic noise. I am sensitive to noise but could sleep with ear plugs very well.

Tips: There is a tourist information 10am- 6pm at the waterfall. As the owner is sometimes very helpful, other times not (he sleeps mostly behind the counter and is woken up by his guests - so I can understand that he sometimes doesn't like to explain. But he has maps and his good times (I encountered both). He can talk English well, but not the other femals person helping him.

It is possible to get around by public busses which I did. You always have to ask people and the bus driver because you can't read a word and the announcement in English don't help you as you don't know how your destination is properly announced. And you always have to walk a lot. Though you can get to the lave tube (1:30 h), Udo (1 h), Mount Hallasan (1 h), Jungmun area (30 min.), Folk Village (35 min.). Busses go regularly but it takes walking and asking and thus takes its time. You can rent scooters but this is 20 min. away from the inn.

The whole island has dozens of museums, dozens of sights - everywhere. You need a lot of time to see them and don't expect too much. There is nothing spectacular on this island. The advertisements suggest unique beauties but they are rather just nice than exciting. I am from Germany and know the Spanish vulcanic islands as well as a lot of beaches worldwide. Jeju can't beat them. If you don't have much time you don't need to go here. Seoul and Busan are a must, Gyeongju maybe for 1-2 days. Jeju is only good if you are interested in volcanic things. Anyway, it is a nice island, especially if you have a car.

- there are free internet PCs and free international calls (!).
- there is a room with a stove and several chairs and a desk for eating.
- the rented bikes were awful in condition

So you get a relatively spacious room and bathroom all for yourself for the price of other hostels bunk beds and shared bathrooms. My 4 nights there were comfortable and I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I had a good experience with the owner and inn as a whole. The owner sat us down, gave us a map, and told us all the good places to go. If you go in respectful, he will be respectful back and be willing to help you in any way. There's a little kitchen and internet spot that we found useful. The accommodations are not the "ritz", but if you are looking for a place to just crash at night because you're spending all your time playing on the island, then this is a good stay. If your high-moderate maintenance, you probably won't like it as much.

Tip: bring your own towel

Room Tip: we chose D type room seaview - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jeju Hiking Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeju Hiking Inn

Address: 587-15 Seogwi-Dong, Seogwipo, Jeju-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju-do > Seogwipo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Specialty lodging in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Jeju Hiking Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeju Hiking Inn Seogwipo, Jeju-Do

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeju Hiking Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.