We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small island just for relaxation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Udo

Udo
Udo-myeon, Jeju, Jeju-do, South Korea
064-728-4333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 58 Attractions in Jeju
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A small island just for relaxation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

There isn't much on this island, and with a scooter, you can travel round the island on a leisurely pace in 2 hours. If you are there to relax and enjoy the beaches, then you would love it. But going there in autumn when it is cold, there isn't very much but just to bike around, get something to eat, and take some pictures.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Serpong, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“For half-day itinerary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited udo island around August right after we visited the sonsang ilchulbong peak. Ferry cost around 4K per person, and 25K if you bring car.
So far, we found one beach in Udo that we consider as the best place to swim because of the wave is quite big.. compared to the one in main island.

We failed to reach the lighthouse because the GPS can't properly shown the location.

When swimming, they provide quite clean-public shower facilities, but prepare your own toiletries .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Over-rated as No 1 place to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nothing much really. The walk up the lighthouse was nice in terms of view but disappointing as you can't reach the lighthouse as shown in the brochure. You can find equally nice beaches in Jeju-do, so don't waste time and money to go Udo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Locals Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Udo was easy to get to and a great place to camp with full amenities. There are 2 main beaches; one on the West side and one on the North East side. Both are beautiful but the one that has sand made of seashells (West Side) is a little hard on your bare feet and it was much busier there. The other has soft fine sand that makes for a great camping spot. There are no taxis on the island. In hindsight, we would have taken the other ferry to the port that was a bit closer to Hagosudong Beach (the NE side), but there is this drop on and off Bus Tour System that costs 5000won/person. You can get on from the ferry, drop off and set up your camp at the beach, then hop back on. It runs frequently but only stops at 4 main sightseeing spots (beach 1, beach 2, caves and ___ ) . We were able to use the bus for the two days we were there for on the same fare, but there are times/stops that are crazy busy. We watched at least 6 packed buses go by before we decided to stay the night. Honorable food mention: Pirate Café. Really interesting place and staff. Great BiBamBap and you get to sign a plaque and hang it from their wall when you’re done eating.

Friendly people, campfire and camping friendly, personal beer cooler (at the convenience stores directly behind the beach), and lots of cats.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not forget international driving license”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

2 things you must take with you for visiting Udo island - swimming suit and international driving licence. In case you want to rent ATV or scooter you should have international driving license, otherwise you will have to enjoy beauty of the island riding bicycle. There are 2 sandy beaches available. Ferry can bring your car straight to the island.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udo also viewed

 

Been to Udo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Udo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.