We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pathetic.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SEA LIFE Busan Aquarium

SEA LIFE Busan Aquarium
1411-4 Jung 1-dong, Haeundae-gu, Busan, South Korea
051-740-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 141 things to do in Busan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Busan Aquarium is top of the list of Busan attractions and one of the leadingvisitor attractions in Korea.A unique edutainment (education + entertainment)-based aquarium on Haeundae Beach in Busan with a lot of state-of-the-art facilities.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“pathetic.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I come from California, where I'm spoiled with maybe the best aquarium in the world (Monterey Bay Aquarium), and this was just awful. It's TOTALLY underground, which means the poor penguins never get to see the sun, and with no sun, there's no real plants, so all the exhibits have plastic plants and displays. It's really unnatural. It's also a very small aquarium, so I went through it all in about an hour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    105
    65
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Decent aquarium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's not something you can't see anywhere else in the world, but the aquarium's beachside location means it's a good mid-day distraction and a pleasant enough way to kill a few hours.

Displays are pretty and in English, and there's enough photo opportunities to entertain even the most die hard Korean photo nut.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location right on Haeundae Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Really enjoyed the Busan Aquarium. You always wonder with these types of attractions whether or not they're going to be worth the admission - this place definitely was. I believe I paid in the neighbourhood of 10,000 won and it was completely worth it. The shark tunnel is AMAZING, I think I sat there for at least an hour watching them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

There are so many things to see here! Good place for families with young kids. We tried the glass bottom boat there. The guide spoke in Korean, so it was a little hard for us to understand. Despite this, it was still quite fun.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Larger than the one in Houston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good Large Aquarium for my small Daughters, We went with some friends that had also kids and we enjoyed having an indoor attracction. The best part is the Pinguins

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SEA LIFE Busan Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to SEA LIFE Busan Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SEA LIFE Busan Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.