We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Transit Hotel at Ghost Town-but-not for tourist"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benikea Hotel Oceanside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Benikea Hotel Oceanside to your Saves list
Benikea Hotel Oceanside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40, Masiran-ro, Jung-gu, Incheon 400-410, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Incheon
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Transit Hotel at Ghost Town-but-not for tourist"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Incheon Airport tourist information desk called the hotel and hotel staff answered that ask me to take taxi to hotel and will pay back KRW15000(=S$20). Hotel free shuttle is from 6AM to 5PM only and will fetch with taxi beyond odd hour for flight in-out. So the hotel is good for transit only. We plan for tour by using airport free shuttle from hotel is not applicable. We walk back from airport to hotel took 1.5hour to save taxi fare at night 10pm after tour around from Seoul. I saw Bus no.202 pass by but couldn't find bus stop. The hotel room is nice interior but jaccuci and steam bath are not working at all. Free breakfast boiled egg and sausage, juice drink at the restaurant in the hotel is good. The place is look like ghost town because empty and abandon petrol station (oil bank), some restaurant some building in the village. Place look busy once upon a time but now ghost town. I saw Train station and Light Rail station near by but not functioning at all. Anyway, I will stay again if transit. I will not stay again if I tourist because of transport taxi fare is expensive KRW15000 compare to M day pass cost KRW10000 for free train and bus whole day pass.

Room Tip: For children with baby pram, please choose right side of hotel room because elevator landing is ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
13
19
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I did not like the room because it was very old and the lighting was very dim. Poor ventilation. Showerhead need to be replaced. No window view. Airport shuttle was effective. Staff were very helpful. Will choose to stay in a better hotel next time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The first impression was not good. The shuttle met us at the airport and held the door open so we could load our bags. No offer of assistance and he seemed put out when I didn't close the door after we'd exited the van at the hotel.
Things did get better and overall the hotel was clean and the folks at the desk and in the restaurant were pleasant enough. The included breakfast was basic but adequate.
Lots of shellfish restaurants in the area as well as beaches within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Everything I have read about their pick up service from the airport turned out to be totally wrong for us. We called and was told to wait (after a LONG flight from San Francisco) 10 minutes or so, behind the Ambulance. We waited about 45 minutes. There was no way one can NOT find us because my husband is 6' tall and we were the only foreigners in sight. I called again and was told, "Oh, we are coming. Please wait." I reminded them that we have been waiting for 45 minutes. This was the answer, "Oh we went but could not find you". That is when I had lost it and said, "If you want to lie, you need a much bigger brain. I am taking a taxi and you will be paying us back". By the time we went downstairs, found a cab who understood where the hotel was, etc. it was more than 90 minutes from our arrival time. When we reached the hotel, we had to pay the driver 20,000 KRW. Yes, the cab driver was a crook as well. The hotel guy got a 10,000 note back and returned our 20,000. I asked if there are indeed towels in our room (after reading all the reviews) and was reassured. However, like most people, we had one reasonable size towel and two hand towels. I did not feel like talking to this moron any more. Bathroom was dirty as a lot of reviewers said. Next morning I found out the two male housekeepers do not care at all about cleaning (I watched them for a while when they were cleaning other rooms). Air conditioner has a 4 degrees intervals for temp setting which is a bit more difficult to control because the comfort zone for our body is less than 4 degree C. Our Agoda voucher said, "Breakfast". While we were having horrible breakfast (even more horrible coffee) the same moron walked into the restaurant and informed us that it will cost us about $6 each for breakfast. I had no intention of arguing with this idiot. Twelve dollars at that point was a small price to pay to get rid of him from my face. Nobody smiled in this hotel, not even by mistake. One other guest had informed us that it is under new management now and he is very disappointed this time.

One good point to mention: the restaurant exactly across the street from the hotel is very good and reasonably priced for dinner. There, everyone smiled and served with grace and politeness.

No, I will NOT return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the East wing where the elevator stops at the room level. Actually , do NOT get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight between flights, booked last minute and so paid a premium price. Thank goodness I could walk the beach nearby as it took the sting out it somewhat.

The staff, particularly Ju at the front desk, was really helpful and spoke excellent english. I also got the complimentary shuttle to and from the airport which was prompt and pleasant.

The lobby and room were decorated with wrought iron, antiques and attempts to give a cottage-like feel which, for a hotel, they achieved. A comfy couch in the lobby and a bench outside would be crowning touch, as the wooden benches inside didn't encourage a relaxed sit in which to plan your day.

I was given 1 bath towel and 2 hand towels which was adequate for me and along with the bedding were nice and clean. Bed was a queen sized double and very firm, which I prefer, so I was happy to sleep there.

There was also a small bar fridge, big TV, good AC and overall it was pretty quiet. Wifi was free and fast!

As for cleanliness, the bathroom was quite disgusting. The cup by the sink was not well washed, the grouting in the bathroom had mildewy grunge in many places, the tub housing was coming apart and splatters of previous tenants' bath products were seen on the tiles. Out of curiosity, I tried to wipe off some of the stuff on the bathroom walls and it came off quite easily. So, housekeeping is pretty slack here.

They provided slippers and flip flops for the room/bath but they were also so grotty I couldn't bare to touch them let alone slip them on.

So overall, nice people, adequate hotel, subpar cleanliness. I probably won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was staying at this hotel after a long flight. I should say the best thing was that they have a free shuttle bus-that's really amazing-no worries about getting to the hotel when your head is spinning from new information and location. The staff is very helpful and the room has everything you need. I reccomend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Can Tho, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at Oceanside between flights on my way to Turkey. The front desk service was good and the deluxe double room above expectation. I wasn't there long enough to explore its proximity to the beach but I could certainly smell the fresh sea air. It was August and quite hot, but the air conditioner worked well. The only issue for me was the early finish to breakfast at 9.00 am. It doesn't start particularly early either. Given it is beach-side and also a place for air travellers in transit to stay this was unexpected. Too bad if you get in very late and need to sleep in. I got to breakfast late and while the waiter was surly and clearly didn't want to serve me he did in fact ensure I ate. So a negative but also a positive and not sufficient for me not to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benikea Hotel Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Hotel Oceanside

Address: 40, Masiran-ro, Jung-gu, Incheon 400-410, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Incheon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Incheon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benikea Hotel Oceanside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Side Hotel is a vintage European-style economic hotel close to Incheon International Airport , the airline hub of North East Asia . The hotel, with five stories above ground and one below ground, has 53 cozy and comfortable rooms designed in a unique Mediterranean style. The hotel also has a coffee shop & restaurant, conference room, karaoke and an outdoor barbeque space. Our employees strive to provide a comfortable environment to all guests. ● Guest Benefit BENIKEA HOTEL OCEANSIDE where 10mins away(by car) from Incheon International airport offers free parking service(4days and 3nights) for all staying guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Benikea Hotel Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benikea Hotel Oceanside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.