We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, comfortable & value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of December Hotel Jeju

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added December Hotel Jeju to your Saves list
December Hotel Jeju
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Sammu-ro 1-gil, Jeju, Jeju-do 690-170, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Jeju
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simple, comfortable & value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had booked the family room for our trip sometime in October, and it was a decision I certainly did not regret. The room was spacious, clean and well-kept with adequate shower amneties (including hair gel and moisturizer) and coffee/tea making facillities. There was also free wi-fi provided in the hotel rooms. The frontline staff of the hotel were also very friendly, and provided good advice on the various eating and shopping places around the hotel, and even drew out a map for our reference to the areas we might be interested in. Thanks to their recommendations, we managed to enjoy a nice dinner of abalone porridge on our first night of free and easy in Jeju. Paris Baguette is also about a 15 mins walk from the hotel, so if you need to grab breakfast (no breakfast is provided at the hotel), that will be an option you can look out for as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    89
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
53
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked 2 rooms as there were 3 adults and 2 kids....

Do not bother too much of the first impression of the hotel -the exterior is not that appealing. But once you step in, you will realise that the front desk personnel is very helpful.

The rooms are comfortable and definitely serve their purpose well.

For food options, just ask Mr Kim, the front desk personnel. He drew the directions for us on small pieces of paper. Under his recommendations, we had the following within walking distance: pork noodle soup, grilled mackerel fish, ginseng chicken. Another one not to be missed is the BBQ black pork that jeju is famous for - a 10 minute taxi ride away.

Hotel does not have any dining option. For breakfast, we bought pastries and bread from the bakeries walkable from the hotel (Paris Baguette chain)

If you have a budget to keep whilst in Jeju and do not need all the hotel frills, December Hotel is definitely for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Our family are very happy with the excellent condition of the room and bath. They are clean like new. Felt like a 4 star hotel room. Only downside is there are not many eating places there in the morning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I spent our first night here, it was a very simple, small hotel but it has everything you need for a goodnight sleep after a wholeday of tired feet exploring jeju. The room was clean as well as the bathroom, quiet location, amenities inside the room was good most esp. a computer in each room. And ofcourse with a friendly hotel staff. It's a good hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It is a budget hotel with excellent service, We rent a car in Jeju. However, we were not used to left hand side driving. The staff in the hotel helped us to park our car everytime. Everything is quite decent in the room too. There is a bathtub in the 4 person room. The carpet in the corridor may not look clean but it is acceptable. The TV, aircon, hair dyer and every electrical appliances are Samsung brand

It is 10 min drive to the famous roast pork restaurant too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The room is huge and there's even a desktop computer in the room! We are pleasantly surprised to see a bathtub too!

I've read some reviewers commented that there are no shower curtains, and sure enough i felt that it was weird there's no shower curtains but I realised that it could be a culture in Korea. I've stayed in 3 hotels/hostels in Korea and all did not come with shower curtains. But the toilet is huge enough not to cause your clothes to be wet etc. So no worries!

A few traveller tips here:
1. Always bring your own toothpaste. The hotels in Korea all provide a big tube of toothpaste to be shared by everyone!
2. Bring your own slippers! The hotel provides slippers but its reusable types and not too sure how it has been cleaned/sterilised.

Dinner can be found just a few streets away from the hotel, less than 8 mins walk. And do go for the cheap 10,000 won BBQ pork! Fantastic meal!

Stayed here for 7 nights and no complaints about this great for value hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in two different rooms and found the hotel to be a step up from some hostels. I doubt that it is really the #1 hotel in town, but I guess that depends on what one uses for criteria. The corridors were absolutely disgusting with dirty, stained carpeting on both floors where we stayed. The rooms showed their age but were clean except for the upholstered chairs, which were dirty. As there is no shower curtain for the bath tub, it is impossible to use the shower feature at the height it is affixed without flooding the bathroom. To avoid getting water everywhere, I used the shower as a hand-held device and kept the water in the tub. The old, formerly white bath and hand towels are very thin and starting to grey.

Despite the drawbacks, this hotel is amazingly popular. Low-priced rooms and proximity to the airport (10 minutes max by cab) are likely a couple of the reasons. The reception staff is helpful and the two men there during our stay spoke good English. Because of its location on a side street, rooms are quiet at night. No food is offered at the hotel, but there are abundant places to eat nearby.

We found the hotel to be a good base for exploring the island -- one side one day and the other side the next day. Staff located an English-speaking taxi driver for us and he proved to be an
excellent driver, who was knowlegeable about the island and had very good English skills.

If you are looking for a lively, low-priced hotel in the Downtown area and have no problems with the downsides I've described, then December may be the lodging for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to December Hotel Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about December Hotel Jeju

Address: 15, Sammu-ro 1-gil, Jeju, Jeju-do 690-170, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju-do > Jeju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Jeju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — December Hotel Jeju 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your December Hotel Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage December Hotel Jeju, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.