We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellus Rose Pension Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bellus Rose Pension Hotel to your Saves list
Bellus Rose Pension Hotel
2.5 of 5 Pension (B&B)   |   515-15 Bukgun-Dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 780-280, South Korea   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The pension is quite far away from the downtown. It is surrounded by rice fields and local people. The room is lovely and cozy. The amenities are equipped. You can have fresh air and good view walking around the area. It is just 10 minutes walk to the bus stop and the taxi from downtown is not that expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We drove so the location and distance from the attraction was not an issue. We did have some problems finding the pension. And when we arrived, there was no one at the office and we had to wait around 10minutes before the owner returned. Owner was very kind in providing information of the region and suggestions of the attractions.

Our room was "Cutie" facing the pool. The room was clean, cozy and spacious. Certainly one of our favorites on our 16 day tour of South Korea. The wifi signal was very weak and we could not get any signals in the room, unless we were standing by the windows.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Looks more like a house than a hotel, but rooms are nicer and the staff was much more helpful than some more standard hotels I stayed at in Korea. I guess hotel means something very specific to some people, so if you're one of those, just think of it as an upscale bed and breakfast.

Details:
Bicycles available for use free.
Optional traditional dinner and western breakfast for 10,000/8,000 won.
Owner's English middling but her son's English is good and she'll call him if there's confusion.
10-minute walk to bus stop.
Surrounding area is mostly similar places, though there are some restaurants near the bus stop.
Rooms are nicely-decorated and very clean.
Shoes should be removed when entering.
Owner was very good about helping me plot out my tourist plans and even called a taxi for me when I got stranded near Mt. Namsam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

It is not a hotel ! It is a pension, more like bed & breakfast kind of thing, but breakfast is not free.
This hotel located in the middle of no where ! There is absolutely nothing nearby. The closest shop, restaurants, & bus stop is a 15 minute walk on a road with no sidewalk and dark in the evening with little light. Too much upraising from others for an average place such this one brought confusion to myself and will do the same to future travelers as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is not a hotel, it is more like a bed and breakfast, the rooms are nicely decorated (though maybe with some bright and peculiar colors) and it is very clean. There is no daily cleaning service. The bathroom is kinda small and the shower has no curtain so the water gets around in the bathroom. As most have said, the staff is very friendly, not fluent in English but they they know the basics to communicate. Just when we booked the hotel through booking.com we got an e-mail from the hotel informing us they had a free pick-up service so we just had to tell them the time and station and they picked us up with no extra charge, so we really had no trouble at all finding the hotel. The location is off town but a bus stop is just a 10 minute walk away, once you know what buses to take and where the stop is, it is quite easy to move around. Also, around the stop there are several restaurants and a Seven Eleven, so you're not in the middle of nowhere. The family knows how to make business: breakfast was optional for about 10,000 won, it was served in the room, at whatever time you asked for it, and included coffee, juice, cereal, milk, fruit, boiled egg, which was ok. They also offered a barbeque for dinner for about 40,000-50,000 won (can't really remember the price) for 2 persons, which we didn't take, and they drove us to the train station when we were leaving for a very reasonable price (cheaper than taxis). Overall, it was a nice stay, we have no complaints and would recommend it, good price-quality relation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Totally disappointed and conned! Booked it for two nights via booking.com, misled by the word "hotel" used a number of times on that site's description of the property, excellent reviews on this and the booking.com site and a price in the region of 80 USD per night. First we wasted half an hour trying to locate the place - it is not signposted, GPS has not heard of it, finally some local lady pointed the direction to us. We went in and were asked to take our shoes off at the doorstep! No other hotel in Korea made such demands! The owners spoke but a few words of English, but that is par for the course in S Korea. Definitely not a 80 bucks a night affair, would perhaps be passable at a quarter of the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Basically I echo the comments of others. Very friendly and helpful staff. English spoken. Clean with cutely decorated rooms. A bit out of town but less-so than the upmarket hotels - make sure you have hotel name, address and phone number in Korean for taxi driver. A pleasant bike ride into town - hotel provides free bike hire but the bikes were falling apart a little (but still useable).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellus Rose Pension Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellus Rose Pension Hotel

Address: 515-15 Bukgun-Dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 780-280, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellus Rose Pension Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellus-Rose Pension is located in Gyeongju and is part of the Bomun Special Tourist Complex. Surrounded by natural landscape, the hotel offers a free area pickup service from nearby buildings.Rooms at Pension Bellus-Rose come with both air-conditioning and heating, as well as free Wi-Fi. Each is fitted with a cable TV, fridge and fully equipped kitchenette. For guests’ convenience, the hotel provides a small convenience shop. Free bicycles are available for guests to explore the area at leisure. Guests can enjoy a continental breakfast in their rooms. Bellus-Rose provides barbecue pits, as well as Korean traditional barbecue dishes upon request. Bellus-Rose Pension is a 10-minute walk from Bomun Lake. Gyeongju Bus Terminal is about 5.5 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bellus Rose Pension Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellus Rose Pension Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.