We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Central to your Saves list
Quality Inn Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1632 Central Ave., Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We tried this hotel for one night while passing through Albany. It was clean with no extra frills; but, nicely decorated. Our room had obviously been recently remodeled and was quite comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate; but, nothing out of the ordinary. It was a good place for the cost and we would recommend it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
The Quality Inn appreciates and values our guest’s comments. We thank you for choosing the Quality Inn and we welcome your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
22
28
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OMAHA NE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Four families stayed at this property in May for a family wedding. It was convenient to the mother-of-the-bride, the church, the reception and the airport. Management went out of their way to extend a very competitive rate for our group.

The hotel is under renovation, we stayed in a re-done room which was adequate for our stay (but not very large). The room was clean and neat, housekeeping was timely.

We enjoyed the hot breakfast but it did get repetitive after three mornings.

Central Avenue in Colonie has seen better days, although it appeared to be thriving. This hotel is probably the best bet on this tired strip!

OPT

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
The Quality Inn welcomed the opportunity to host your wedding group. It was a memorable event for your family. The management and staff thank you for letting us be a part of your event and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a great basic hotel, no frills, or anything special. I would stay here again because it is a great value. They were in the middle of remodeling and I chose to stay on the old side because I wanted a King bed. The room was good and very clean. Went to visit with others on the remodeled side and there is an improvement, but nothing drastic. The Pool is a good size and convenient to both sides of the hotel. They do have free internet and breakfast. Why is it that a hotel of this caliber will have Free Internet/breakfast but one at twice the price will have neither? Again I would defiantly stay here again if I have to go to Albany.

They do not actually front onto Central Avenue. There is a Steakhouse in form of the property and several other hotels so you need to keep your eye out for the sign at the Driveway.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
The management and staff thank you for selecting the Quality Inn for your nephews’ graduation. We are always looking for ways to give our guests the best price and value. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a Friday evening in September. The hotel manager pleasantly checked us in at 9:30pm.Lobby is okay, but hotel appears very old. The guestroom we were assigned on the first floor was small. In fact the king bed took up most of the room. Shower was okay, definitey nothing special. The guestroom had a LCD TV mounted to the wall. It worked fine. The guestrooms have no closets built in, so the room had a "closet box" standing in the corner. Really did not find too much evidence of dirt or filth, everything just seemed "old". The indoor pool however is very small and the water appeared "cloudy". We didn't chance it. The hot breakfast was good for this type of peoprty (sausage patties and prefab egg omelet). Plenty of food and the dining area was very clean.

Odd thing was that there were signs everywhere in the lobby about rules (what you can't do). For example, no food or beverage was pemitted in the hotel lobby near the huge TV, but the dining side of the lobby was always roped off to keep people out except during breakfast.

In the middle of the night I went out to the lobby with my laptop to web surf (couldn't sleep). It was quiet for teh most part except for the ambulance that was lost. I later learned that a homeless person has walked into the lobby and asked for an ambuilance. He was sent outside and told to wait for the ambulance to arrive.

I have stayed at many hotels that were far far worse than this property, but in my opinion, the rate paid of $90/night was too high for the quality of this hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are elsewhere. Stay here if you have low expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The in room phone did not work, no cell signal if there was a fire I could not reach the front desk, nor use my cellphone. The toilet backed up on to the floor and the smell of feces was throughout the room, mildew on the windowsills. Never again.

Room Tip: View the room first, if you have a cellphone make sure you get a signal or the in-room phone works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We were looking for a good value at a nice affordable hotel but not some run down motel. The Quality Inn surpassed my expectations. All the mattresses were new, the sheets were clean, and the service was great. There was a large flat-screen TV in the room and over 70 channels to chose from. The free breakfast in the morning was very nice, much more than coffee and donuts. If we are staying in the area again, I'll be sure to look this one up again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stopped on way to Boston from Toronto. Everything was a expected.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Central

Address: 1632 Central Ave., Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Central 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Rooms Fall 2012. Complementary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet featuring create your own waffles, eggs, sausage or bacon. Less than 5 minutes to Wolf Road Albany. Indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi & Fitness center . All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, flat screens TV’s, coffee makers, hair dryers and iron/ boards. Located in the heart of Albany NY's shopping, entertainment and restaurant district. Delmonico's, Smokey Bones, Cheesecake Factory, P.F Changs, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Macaroni Grill all minutes away! Complimentary Airport Shuttle to Albany International Airport. Conveniently located off of Interstate 87 & 90. Why pay more, we have it all!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Central Hotel Albany
Quality Inn Albany
Albany Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.