We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lava Tubing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manjanggul Cave

Manjanggul Cave
3341-3, Gimnyeong-ri, Gujwa-eup, Jeju, Jeju-do, South Korea
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 76 things to do in Jeju
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lava Tubing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A geographical wonder and respite from the heat in high summer. Fascinating to see how lava carved out this cave which represents how the whole island (and many like it in the world) were formed. Recommended but also suggest you take a sweater or light jacket. It is cold and clammy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    147
    92
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Didn't match the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went their with my wife. I didn't find the place as interesting and exciting as other people claimed. My recommendation, unless you are a geologist this place has nothing substantial to offer. Take a warm cloth and comfortable shoes when you visit this place. The temperature in the cave is low(you feel cool even in summer) and the floor is wet and a little bit slippery.

A person can have knowledge about lava tubes but personally I felt unsatisfied. The cave is very dark for anyone to figure out things inside. Information boards inside give information about the site. If a visitor has enough time to visit, you can drop by this place. But, if your schedule is tight you can skip this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A visit during summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was an eye-opening experience as i have not seen a lava tube before. It is roughly around 2 km walk to and fro the entrance to see the lava tube. Along the way, you will be able to see the how the lava transformed the cave.

Although i went during the summer period (Aug 2013), i would recommend bringing a jacket as the cave is really cold for me. Needless to say, comfortable walking shoe would be needed as the floor are uneven. The maze is rather near to the cave and both can be planned in the same day itinerary.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“interesting to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had never seen a lava tube before, this one is quite interesting. You can go 1k in and back, and it's very cold inside, a good break from the summer heat. Upon walking out, you feel like a melting ice cube. Like all attractions on Jeju, is missing some English-speaking staff - we forgot a beach bag inside and it was very hard to explain that to the staff, who kept telling us we cannot go back in without a ticket. The bus stop for this on the Jeju intercity bus by this name is very far from the actual attraction, fortunately a cab driver saw us and took us there - we would had to walk 3-4k and there are no sidewalks or anything.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really nice and cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I went during the summer months so that it really helps that the manjang cave was really nice and cooling in there. Really nice experience to walk through the cave

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manjanggul Cave also viewed

 

Been to Manjanggul Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manjanggul Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.