We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Albany University Area to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Albany
wayne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here using my Marriott points. It was about 2 minutes off I95. The staff is very friendly. The room appeared clean but had a noticeable stale odor, and was bland in appearance. The breakfast was well stocked and clean and fresh. I would stay here again, but may use caution during a college event, as the walls were not very soundproof and we could easily hear any extraneous noise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that your room did not exceed expectations. We are currently exploring some options that will freshen up our room experience that I hope will improve your next visit.

Thank you also for your kind words about our staff and our breakfast. In fact, we have recently enhanced our breakfast experience to include scrambled eggs, sausage and fresh cut fruit.

We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
42
20
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed here before and am not dissatisfied with the hotel, the location is great and the staff is terrific and friendly.
I get "supply and demand" but paying $179 here is a bit too high for just about any Fairfield. Fairfield is the "budget" business brand for Marriott and I have stayed in Marriott hotels for less on occasion. In fairness, quite a few places were sold out in the area when I needed to be there for 3 nights...but still....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, especially as it pertains to our staff!

Thank you also for sharing your concerns regarding our rates. I appreciate that our guests are often working within budget expectations and will make sure that we are being mindful of this in our future pricing decisions.

I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the second or third time I have stayed at this hotel. The reason this time was a funeral, so I reserved a block of rooms for people traveling from out of town. The staff was excellent, and they went out of their way to help with everything we needed - reservation changes, copies of prayers, etc. This was also true of the way they treated all the other guests whom I saw. Note: this is not Marriott level hotel, but Marriott's lower end offering. It's a good value and you get more than you pay for, especially from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear that we could be of some assistance during such a difficult time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I do not ask for much when looking for a place for he night. There are so small things that make a stay worth it. 1 nice towels, this location failed, I could not tell if I had a hand towel or a bath towel. Then the texture was like a tissue paper. They also need to turn the lights on when vacuuming ! The corners have a build up. Over all the rest was tolerable.

The front desk was nice and accommodating.

Again I do not think customers ask for much but will over look lots if the linens are at least like you would have at your own home!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

I was sorry to hear that our housekeeping efforts failed to live up to expectations. I share in your disappointment over this important detail and will work with our team to do better in the future.

I am pleased to report that we will begin upgrading our towels next month as part of a new Marriott initiative. Hopefully this will help to clarify any size confusion while improving on texture.

Finally, thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk staff. I hope to have the opportunity to improve your opinion of our hotel on a subsequent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The front desk staff are quite friendly and nice - but other than that this property is rather "blah". The rooms are nothing to write home about - mine on the 3rd floor smells really musty (as does a co-worker's on the 2nd floor). The hotel is near the university and not really within walking distance of anything - not even a Starbucks (unless you have quite a bit of time, then you could walk it).

I would say the free WiFi is the best draw of this location, though really, if you have to dig that deep to find a positive, might it be better to spend the extra $25 to stay in a nice, cleaner, better located property?

Not a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I was sorry to hear that you and your co-worker encountered an odor issue in your room. This is certainly something that we take very seriously and will address. In addition, I was disappointed to hear that our location was not convenient for your needs. While we ofter hear that our hotel provides convenient access to much of the Capital Region, I can understand that it might not be ideal if you are spending your visit on foot.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff friendliness and our WiFi. They are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here in the way thru to Boston and was quite pleased with the entire experience. The location was great just right off the I90 by the university of Albany. Front desk staff was great and checkin was easy even without a reservation. The rooms were very nice with multiple pillow choices on the bed for each sleep style (6 on ours). Free breakfast was great with Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches,cerals,yogurts,breads,fruit as you choices. Great overall experience, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stay at the Fairfield Inn in Bangor a lot because of a company rate so have been using this chain when traveling . Fairfield Albany met our expectations . Clean ,comfortable room with helpful and fast front desk staff . Air con . kept us nice and cool on a very hot day The hot tub is still down but the indoor pool is nice plus you can use the outdoor pool next door at their sister property . Good location near the University ,malls and downtown Standard free breakfast was fine . The only negative was the fan in the bathroom in 131 was a bit loud and the ceiling looked liked it had water damage at some point and hadn't been fixed very professionally. We paid 109 thur their web site .

Room Tip: Got a good price on their web site but it is the type that you can't cancel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for calling our attention to the exhaust fan in room 131. Our maintenance team will take care of that today.

I did want to note that our hot tub is permanently closed and will be removed as part of upcoming renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.