We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Albany
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels but this one was the best ever!! The room was comfortable. The staff was accommodating. The hotel was very clean. I even saw them clean the top of the elevator doorway. It was conveniently located right across the highway from the Megabus stop and the local buses stop across the highway too. Dunkin Doughnuts is next door. The indoor pool was clean and beautiful. The only things that would have made my stay better is a changing room in the pool area and the Bistro restaurant being open for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
25
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Check in at hotel was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and decently sized. The bathrooms were a bit small. The pool arean was nice although the pool was quite small. It wasn't a problem for us but we imagine it would be crowded with more than four or five people. The hotel is just off I -90 and across from the university. A mall is closeby with several eateries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed for one night on my way to Vermont skiing from NJ. It is conveniently located by the highway, and I can hear the Thruway traffic. I like the lobby, and will stay again next time. To mitigate the noise, ask for a room not facing the Thruway (a room with an odd room number will do it) and turn off the noise AC in the room before you go to bed. The elevator (there is only one) is a little slow.

Room Tip: an odd room number, which will face opposite Thruway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In general we've been very pleased with Marriott hotels, but this recently renovated Courtyard, while very convenient to the Thruway and SUNY Albany, had a host of quirks that disappointed us. 1) the bathrooms are uncomfortably small and fixtures still quite cheap (ie, plastic molded shower/tub combos) ; 2) the HVAC was noisy and had to be turned off for a quiet night's sleep; 3) wireless internet service was spotty/broken 4) the "Bistro" seemed overpriced and the hotel no longer offers basic amenities like free coffee/tea to its guests. We got the sense that this brand is trying to remake itself as a sort of thruway "W" hotel, but it doesn't work. There are some good features: a nice, newly renovated, small pool, jacuzzi, and gym, and comfortable beds; good desks with plenty of workspace. But we will seek out other alternatives in Albany for our stays in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Directly opposite the University of Albany and with close access to the freeways to downtown or elsewhere (such as the airport).
This courtyard not only has the new design reception and common area but must have been recently done as it is all very clean and new. This also seemed to be the case for the rest of the hotel and rooms as well, not just the lobby. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is a gem. It's small, which is great, and is clean, nicely designed, and filled with amenities I was not expecting. The king bed rooms are quite large and tastefully designed, with thoughtful extras like a mini-fridge, couch, work desk, and massaging shower. There is a microwave oven in the 24-hour market, and the fitness room had Culligan filtered water. The lobby is nice, with lots of seating and extras, like computers, printers, and cozy booths (also food, which I did not sample). The staff was fantastic - every person I interacted with (at least 4 folks) was unfailingly competent, polite, and helpful. The hotel itself is flanked by a Sunoco with mini-mart and a Dunkin' Donuts, and it is directly across from a SUNY-Albany main entrance (with the thruway on one side). I stayed at the end of a hall, room on the Washington Ave side, and it was quiet and relaxing. This is perhaps the only hotel in recent memory that has blackout drapes that actually work.

Room Tip: End of a hall, non-thruway side, is quiet and convenient to the (locked) door to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at this hotel, not my first at a Courtyard. I am very impressed with the features that have been assembled for this version of a Marriott: the bedding, the Bistro, the Mini-market, the staff, the room. Courtyard has been designed to be easy, clean and comfortable, and it does it all very well. This is the second Marriott (the other was a Fairfield) we have stayed in over the past few weeks. The staff are all more than gracious and welcoming.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Address: 1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#9 Business Hotel in Albany
#13 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Thruway Hotel Albany
Albany Courtyard
Albany Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.