We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1395 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It is a nice hotel. Always nice greetings at front desk, pleasant people, nice location, reasonable price, quiet environment. However, rooms a bit congested and bathrooms not well maintained. Only a couple of parking at the front but plenty of parking space on the sides and back.

Room Tip: I feel comfort with higher a floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    14
    6
    14
See reviews for
20
12
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We booked this room through hot wire at a rate of 79.00, we arrived on July 4th. while on vacation. When I checked in I advised the clerk we have a small dog. Knowing, according to Hotwire this is a "pet friendly hotel". I was immediately told the hotel has a 150.00 pet fee in addition to the 79.00 I have already paid. Of course I was flabbergasted. When reading the disclosure statement again, I pointed out it stated there was a 25.00 pet fee. This I would have expected. Again, I was told no it is 150.00. I informed the young man there was no way I am paying 150.00 for my tiny dog to stay there. After contacting Hot wire was told by them, sorry you are out of luck, they have no responsibility to tell the purchaser of the additional hotel fees. Finally the young man stated there would only be a 25.00 fee. Finally we get to our room, the bed sheets have hair all over them. The bed had not even been changed. We had to pack up everything and move to another room. The young man was as helpful as he could be but I would advise against using Hotwire to book this hotel and verify any fees prior to paying for your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First, I had to call for 3 days straight for someone to pick up the phone to reserve my room. You would think a hotel that wanted your business would be eager to pick up the phone. When I got to my room there was no soap in the bathroom. They also gave me a handicap room, which I didn't need, at the same price as a normal room. Also, the walls are thin and I could hear the people next to me and across the hall from me. I wouldn't recommend this place for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We require a recliner for my husband to sleep comfortably. This greatly limits our lodging choices. Our second time here, we arrived to an unattended front desk (on Saturday evening of Memorial Day Weekend!!!!) and waited 15-20 minutes to check in, while others accumulated in the Lobby, as well. There is a phone to dial for help, but no one answered. Finally, the clerk came down the hall, dragging a huge bag of hotel laundry. Our request to be near the lobby wasn't noted, either. The folder containing our keycards included the attendant's name, illegibly scrawled, and a code for internet access. The code came up "invalid," which turned out to be a result of sloppy handwriting, as well. Again, no one answered the phone when I called for help. So it took a long time to get online, due to both illegible writing and lack of customer service available. The hotel and the room itself are clean, comfortable, quiet, and conveniently located. However, especially for the price paid, there should be MUCH better service available. Also, the one luggage cart (for a facility of more than 200 rooms) could not be found when we were ready to check out. The clerk helped carry our things, which was good for us, but not for anyone else, who might have needed her help at the front desk during the time that activity had her away from it. In addition, due to some apparently unavoidable air currents in the building make-up (as explained by the manager, to whom we expressed our concerns), as soon as you stepped into our non-smoking hall from the elevator, it smelled like cigarette smoke. The odor was not evident in the area near the lobby where we had requested our room in the reservation made several months in advance. Unfortunately, we'll HAVE to return, when visiting our relatives in the area. We had an even worse experience the last time we used the only other Capital District hotel with recliners available.

Room Tip: Stay away from the upper floor, where apparently any smoke from the building seeps into the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I never will recommended this place to anybody ,is the more worse place I been stay on my life,Stink,Dirty,disgusting,we'll don't have word to describe this ,my daughter make the mistake to chose this when she make the reservation for her weekend graduation ,bed sheets never wash,they stink as of hell ,we'll was a worse 2 nights I ever have on my life....

Room Tip: Never Select Extended Stay Please
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Already, we're starting off on the wrong foot. Made reservations through Hotwire for a room next week and trying to call the hotel to confirm the bed size. For 2 days already, all my calls have been bounce to their call center siting that the front desk is too busy to pick up their phone? Really. For 2 days? You must have only 2 ppl working there. Ugh frustrating.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The only reason I choosed is, I can cook here !!
Bad room service...actually no ambiance...and bad odour !!
I think they allow smoking and that could be the reason.
Front desk (some times...some people) are completely clueless.
No restaurent...no breakfast...not many ptions around for food excpet Dunkin donuts & subway !!
May be economical but not at all good !!

Room Tip: May be economical ...but it is not worth !! Not sure..when room service comes and clean...if you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY

Address: 1395 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Albany
Extended Stayamerica Albany Capital
Extended Stay Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.