We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice well priced upscale hotel in Gyeongju” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Gyeongju

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Gyeongju to your Saves list
Hilton Gyeongju
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   484-7, Bomun-ro, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 780-290, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gyeongju
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice well priced upscale hotel in Gyeongju”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed in this hotel while in Gyeongju. Its a very nice upscale hotel. Looked a little dated on the outside but the interior looked like it was newly renovated. Location is around Lake Bomun so a nice quiet resort area but a little far from town. Cab rides would average around US$15.00 one way to town. The breakfast buffet cost approx. US$30.00 which I thought was very good value considering the variety, quality of food and location of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeon S, Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Gyeongju, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in the Hilton Gyeongju.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Since your satisfaction is important to us, We are committed the best quality of service along with the Hilton hospitality.
We look forward to wecloming you again in nesr future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
61
68
8
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent staff, Excellent experience! Highly recommend. Breakfast is A+. Staff is very courteous and helpful for anything required. Rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. Location is within a resort area and close to the Gyeongju KTX station by taxi or bus. Highly recommend for anyone travelling to the area. Thank you Gyeongju Hilton for an excellent experience as always!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeon S, Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Gyeongju, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are Pleased you had the opportunity to experience Hilton Gyeongju. And thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us and We will certainly share your warm comments with our team members.We hope that you will choose Hilton Gyeongju again on your next return to Gyeongju.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I'm here now - 5th July 2014. Arrived expecting to stay 2 nights with my family in a a relaxed resort hotel to sit by the pool, read a book and for my wife and daughters use Spa facilities.

Finding there is only an indoor pool which you have to pay 15,000W per person use. It is the only hotel I have cone across to do this. Decided to use it on the basis that it must be great to be worthy of such a charge. It turned out to be a rather modest pool, tiny crowded Jacuzzi and not appropriate for a relaxing poolside time.

There is no garden and no other facilities except resturants. We trapped for 2 days with nothing to do.

On the plus side the staff are very helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with some of my Korean family, and found it to be very comfortable. While the staff didn't speak much english, they were very polite, befitting Korean standards. The room was comfortable and spacious, with beds that were soft by Korean standards - still a bit firm for me, but not bad. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety of eastern and western foods, and everything was fresh and delicious. Service at the restaurant was impeccable. The grounds of the hotel are just gorgeous with a beautiful lake just a short stroll away. It's not located very near town or other attractions, so expect to drive or take a taxi. However, taxis are plentiful and cheap, so it's not a problem. I thought this was an excellent base from which to explore this beautiful ancient capitol city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeon S, Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Gyeongju, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay in the Hilton Gyeongju.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Since your satisfaction is important to us, We are committed the best quality of service along with the Hilton hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Love this hotel. Beds are comfortable. Staff is nice and Can speak some English. Ate in one of the restaurant downstairs - all were very expensive. We had the Mediterranean buffet which was delicious but 55,000 Won per person.

Hotel charges 15,000 per person fee to use the swimming pool. Ridiculous.

Lake view is beautiful. However they are remodeling the outdoor pool area which made sitting on the patio to watch the sunset slightly less wonderful.

Very relaxing and would recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeon S, Marketing Coordinator at Hilton Gyeongju, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are pleased you had the opportunity to experience Hilton Gyeongju, and thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your ovweall stay with us and We will certainly share your warm comments with our team members. We hope that you will choose Hilton Gyeongju again on your next return ro Gyeongju.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We only stayed for one night at Gyeongju Hilton. It’s one of several hotels in the “hotel strip” of Bomunho Lake resort district. Beside it were the Commodore, Concorde, KT, Bomun, etc. They’re around the Bomunho Lake, together with attractions like Gyeongju World (the local amusement park), golf course, shooting range, millennium park, hot air balloon rides, Expo Park, food villages, and so on. And it’s really just a short drive from the downtown area with its tombs. Hilton is clearly the most impressive of the hotels in the area and is the most strategically positioned on the lakeside.

It has a huge driveway, a huge parking lot a vey beautiful garden all along the back filled with interesting figure sculptures; in fact, the breakfast hall has a full inviting view of the gardens. While we were there, a good part of the back was being renovated so a bit of an eyesore if you get a lakeview room – but it should be ready 2-3 months from now.

I was impressed that all the hotel people spoke decent English, from bell hop, concierge staff, front desk, waiters, maitre’d. Restaurant choices outside are very limited unless you like Korean and can get by pointing at pictures of Korean dishes. But the Hilton lobby lounge serves great snacks – sandwiches, pizzas, salads, beers – at all times of the day and the prices are acceptable by international hotel standards.

The lobby is large, and they use the higher-tech key cards that you just tap on the door panel. However, they’re not as security conscious as other hotels and don’t require you to tap the elevator panel to get to your floor.

We happened to get a junior suite for the kids and it was hugely impressive – instead of the living room antechamber, they put up the third queen sized bed with a free-standing TV set in the middle of the entire space. We had a room with a balcony – nice to drink wine while gazing at the lake in late afternoon. The rooms are relatively larger than normal and all tastefully decorated. However, the bathrooms are probably on the small side of average. I did appreciate the “rain forest” showerhead and the fog-free mirror, two features I hadn’t seen in the other luxury hotels in Korea. There are enough universal outlets; though there weren’t enough English TV channels to satisfy the remote control surfers. Wi-fi is free, another item we appreciated.

Breakfast fare is relatively limited – for example, no Chinese fare such as noodles, fried rice, dimsum, etc. But Western fare was relatively complete – salads, breads, juices (not fresh though), eggs, hams and bacons, etc. I appreciated the variety of pastries. And they had yummy chicken slices that I hadn’t seen served in other breakfast buffets before.

If you’re staying in Gyeongju for 1 or 2 nights, the Hilton is a great choice.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

In this city, there are not many people who speak Korea so I think I made a good decision in choosing Hilton.

Staffs at the front desk could speak English but not very fluent. For other staffs..... They could speak very little English. Well... at least they could speak some!

For the room, well the view was nice but personally I didn't like the interior design coz it was more business type. This city is a historical city so I expected more cultural design.

What surprised me most was the fact that guests had to pay extra service fee for swimming pool and sauna. It was around $10+ each.

As for breakfast, there were various choices. In addition, I liked the garden view of the restaurant.

Hope that my review would be helpful for you ^^

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Gyeongju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Gyeongju

Address: 484-7, Bomun-ro, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 780-290, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gyeongju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Gyeongju 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Gyeongju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Kyongju
Hilton Hotel Kyungju
Hilton Kyongju
Kyongju Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Gyeongju, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.