We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt read the reviews until now - relied mistakenly on Super 8 reputation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Albany to your Saves list
Super 8 Albany
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1579 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Albany
London
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Didnt read the reviews until now - relied mistakenly on Super 8 reputation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Super8 is my motel chain of choice when doing road trips in the US. This was a horrible exception. Did not get a very safe feeling. On parking, the car parked next to me was completely full of plastic bottles and plastic bags. Thereafter a police car swang by on their night circuit (routine stop it appeared). Then the sheets in the room had not been changed and there was a bag of trash behind the door. At this point, I decided to leave and find another hotel. To his credit, the receptionist was apologetic and the money duly refunded into my credit card.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Albany, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We would like to deeply apologize to you for any discomfort or any issues you may have experienced during your stay. Housekeeping staff was spoken regarding the conditions of the sheets and the trash in the rooms. again we would like to apologize to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    15
    37
    74
See reviews for
36
27
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

These people are so ignorant I don't even know what to say. We came with a van with a trailer on the back, so we could only drive forward. Well someone parked with their huge freaking boat on the side of the place and we couldn't get past. We asked the desk to ask them to move, and they wouldn't, saying they told them to park there. It was so dumb. We had to back up around the entire motel.

Oh, and the rooms are gross and smell stale.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Albany, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
i would like to apologize to you for the front desk making it difficult for you to park in our motel. front desk was spoken as well as housekeeping staff on any smell that might have been in the room. again we would like to apologize to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

That was the first time we saw a Super 8 in that condition; really filthy. There was black stains on walls everywhere, there was a coffee stain on linen, there was a napking on a chewing gum on a wall, when we opened up the bathroom window, we discover there was no screen and the back of the building was a dump; there was plastic bags, bottle of beers and wine, cardboard...
Even though the price is attractive, don't go there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Albany, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We would like to deeply apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay. We strive to provide the best quality possible for our guests. I ensure you that the housekeeping staff has been made aware of the concerns that you experienced. We are looking at new processes to address any housekeeping and maintenance issues that may exist before a guest arrives at our property. We have addressed your concerns and look forward for another opportunity to serve you in the future. Again we apologize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Québec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I checked in at midnight with my husband, my mother and my 4 children. We were driving for 14 hours and were extenuated. I asked to see the rooms before paying for it. The clerk gave me a key, which didn't work. I came back to the front desk. The clerk gave me a key for a different room. I open the bed sheets and there were body hair in the bed. The bathroom sink was dirty with toothpaste. I told the clerk that and he asked me if I want the room or want to see another room. I asked to see another room. The second room, I open the bed sheets and again there is body hair and crumbs like someone ate cookie in bed. The bathroom is dirty with toothpaste all over the sink. Obviously, the rooms had not been clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Albany, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
First I would like to apologize for your experience at our hotel. We are looking at the communication between the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff as these rooms were obviously not cleaned after the previous guests checked out. We ask our staff to verify the housekeeping report that the rooms are clean and ready for our next guest. I have discussed this with both departments and assure you that this will not be an issue in the future. Please give us another opportunity in the future to have you stay and enjoy a clean and well maintained room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We made a reservation and went to check in around 12:30am, but no one was in the office. We waited for about 20 minutes and finally went to a different hotel.
I called to report that no one was present to check us in, but they still charged us the full room cost!
I have been dealing with corporate Customer Care for weeks, but the General Manager won't return my phone calls.
I am going to have to dispute the charge through my bank.

DON'T GET INVOLVED WITH THESE PEOPLE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

this was not what I was expecting first room I was given a key to I entered and it was not made up and the TV was on and it was forgotten OR I was entering someone elses room. Scary! Then I got a different room and it was just a stange location. out of the way. Left early the next day and hoped for better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Albany, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We would like to apologize for the confusion regarding the rooms i assure you this never happens. Housekeeping and Front desk was spoken to regarding this incident again we would like to apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you may have experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this Super 8. We had a nice room with a flat screen tv on the first level right near the office, and we could park right by our door. The management was very friendly, and the breakfast was very nice with a number of cereals and breads and juices. We'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Albany, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We would like to thank you for staying at our facility. Our goal is to make every guest as comfortable as possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Albany

Address: 1579 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Albany 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.