We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Central to your Saves list
Quality Inn Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1632 Central Ave., Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Franklin, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An ok night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

In Albany, New York for one night and we chose to stay at this hotel. Arriving around 5:30, we signed in at the desk. Clerk was efficient but seemed like he was reading a script. Went to our room and was greeted with a crumpled pillowcase left on the bed. Turned on the A/C unit and rested for a while before dinner. Took a while to cool the room, but it did eventually do the job. Rest of the stay was uneventful, bed was very comfortable and room had a nice shower - plenty of hot water. Did not have the complimentary breakfast as we had other plans, but it looked ok. Overall, this Quality Inn was nothing fancy, but served its purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback as this is our best resource for improvements. Should your plans bring you back to Albany, we hope you give us another chance.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    26
    13
    5
See reviews for
23
28
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Normally, this is a decent motel for the money. My wife and I have stayed there many times. With that being said my son and I chose this motel this year. I made the reservations via an agent with Choice Hotels. On our last day at the motel,we were asked to vacate the room early so that they could accomodate a group of people. All we got was an apology and no aid in perhaps setting us up in another Choice Hotel in the area. Not even a telephone number to call. No offer of another room. I will not be staying at any Choice Hotel in future trips!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We take your concerns with the utmost of seriousness. We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your last visit. Management has spoken with the front desk so this issue never occurs again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What should've been a great family and golf trip turned into a nightmare when the reservation desk completely screwed up our room. My father booked for three nights June 18-21 to visit my two uncles, friends and some golf. It was supposed to be two paid nights and one free night with rewards points my dad accumulated. The lady who checked us in June 18 said she only had us booked for two nights and instructed us to check out Friday and they would "check us back in." Problem was out room belongs to a block of rooms another group had also booked. So basically we got evicted from the room since the clerk on Saturday said "she shouldn't have done that." No offer to move us to another room or make amends. No offer to use our rewards for the second night or put us up elsewhere. The guy essentially shrugged his shoulders. Major inconvenience. On top of it the guy workin the desk Friday suggested the room attendants could move our stuff if another room opened. Who in their right mind would allow some strangers to handle our clothes, our valuables and our belongings? We had a MacBook computer, chargers and two sets of clothes. We had to grab all of our stuff in a hurry since our uncle was waiting for us in the lobby and we weren't returning till after 8 pm. If you must stay here, don't fall for his bait and switch routine. Better yet, don't stay here period. This whole area of Colonie has become severely blighted with all the closed businesses. The hotel itself sits behind an old steak house that went belly up. Weeds everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
MSmith29579,

I am so sorry for the experience you encountered. We will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We needed a room for one night on our way New Hampshire. The hotel was a good value. It's close to the interstate and easy to find. It's behind a restaurant that is out of business so it is a little removed from the highway noise. Everything about the room was fine. If the place is full the breakfast area might be a little small but we had no problem.

The evening desk clerk was able to recommend a place to eat and the morning clerk was able to direct us to the highway we needed out of town. Anymore either of those could be a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Director of Sales
Quality Inn Albany NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed for 5 days.... Average all around. Free breakfast was .... GREAT until the relief cook showed up for my last day. By 6:15 am ran out of BACON.... No Way....When asked about it.. They were new and did not know where the key was to the cabinet!!!! REALLY!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERMONT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Overall, room and property is clean and up to date. One down side is small breakfast area that was often crowded. Offerings are limited (breads/muffins, cereals, some fruit, hard boiled eggs, previously frozen scrambled eggs and sausage. Also available was make your own waffles.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wny
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had to stay here for week due to work. The place was just alright. There was a problem with the shower. The handle spun around and there was cold water and hot water and the water stopped running in the space in between. I asked at the desk to have it looked at. I returned to my room to find a note with a diagram showing which way to aim the handle to get it warm. Yes, let's not fix it, try using it "this way" while it is broken. The desk and breakfast people were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Central

Address: 1632 Central Ave., Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Central 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Rooms Fall 2012. Complementary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet featuring create your own waffles, eggs, sausage or bacon. Less than 5 minutes to Wolf Road Albany. Indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi & Fitness center . All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, flat screens TV’s, coffee makers, hair dryers and iron/ boards. Located in the heart of Albany NY's shopping, entertainment and restaurant district. Delmonico's, Smokey Bones, Cheesecake Factory, P.F Changs, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Macaroni Grill all minutes away! Complimentary Airport Shuttle to Albany International Airport. Conveniently located off of Interstate 87 & 90. Why pay more, we have it all!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Central Hotel Albany
Quality Inn Albany
Albany Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.