We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Ext. Stay America
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1395 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #22 of 50 hotels in Albany
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Comfortable rooms, ok bed, get n go breakfast (to go items) reasonable rates. Rooms have refrigerator,small cooktop,microwave, sink, toaster.. Very quiet area. Of the city. Right across the street from the university.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
9
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Close to State offices thus offering good prices for extended stays, but very affordable for short stays.
Large room with normal size fridge, microwave and 2 burners and a coffee maker. Some base cooking stuff including a streamer.
Large TV and a Laz-y-boy style chair.
Good mattress, very comfortable.
They proud written instructions to go to the grocery center and to the shopping mall, which is very helpful for people who do not know the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very surprised how nice this place was. I got a great deal through priceline so I wasn't expecting to walk into a room that had a full kitchen. The staff is great. and the place ISNT dirty! Ive stayed here several times and have always been happy with it. The only bad side is, the breakfast isn't much, coffee, fruit, granola bars and packaged muffins. I learned to bring my own breakfast and make it in my room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So many service folks are robotic in their interactions. Not so with young woman named Jennifer at front desk. She was genuine, humane, funny and truly helpful. When she learned I was in Albany for funeral and to observe Jewish custom of sitting shiva she offered to cover up mirrors in my room. Hats off to her. Kudos. Brava. Give her a promotion. Because of her I will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is definitely a place to stay if you need something for a week or so. OK room, not the cleanest but when we checked in at 7pm it wasn't ready and we had to wait for it to be cleaned. It seems that they had a problem of overbooking and folks were being turned away. We actually had a room waiting for us but why it was not cleaned by 7pm, I do not know. I am not picky but a dirty wet towel left on bathroom floor is nasty. There is no pool and they advertise a grab and go breakfast. Since I was meeting friends for breakfast I didnt care but saw a family of four tell a member of staff that there were no rolls or bagels left out at 8:30am and instead of getting some more, she just shrugged her shoulders and walked away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ESAalbany, Front Office Manager at Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
August 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I would like to apologize that your room was not ready for you at your time of check in, and did not meet our standards of cleanliness. The staff and I are currently working to improve our communication procedures to ensure situations like the one you described do not happen again.

Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure your experience is not repeated. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at alb@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night. The room was big and clean and had a fully equiped kitchen. The hotel is definitely better for extended stays. One big plus: It was very calm. TV did not work properly. Manager would have been available at the next morning to fix it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ESAalbany, Front Office Manager at Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home and to uphold our company's high standards, we will continue to focus on improving our hotel and its offerings.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at alb@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here after traveling to, and then touring, Cooperstown. We didn't realize the weekend we chose to tour Cooperstown was Induction Weekend! Needless to say, there were no rooms close to Cooperstown; however, this was an easy drive from there.

We were traveling with friends and only spent one night, so we didn't really need the large fridge or cooktop. I will remark that there were odd numbers of dishes: one glass, but two cups and plates, etc. There was no dishwashing liquid, so we had to leave the dishes for the maid.

The room was comfortable, and the desk clerk was friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the Standard Restaurant and Lounge, a great find in the Crossgates Mall. The restaurant is locally owned, and the food was wonderful - we recommend it.

The only drawback at the Extended Stay is their "grab-and-go" breakfast. There were muffins and instant oatmeal, but the fruit was small and not appealing. You take your breakfast back to your room, which is fine.

The hotel is almost directly across from SUNY so it could be a great location if you have business there.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY

Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Albany
Extended Stayamerica Albany Capital
Extended Stay Albany
Address: 1395 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY to your Saves list