We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoping for peace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UN Memorial Cemetery

UN Memorial Cemetery
Daeyeon-dong, Nam-gu, Busan, South Korea
051-625-0625
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$125*
and up
Ranked #1 of 74 Attractions in Busan
Type: Cemeteries, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hoping for peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This UN-created memorial for the victims of the Korean war in 1950s is a beautifully designed garden and other structures in it. The glass paintings in the small chapel are secular and very pleasing. Busan people are very proud to have this memorial built in their town and not in Seoul - typical struggle between number 1 and number 2 cities...!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A great tribute to those who sacrificed so much for democracy and freedom! The grounds are stunning. There's a tasteful memorial, similar to the Vietnam Memorial Wall in Washington DC. A short film introduction is provided in the Chapel and there's a small, but interesting museum in the next building.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Very Moving Cemetary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I was absolutely moved by the number of personnel who gave their life during the Korean War. One particular individual was from Britain. He was a twenty year old soldier who gave his life for the freedom of Korea on 26 June 1952. He was also "Hero of the Day" when I visited the UN Memorial. The staff were very helpful in helping me find his gravesite.

I purposely brought from Texas a heart shaped pin to place on the grave of a soldier unknown to me, but a true hero deserving of our respect. Royal Engineer (Sapper) G. M. Henserson would be 80 years old if he had lived, who knows what great things he and his offspring may have accomplished if he had lived.

Thank-you Korea for honoring and remembering the United Nations Soldiers. May Korea be united one day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Who Was Sapper G. M. Henderson?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

He was a twenty year old British Soldier who gave his life for the freedom of Korea on 26 June 1952. He was also "Hero of the Day" when I visited the UN Memorial. The staff were very helpful in helping me find his gravesite.

I purposely brought from Texas a heart shaped pin to place on the grave of a soldier unknown to me, but a true hero deserving of our respect. Royal Engineer (Sapper) G. M. Henserson would be 80 years old if he had lived, who knows what great things he and his offspring may have accomplished if he had lived.

Thank-you Korea for honoring and remembering the United Nations Soldiers. May Korea be united one day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mourilyan, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Uncle Colin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Bullet train from Seoul and return that day. Quick taxi trip to the cemetery where we spent 3 hours.
The whole place from the guards, volunteers, memorials, lawns, buildings and research staff all excellent. Found my uncle's grave no problems. Took a photo that I had of him to the research staff. They were so helpful with information and so grateful for the photo and some background information. Between this Cemetery and the War Memorial in Seoul we left Korea knowing how much the sacrifices of so many meant. Very true - gone but not forgotten.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UN Memorial Cemetery also viewed

 
Busan, South Korea
Busan, South Korea
 

Been to UN Memorial Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UN Memorial Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.