We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the budget traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1395 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for the budget traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked two nights here and we dint regret it. It is a place for the budget traveler. The room was comfortable and the kitchen was decently stocked. However, the bathroom dint have any shampoo and the breakfast was really grab-and-go. And there was this all-pervasive smell of masala and spices everywhere in the hallways. It was comfortable and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    14
    7
    16
See reviews for
21
16
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I found this hotel through Priceline and got a great deal on it. The room included a regular sized fridge, microwave, and toaster, which is way more than I was expecting. The bathroom was clean and stylish as well. I liked that there was a table/island between the kitchen and sleeping area. The receptionist was amazing and I would stay there again in a heartbeat! The only thing I would improve is the variety of breakfast offered. There was coffee and tea but no juice. There was oatmeal, muffins, and fruit but no cereal or bagels, which is understandable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Comfortable rooms, ok bed, get n go breakfast (to go items) reasonable rates. Rooms have refrigerator,small cooktop,microwave, sink, toaster.. Very quiet area. Of the city. Right across the street from the university.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Close to State offices thus offering good prices for extended stays, but very affordable for short stays.
Large room with normal size fridge, microwave and 2 burners and a coffee maker. Some base cooking stuff including a streamer.
Large TV and a Laz-y-boy style chair.
Good mattress, very comfortable.
They proud written instructions to go to the grocery center and to the shopping mall, which is very helpful for people who do not know the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very surprised how nice this place was. I got a great deal through priceline so I wasn't expecting to walk into a room that had a full kitchen. The staff is great. and the place ISNT dirty! Ive stayed here several times and have always been happy with it. The only bad side is, the breakfast isn't much, coffee, fruit, granola bars and packaged muffins. I learned to bring my own breakfast and make it in my room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So many service folks are robotic in their interactions. Not so with young woman named Jennifer at front desk. She was genuine, humane, funny and truly helpful. When she learned I was in Albany for funeral and to observe Jewish custom of sitting shiva she offered to cover up mirrors in my room. Hats off to her. Kudos. Brava. Give her a promotion. Because of her I will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is definitely a place to stay if you need something for a week or so. OK room, not the cleanest but when we checked in at 7pm it wasn't ready and we had to wait for it to be cleaned. It seems that they had a problem of overbooking and folks were being turned away. We actually had a room waiting for us but why it was not cleaned by 7pm, I do not know. I am not picky but a dirty wet towel left on bathroom floor is nasty. There is no pool and they advertise a grab and go breakfast. Since I was meeting friends for breakfast I didnt care but saw a family of four tell a member of staff that there were no rolls or bagels left out at 8:30am and instead of getting some more, she just shrugged her shoulders and walked away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ESAalbany, Front Office Manager at Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
August 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I would like to apologize that your room was not ready for you at your time of check in, and did not meet our standards of cleanliness. The staff and I are currently working to improve our communication procedures to ensure situations like the one you described do not happen again.

Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure your experience is not repeated. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at alb@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY

Address: 1395 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Albany
Extended Stayamerica Albany Capital
Extended Stay Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.