We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Albany University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Albany
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Travelling through Albany at Thanksgiving. Chose this hotel based on price and location. The room was large, clean with a very comfortable bed. Close to I90 and traffic noise. Try to get a room that's on the south side. The breakfast was excellent. One of the better offerings we've had at this type of hotel. Staff was friendly. Traffic patterns are difficult due to construction which Makes finding this place a bit difficult at night. Will definitely stay here the next time we're in Albany.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I am we could give you a clean and comfortable place on your thanksgiving holiday away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    54
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
40
19
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a lower end Fairfield Inn with a few updates. The beds are comfortable. Room was very clean and the staff was nice. Great location off thruway. A little pricey but cheaper than hotels nearby. Bathroom sink area was too small - not enough shelf space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank so much for taking the time to do a review on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful service, clean and comfortable stay in great location whether in Albany for SUNY, business, or in route from Niagra Falls to Boston. Current interstate road work makes access somewhat confusing, but still a great value for a solid location and above average hospitality from staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank so much for reviewing your stay with us, i am glad we were able to meet your expectation which is always our goal to meet or exceed guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decent hotel, but nothing fancy. With AAA, included breakfast for under $100. How can you eat that, directly opposite the University. Very convenient and very clean with a wonderful free continental breakfast buffet which was outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give a review your stay, I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed last weekend at the Fairfield Inn across from SUNY in Albany, New York. The hotel was clean, had a better than average breakfast, was well maintained. What set the hotel apart from others was the extremely helpful staff. From the check in to the breakfast staff right down to helping move the luggage cart around - they were terrific! Next time we will enjoy the great looking pool and spa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I glad to hear that our team was there to meet all your needs, I will be sure to forward this to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fairfield's are Fairfield's, they are serviceable but not exactly the lap of luxury. This hotel staff, however, really goes the extra mile.

-- A staff member held the non-automatic door open for me when he saw me arrive with luggage
-- Front desk staff offered to give dinner recommendation
-- Hotel manager was about to leave for the day, saw me staring at something and asked me if I needed help

Thanks for making me feel at home!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went for a weekend shopping trip and hotel suited our need for clean room and breakfast included was a time-saver. A shower cap in the room was missing but no big deal. Hotel assistant manager greeted us and was very service oriented

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us. I am glad to here you had a great stay with us and look forward to your future visit. We always carry shower caps and extra amenities on request at the desk. once again thank you for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.