We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel in a Quiet Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little France Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Little France Hotel to your Saves list
Little France Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Taepyeong-ro 371beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju-do, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Seogwipo
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Charming Boutique Hotel in a Quiet Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from Mar 31 to Apr 2, 2012. Hotel is located at Seogwipo. We chose to stay in Seogwipo over Jeju City or Jungmun Resort Complex and was very pleased with our decision. Hotel offers excellent value.

Little France is within 3 minutes walk after getting off the airport limousine bus (#600) stop at the New Gyeongnam Hotel (usually the last stop). Property is clean, charming, and nicely decorated. The staff has limited English but is very helpful. There is a side street within 2 minutes walk north of the hotel where there are lots of tasty and very reasonable Korean restaurants where all the locals eat. The ones we tried all accepted Visa card.

There are no rental car companies located in Seogwipo. You'll need to rent a car at the airport or in Jeju City. But we didn't need a car. The first day we caught the around-the-island bus next to the Seogwipo local bus terminal to go the the Sunrise Peak, then caught a ferry to Udo Island. The second day we caught the route 5.16 bus at the smaller bus lot next to the Seogwipo lcoal bus terminal to go hiking at Hallasan's Seongpanak trail, then walked to the Cheonjiyeon Waterfal (10-15 minutes walk from hotel) after returning in the late afternoon. The third day we caught the airport limousine bus to visit the Jungmun Resort Complext area.

Jeju city is busier and much more touristy than Seogwipo. Other than gambling, Jungmun Resort Complex offers few attractions and very limited restaurant choices besides those in the mega-sized hotels. Getting cash from an ATM machine at Seogwipo can be a challenge. Best to obtain cash at Incheon, Gimpo, or Jeju airport.

Room Tip: Hotel has four floors with each floor decorated in a different style. Price increases by W10,000 fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    46
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here from 8-10 April in an "Antique room".
Followed the reviews and took bus 600 and the stop was a short walk away, though the ride itself took about just over an hour on a long windy route.
As described, checking in was purely transactional. Give hotel voucher, take key in silence.
The room was nice and comfortable. Mattress was very firm and pillows a bit too soft for my liking. No nice plush bath towels, but 4 face towels. No toothbrush, toiletries are not individual but dispensed from a family size dispenser.
Location is walking distance to the waterfalls and the city centre where there is a market, lots of food and a bit of shopping. Ordered the mixed raw sashimi platter which turned out to be quite a fear factor experience even though i love conventional sashimi.
We also went to Danneko trail at Mount Halla, 10mins taxi ride. Be sure to check trail restriction timings before coming up.
Lava tubes are 40mins away closer to Jeju City so we gave that a miss.
Overall, the location let us visit a few attractions on foot while taking in the sights and sound of a Korean seaside town. There are a few nice walking routes, lookout for the signs. There is one from where bus 600 drops you off. It was especially nice walking around given the Cherry Blossoms were in full bloom.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Its a nice, clean and big room to stay. Although the view is not really nice, you only can see building outside the window but the room is comfortable enough. The service complete with everything you need, toiletries, computer with high speed wifi, tv, heating system/aircond, even perfume and air gel with a huge comb. Near to restaurant, 25minutes walk to Jeongbang waterfall, 15minutes walk to Cheonjiyeon waterfall and Seogwipo port about 20minutes walk. To get here, you can take limousine bus no. 600 at Gate 5 jeju aiport and get off at New Kyungnam Hotel, walk towards Sunbeach hotel and turn left at the 1st intersection. About 10minutes to little france. The first bus will be departed at 6.20am from Seogwipo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I spent the long week-end on Jeju and had a great vacation. We stayed at this place, which my sister's husband's brother recommended. He is a local tour operator. His help and advise was great. This is not a plug for him or the hotel, but I was witness to the amazing Korean hospitality, which extends to loosely tied family.
Anyway, back to the hotel. Location was great. Close to artist E Jeong Seop's area, and very close to the water; walking distance to many different attractions. There was a lounge/bar on the first floor, which had a funny misprint in English, but we just looked inside. The lobby area was nice and clean. There were neat stacks of tourist information brochures. The clerk was helpful, and knew enough English to make me feel bad about my lack of fluent Korean. The rooms were divided by floor. We stayed on the 5th floor. Nice, clean room, classic furniture, T.V, computer. Very nice, and clean bathroom. Great view of the southern coast.
The real treat came the next day. We went out early for coffee and a walk to Cheonji Falls and when we came back an 1 later our room was cleaned, new towels and bed made.
A welcome change from the similarly priced "love" motels on the mainland.
The clerk was very helpful in pointing us to a good, open, place to eat dinner. We were there during a holiday.
There was construction going on across the street, which may have been why the parking lot was so small. We rented a car and had to park on the street which was very narrow. The lot only had 10 spaces. That was the closest thing to a problem during our stay.

Great service, great price, clean, etc.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a better view on the south side, and I believe they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongducheon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed at the hotel this weekend and it was great. So worth seeking out a place other than the more touristy, overpriced hotels. It's within walking distance to several tourist sites and a great food/shopping area. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdambased traveller
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel is on a central location on walking distance to the little harbour (south) where are some restaurants including some Korean-BBQ where you can enjoy the islands famous black-pig meat.
The bus terminal is about 15 min. walking up north from the hotel, just go one the main street.
The hotel itself has themed floors;al the room on the specific floor have an interior with a thema e.g. Asian floor, Modern Floor, Antique floor. I had an Asian style room on the 3rd floor; this was a so-called " ondol" room ( Korean style floorheatingsystem) which was suited with a lifted floor with floor-heating. Nice decor. Staff speaks hardly any English so your key is given in total silence, happily I pre-booked and go show the voucher.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Decent Hotel, excellent location, terrible bed. We made the mistake of booking the Oriental room which has the hardest bed I have ever slept on in my life. The hotel itself is clean and is located close to a market street, waterfall attraction, and other stuff. Staff speaks a little bit of English but not much. For the price it is a decent place but DO NOT book the oriental room unless you want to wake up with a spinal contusion.

Room Tip: Oriental Rooms have very hard beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little France Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little France Hotel

Address: 18, Taepyeong-ro 371beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju-do > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little France Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Little France Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little France Hotel Seogwipo, Jeju-Do

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little France Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.